JCCA Employee Reviews

Found 84 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
preventive social work
Preventive Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 9, 2017
very grueling work
every once in a while you have successful breakthrough with families
if it is your passion, there is opportunity for you to grow and earn more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upsetting
assist youth and families (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 4, 2016
I cannot believe that foster care agencies run like the JCCA agency it is so unorganized honestly all that is good are the training and benefits nd the fact that you work to help children; however horrible foster parent candidates as well as workers,everyone is always on a vacation.
Pros
kids, benefits
Cons
dynamics, communication, management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Care Integrator
Health Care Integrator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 21, 2016
This position is easy to get, if you're looking for a job right out of school. Try to stay at least a year. And just don't get too comfortable here. You will experience that most - if not all - of your coworkers are miserable with this company and looking to leave. I gave such a low rating on this position because of the unmanageable workload and unrealistic due dates that are a huge part of the job. This position requires a lot of paperwork, lots of due dates. During my time there, I had witnessed administration often fire new HCIs while they are on probation. There is no job security and they appear to penalize for simple human error and mistakes that HCIs naturally make when they are new, without considering that there is a learning process. Administration chooses not to see the issues in the training process, to change this pattern of so many workers constantly quitting or being fired. Additionally a lot of the time, that should be spent doing the large amount of paperwork - that is expected to be handed in weekly from the HCIs- is spent in meetings or discussing and defending your work, including the typos or small mistakes, to a supervisor. When interviewing, the many packets that go along with the job were not mentioned. Just make sure that you bend over backwards while working here and you surely will not get fired, even if it includes working late nights! If you do choose to work here, just go in with the mentality that it is just temporary and you can get through this, I did! Best of luck!
Pros
salary
Cons
workload; work environment; lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Committed to staff and clients
Administrative Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 7, 2016
Working at JCCA has always been enjoyable. There is a warm supportive environment for staff where growth is encouraged. Clients are treated respectfully through a strengths based and evidenced based approach.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized
Milieu Counselor (Current Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYJuly 7, 2016
Not professional at all. Very unorganized and just hire people not to have them work. Staff ratio is not good at all. The kids always go out of place and theres nothing you can do about it.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a terrible place to work
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYJuly 4, 2016
A horrible place to work as a social worker--no support, no direction and too many priorities at once. Also don't expect to do meaningful clinical work. Rather you will spend most of your time on home visits, family court and writing reams of documentation.
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Working with JCCA - The Staff at the office were the best!
Ametz Adoption Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NY 11210June 22, 2016
I really enjoyed working with this organization. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this organization to anyone looking for work.
Pros
Good benefits, good pay, friendly office.
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to start your career
Milieu Counselor (Current Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYJune 8, 2016
Superviision is a number one skills you must require in order to fuifil your job requirement, Continue to work hard no matter what the situation is at work, Communicate and be punctual at all times
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun environment.
Family Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 7, 2016
Is a great environment to work at. you make your own schedule and work the hours that you are available. You get to explore to places with the youth and the kids. Foster Parents have to provide you with the money for the trips and food. Co-Wokers are ok. i had no problem with none at all because you barely see them. Supervisor are great personal, they will work with you in regards cases.
the Worse part of the job is when you are waiting on a case. During the Summer is really good because you get to take the kids to fun places. On the other hand their are strong cases about kids. it hurts to see that people have the ability to harm kids the way they do, without having the knowledge that those suffer in the long run. This job you must take it serious because everything must be keep private. Is only part time and then you move on. A lot of paper work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great until the change came
RESIDENTIAL CASE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYMarch 29, 2016
I've met some if the best co-workers ever! The job ran organized until management changed. Poor choices in management.
Pros
Positive relationships you build with coworkers
Cons
Joana Kibel
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very team orientated and caring work environment.
Nurse Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 24, 2016
The medical department was very family oriented. The work could be very hard on an emotional level because I had access to the foster child's history, which mostly involved various types of abuse and neglect. The best part of the job was to see the children overcome their past. This was not always the case for teenagers who have only known 'the system' and did not see themselves ever becoming reunited with their biological family or becoming adopted. These children were not used to stability as the organization's social work team had a very high turnover rate. We had clinicals two times per week with the pediatricians for regular checkups, which for me meant I had to present the client's history as well as the current nursing assessment to the doctor. My caseload was required to come twice a year for labwork related to their various psychotropic meds. A typical day at work involved coordinating follow up medical care referrals we could not provide in the office, which involved making sure the foster parents could make the appointments, and the health care workers at various NYC hospitals were amenable to continued communication as to further follow-up and results, which was often harder than it should have been. At least once or twice a week my team of Social Workers, Occupational Therapists, Psychologists, and Psychiatrists were involved in crisis abatement related to behavioral emergencies. I learned that communication has to be clear for myself to have any positive impact in the overall care of the child when it comes to the multi-disciplinary approach to healthcare, and  more... that follow-up is a must.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the move employment
Milieu Counselor (Current Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYMarch 1, 2016
You work very hard. You must remain accountable for the youth at all times. Youth are difficult but needs guidance and a sense of security.
Pros
great relationships with co workers/ clients
Cons
unsecured environment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worse agencies i know
Milieu Counselor (Former Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYFebruary 16, 2016
You can come here with all the credentials in the world, however, if you are not playing bad politics stay far away. The children are allowed to do whatever they want without consequences. Administration is more concentrated on what outfit they are wearing to work then the important concerns of milieu staff. There are at least 2 staff members with an open case from the state in every cottage. You are always placed in unsafe working conditions 1 staff to 8-15 kids, many of them who have weapons. Management is almost none existent. Per-diems are told you will get 40 hrs upon hire but are limited to only 24 hrs once you are hired. You do not have any team work except with the few staff you work with in your cottage. Alot of favoritism and extremely unprofessional.... it's almost a joke this site is still open. Google pleasantville Cottage school... there are plenty of arrest for kids stabbing and committing ver dangerous crimes. Staff getting personal items stolen, damage to cars and administration picks and choose whom will get reimbursed.
Pros
You get lunch mon-fri in the staff lounge get there by 11am sharp though
Cons
Very unprofessional, disrepect to staff by administration, constant emotional abuse, high turnover rate always over worked
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very positive experience
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYFebruary 10, 2016
My job could be split in two and be two full-time positions. There is too much to accomplish every week and the kids in my care were the ones to suffer. Expectations of management are very unreasonable and there is a reason that there is a high degree of turnover in this position. Supervision was practically non-existent but supervisors expected you to know how to do things in a highly-regulated environment. There was some unprofessional behavior by milieu staff that was tolerated by management even though it was not in the best interest of the kids I was paid to serve.
Pros
Working with the kids and their families
Cons
Not enough time to take breaks and my supervisor micro-managed my time
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic work environment
Brief Strategic Family Therapy (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 9, 2016
BSFT Leadership is abusive and toxic and not particularly good at their job. They are clueless in how to treat staff with respect and positive acknowledgment and instead are micro-managing and reprimand staff for not meeting expectations that are completely unnecessary and solely based on looking good to ACS by completing an excessive amount of paperwork. Leadership is focused on their own agenda, which often has nothing to do with the families. Leadership is well aware of their extremely high turnover rate and places the blame on the high turnover rate for child welfare programs in general, instead of looking to how terrible management is the reason for high turnover rate. The only workers who last in the program are those who are willing to completely sacrifice a healthy life-work balance and dedicate 50-70 hours per week to the job's ridiculous level of paperwork.
It is impossible to expect workers to empower families when leadership keeps workers themselves disempowered. (Very much anti-ethics and values of social work profession.)
Pros
BSFT model is relatively good at engaging ACS referred families, Co-workers are passionate, well-intentioned, and supportive.
Cons
BSFT Leadership is abusive and toxic and not particularly good at their job.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Rewarding
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 28, 2015
assist foster children in getting their IEP met, enforcing IEP with the school and at home with the foster parents or biological parents. writing my daily reports and assisting parents and foster parents to meet goals.
Pros
able to visit the childrens class rooms and witnessing their progress
Cons
alot of traveling to different boroughs
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYNovember 23, 2015
My work day consisted of reviewing cases, therapy session, following up with court attorney, psychiatrist, school psychologist and milieu staff. Daily required assessment notes. My co-workers were great team players and always willing to help. The hardest part was leaving my job due to relocating to Maryland.
Pros
Enjoyed helping the youth succeed
Cons
Due to long work days in courts, unable to get required breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Milieu Behavioral and Mental Health Counselor (Former Employee) –  Pleasantville, NYOctober 13, 2015
It was a pleasure working for this organization. Everyone works as a team; it is a family oriented setting. The most enjoyable part of working at this organization is being able to interact with the youths and knowing that you can make a difference.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends
Worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 7, 2015
It depends the department that you are you are working in and the manager. The organization has been changed from the time that I started to present and it is not a people friendly as it use to be as it was in the past that made you want to work for the organization.
Pros
Working with the clients
Cons
Not people/family friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 29, 2015
A typical day at work can consist of dealing with different culture of client that we receive interacting with the clients learning new and exciting things; sometime we learn about things that are not so good.
organizing charts for social worker or the Auditors when we have Audits. booking conference rooms for meeting and also for trainings; covering my supervisor duties while she is out on vacation or sick leave
Pros
interacting with different people
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 85 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3