JCPenney Employee Reviews

Found 11,887 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow paced work
Replenishment Associate (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDApril 25, 2017
Hours sucked there and low pay for a lot of work.Unfairness to the replenishment team we never got what was fair and we worked 10 times harder than any other associate
Pros
healthcare, 401k plans
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCApril 25, 2017
relaxed work place. I liked that I was interacting with people majority of the day. not working many hours gave me time for school work. I didn't like being called in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Photographer/Sales (Former Employee) –  Whitehall Township, PAApril 25, 2017
This job was fun I love kids and being able to work with them to make them smile for a picture that will last a life time. Hardest part was you had to be fast but give good work.
Pros
Making memorable photos
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLApril 25, 2017
Helping custoemrs find items or find gifts for others
I learned that all types of people shop there and some people come there for the first time.
Holiodays are hectic because of door busters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for students or people who only want to work part time
Customer Service/ Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Whitehall Township, PAApril 25, 2017
Its different now from when I worked there but the store manager was fired for child pornography on his computer, the supervisors are rude and don't treat their staff fairly. All employees are part time now so they no longer have to give anyone benefits. Boring and unfulfilling.
Pros
part time
Cons
no benefits, boring, unfulfilling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Greeting and assisting customers (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMApril 25, 2017
I worked on unloading the company truck and placing merchandise on sales floor managers always moved stuff around before you were done. Not enough hours to complete tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and stressful
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 25, 2017
It is a retail position, and it requires patience when working with the public. One simply does not just show up to work and expect to earn their pay, effort is required.
Pros
Flexble schedule
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the clo
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  East Dundee, ILApril 25, 2017
I would be on a register all day. If it wasn't busy I would walk on the sales floor and put clothes away. Straightening up what looked out of place. It's easier to stay on top of cleaning so it won't be that much to at the end of your shift. The managers there were very helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad to see it go.
Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Decorah, IAApril 25, 2017
I am not much for supporting large corporations, but I grew to like my fellow JCP staff members and it saddens me to see this place go. JCP was all Decorah had for affordable clothing.
Pros
Discount Card
Cons
Business is closing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good overall job
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 24, 2017
It was an okay job overall. Management was not the best and the pay wasn't great. There were not many opportunities to advance in the company or opportunities to get pay raises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about JCPenney?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Salon Manager (Former Employee) –  McAlester, OKApril 24, 2017
This job was a lot of fun. It was filled with ups and down. A lot of learning curves developed here. Life lessons that I will always implement in future practices.
Pros
Business Building Skills
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good atmosphere
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Clearwater,FLApril 24, 2017
A typical day is pretty busy. Like most jobs there is always somethnig to do. I have learned the process of working in retail. I have always worked in customer service but always for the food industry. Management is okay. I think that there are definitely favorites in each stores so those people get away with things( not helping with returning the closes from the fitting room to the rack, or standing near the register pretending to work). the hardest part of the job is advancing with the company. The tasks I do on a day to day basis are pretty bacis and not hard but for people like myself who want to advance I believe there is a small window of opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Menomonee Falls, WIApril 24, 2017
At the store it was seasonal job. Where I had the ability to work in the jewelry department and also be a cashier. On the weekend was able to do the stocking and tag the clothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rarely got hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Salina, KSApril 24, 2017
Management at my store had it out for me from day one. I would routinely go entire pay periods getting no hours, which made it nearly impossible to survive. Pay was meager. I did, however, make several friends with fellow employees in my brief time at Penney's.
Pros
Fellow employees
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Sales Support Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COApril 24, 2017
My coworkers were amazing! We always had so much fun together. I learned a lot here about how to deal with people in the correct manner. The hardest part of this job was sometimes dealing with difficult customers, but a friendly smile will usually win them over!
Pros
The wonderful people to work with, and the flexibility of hours
Cons
The pay was very low, but it was also three years ago, so that may have changed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced and poor rate
Seasonal Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJApril 24, 2017
These are a few responsibilities I had at JCPenney,

Seasonal Customer Service Specialist in women clothing
Taking all calls, checking customers out, cleaning the fitting room and maintaining the general up-keep of the floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thumbs up!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 24, 2017
Great for learning how to maneuver your way around with a positive attitude while dealing with the public. Answering questions, working behind the register, and becoming an excellent team player to the other coworker around you!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Photographer, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaApril 24, 2017
In my experience the studio will either run smoothly or not depending on your manager. I was there a year and a half, and in that time worked with two managers. My first one was great. She was very professional and very understanding, she was always offering to help us in any way that we needed and always was a great example in customer service. Unfortunately, she moved away and then we got a new manager. She was very different from our previous one and the store's numbers began to drop. Most of the staff quit within her first 3 months with us. But if you like working in a fast paced environment and like to be creative and love working with kids then this job would probably be great for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Management structure was hard on long time employees
Store Engagement Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 24, 2017
I managed a team in a location for over 50 years. New CEO and management team took over and started changing everything with little warning to long term associates nearing retirement. I felt the job was too depressing, seeing all these dedicated people crying - needing to change their lives to keep their jobs.
Pros
Retail, training was simple
Cons
workloads were large, little help to finish tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with great managment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Salina, KSApril 24, 2017
Working at Penney's has helped me be able to talk to people and gave me a chance to work with lots of different people. Also being a key carrier gave me the opportunity to learn how to manage a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 11,925 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

78%
2,336 ratings
Add your rating