JCPenney Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALOctober 16, 2017
I was a cashier and customer service representative and my job was to serve the customer at all time and to give the best customer service always. I enjoy working with different people every day to help a person in need and to put a smile on a person face to let them know someone cares about their needs.
Pros
Helping people
Cons
Equal pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Appliance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Elkhart, INOctober 16, 2017
Reasonable amount of tasks, plenty of customer interaction, ability to make decisions and initiate action, good pay, great daily feedback on job performance
Pros
pleasant work environment
Cons
limited hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great part time job
Customer Inquiry Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cheswick, PAOctober 15, 2017
Unfortunately JC Penney chose to close the call center I worked in but it was a great job with adequate training and benefits.Flexible hours where available and worked well with my schedule
Pros
flexibility
Cons
closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its was an ok place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALOctober 15, 2017
If u are looking just for experience and a part time job this is an ok place to work. However u end up doing multiple jobs most that you don't get paid for.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Short breaks, understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHOctober 15, 2017
Working in college can be very tough. However, I was able to work almost a full time job at JCP, and go to college full time. My scheduling supervisor always made sure that there was a good balance between work and school time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical retail job
Retail Worker (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TN 37660October 15, 2017
holidays are super busy while the rest of the time is hit or miss
would be a good job for a teenager or college student
some managers seem to genuinely care for the workers
Pros
flexible work hours
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Department Lead/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 15, 2017
decent place to work part time, a lot of favoritism went around the store and people got away with it. wouldn't recommend this job for anybody to work at
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job.. as jobs go
Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  West Plains, MOOctober 15, 2017
There's always items or shelves to straighten, but overall an easy paced job. Job details are clear with easy instructions on task completion. Lots of walking and standing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool
Seasonal Worker (Former Employee) –  Redondo Beach, CAOctober 15, 2017
short
fold lots of clothing
cool
worked with nice people
they shifted you everywhere in the store
helping out customers who need help in the store
Pros
good working areas
Cons
they pull you from place to place in the store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So so to work there
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYOctober 14, 2017
The job it self was easy to do. It It doesn't take a rocket scientist to fold clothing and put them on shelfs. The best part about it was coming to work and having fun with your coworkers.
Pros
Getting paid
Cons
Management was not on the same page
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Task support (Current Employee) –  Waterford, CTOctober 14, 2017
Great people! Fun job! Great work environment, I work early morning hours and love the fact I can still be home with my children after school. Team is awesome as well!
Pros
Discount is awesome
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JCPenney Exposure
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDOctober 13, 2017
It helped me to develop my communication skills, interpersonal skills and customer supporting skills. Also help me to study The clothing industry standards and policies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
JCPenney Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAOctober 13, 2017
management was very professional and very friendly when you do your job right. Typical of being pressured to sell credit cards but over all I like the job, Everyone is very friendly including the staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can keep tongue in cheek with mgmt, it will be a good fit.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Merritt Island, FLOctober 13, 2017
At JC Penney, credit and online orders are mandatory. Goals are manageable, but it varies depending on sales, coupons, etc. With the closing of stores, individual store management teams are pushing sales goals now more than ever. Little focus on workers' needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Marion, INOctober 13, 2017
The manager was wonderful. The staff was fun to work with. They were very accommodating in an emergency or with problem. Clothing discounts were amazing.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Working during the holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job
Sales (Former Employee) –  Taylor, MIOctober 13, 2017
Working at JCPenney made me love retail in the first place. The staff is welcoming and were excellent in my training, the pay was good, and they are very flexible about scheduling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you want a part-time job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Westminster, CAOctober 13, 2017
Good if you want a part-time job or seeking advancement in retail as a career. Work hours and days off all over the place. Expect to work every holiday except Christmas day and Easter day.
Pros
good for students looking for part-time job, good associate discounts
Cons
Work hours and days off all over the place. Expect to work every holiday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work environment
Visual Merchandiser specialist (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 13, 2017
To be honest, you have to make due with what you can get. there is many opportunities and chances for advancement as long as you work very hard. the hours are also good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 13, 2017
All good. Except for the number of hours. It was a good place to work however, not enough hours to work. It's a good department that I work with. Over all I am happy but not contented.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Retail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brea, CAOctober 13, 2017
Help keep store clean and assisted customers with their needs and helped customers help find items that they are looking for if not in store than in online.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 14,491 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6