Find companies:
JCPenney
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,356 reviews

JCPenney Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a nice place to work
FAMILY DOLLAR, ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee), chicago, ILJuly 8, 2014
friendly environment great customers.
i'VE LEARNED A LOT WORKING FOR THIS COMPANY.
MY COWORKERS ARE GREAT AND THE TEAM EFFORT THAT GOES INTO MAKING IT A GREAT EXPERIENCE FOR THE CUSTOMERS IS WONDERFUL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be fun and enjoyable
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Taylor, MIJuly 8, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: everything else
This company used to be fun and enjoyable to work for. Now you come into work and you have to be worried about losing more hours so they can stay under budget or being yelled because what you did wasn't good enough. This is the first year for appraisals and management was told not to give any employees "meets expectations" because everyone can do better – more... therefore, nobody will get a raise. The co-workers (what is left of them) are the most enjoyable. Many good workers have left due to this tyranny and cutting of hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
Sales Associate (Former Employee), TennesseeJuly 7, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: not a lot of hours. overworked managers. low pay.
There is no coherent top-own corporate policy on ANYTHING. Policies change on coupons depending on how the manager feels. Managers aren't very supportive. They are too overworked to provide decent customer service or help those under them. And the managers push you to sign up people for credit cards, and your hours are affected by how many of those – more... applications that you get. You never know what to do, and when you ask more than one manager they have a different answer for you every time, so you have to make your own decision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent communicative crew and lively work environment.
Shoe Associate (Former Employee), Fort CollinsJuly 7, 2014
Having the ability to spend your whole day talking to customers and giving them advice on comfort, style and talking to them on a personal level makes anyone's job extremely enjoyable no matter what you have to accomplish throughout your shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely awful
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Redding, CAJuly 7, 2014
Low pay, poor management, no health benefits, very rigid corporate structure. Management would constantly add to my work load without ever giving me a raise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a lot of labor involved
Support Team Member (Former Employee), Northridge, CAJuly 7, 2014
I worked in the back of the store where we receive shipments for the store and we would open up huge boxes of merchandise and disperse them throughout the store based on departments. I learned a lot about hard work and labor, I was one of the few males on the job so we always had to do the heavy lifting and there was a lot of it. Moving huge fixtures, – more... tables, doors, dressers, using ladders. It was a lot of down and dirty work. Co-workers were the best part and working within a team is always fun. Management however can be very harsh and not understanding, it was by far the worst part of the job. Overall though the job had its pros and cons and there are worse jobs out there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Owasso, OKJuly 7, 2014
Very easy money and easy job overall... loved working there but i needed more hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JC Penney
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJuly 6, 2014
Pros: learning new experiences on a daily basis
Everyday was a new challenge. Everyday I would learn something new about the company in how to become a better leader and sales manager. My co-workers were great to work with. Hardest part would be finding associates to work when people call in and the most enjoyable part is working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great associates to work with.
Department Supervisor (Current Employee), Waterford, CTJuly 6, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: healthcare and benefits
It is a great place to work at because everyone is so friendly and we all work as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department Supervisor
Department Supervisor (Current Employee), Horseheads, NYJuly 5, 2014
Pros: working with people
I have been employed at JCPenney for quite awhile and have held many positions. My typical day is filled with many tasks such as to plan where the merchandise arriving on the truck the next day will be placed, making sales goals for my team, taking care of customer issues and most importantly providing an exceptional shopping experience for our customers. – more... I look forward to everyday being a challenge and enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Stock Picker/ Trainer (Former Employee), Reno, NVJuly 4, 2014
Pros: merit raises
it was a good work enverment and I learned time management .If a had the chance I would work there again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee), Queens, NYJuly 3, 2014
Pros: great discounts good management, flexible schedule
Cons: short break, standing for long periods of time
I had a great experience working here honestly. If there came a time where I would be in need of an occupation, I would definitely go back to JCP. There is a lot of opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Customer Service (Former Employee), Forestville, MDJuly 3, 2014
An environment with a diverse cultural background. Enjoy working with my peers , also enjoyed associating with different customers or patron that comes in the store everyday. Most enjoyable part of my job is help a customer finding and specific outfits that they are looking for .Also , some individuals may be having personal problems or issues but with – more... helping encouraging words can enlighten their face making them feel better than before. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there, but the pay was not good and the hours were very limited.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gastonia, NCJuly 3, 2014
Pros: activitities to boost moral.
Cons: low pay and few hours.
It is a nice place to work. Very friendly associates. I enjoyed it until I had unexpected medical difficulties and management did not keep their word in helping me like they said they would.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Clerk
Sales Clerk (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 3, 2014
Pros: employeed
Cons: im always getting the ugly evening hours, im always closing alone
Stock shelves, counters, or tables with merchandise.
• Set up advertising displays or arrange merchandise on counters or tables to promote sales.
• Stamp, mark, or tag price on merchandise.
• Obtain merchandise requested by customer or receive merchandise selected by customer.
• Answer customer’s questions concerning location, price, and use of merchandise.
 – more... Total price and tax on merchandise purchased by customer to determine bill.
• Accept payment and make change. Wrap or bag merchandise for customers.
• Remove and record amount of cash in register at end of shift.
• Calculate sales discount to determine price.
• Keep record of sales, prepare inventory of stock, and order merchandise.
• Keep the showroom clean and orderly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work environment if like working with clothes
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Columbia Center Blvd.July 2, 2014
Pros: employee gatherings for holidays
Cons: sometimes wouldn't get off until late
What to expect is walking around the store staying busy, helping customers, or in a register helping a customer. I learned how to properly fold clothes as well as size them. I also learned how to be patient and have fun at work. Management could have been better, because a few did not treat co workers right. Other than management co-workers were easy – more... to get along with. The hardest part of my job was to try and sell credit apps and the most that I enjoyed was when I got to see a customer smile because I helped them find exactly what he or she was looking for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ver competetive workplace.
Shoe Specialist (Former Employee), Weatherford, TXJuly 2, 2014
Working here was a very great learning experience. I learned how to really close a sale and also how to really provide a customer with a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Pre-Sale Account Manager (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 2, 2014
Great place to work. Fun, fast paced work environment. The culture is not as inclusive, however before i left they began making employees feel like we were part of a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, positive team
Retail Associate/ Customer Service/ Cashier (Current Employee), goodyear, arizonaJuly 2, 2014
a typical work days is about 6 hours long, assisting customers, keeping work area organized, sized and clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JCPenny is a great job.
Service Specialist (Former Employee), 63640July 2, 2014
It is just boring though. Doing the same thing over and over. Folding clothes

1 2 3 4 5

About JCPenney

A century-old name in retailing, J. C. Penney is reinventing itself to modernize its iconic but sagging department store business. – Read more