Find companies:
JCPenney
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,866 reviews

JCPenney Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welcoming place
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee), Columbia, MDNovember 25, 2014
A welcoming and quiet place to work and share great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistent, Friendly Work
Support Team Associate (Former Employee), Brighton, CONovember 25, 2014
While it didn't pay well, it was the most enjoyable job I've had. The people were always so friendly, I often forgot I was at work. It was anything but physically demanding, but it felt just as complex as any other position I have had. There was a natural flow to work that made the day go fast, delivery in the mornings and placement after; in a very – more... short time I became very good at it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier, Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Merrillville, INNovember 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: working in to the am
I would greet the customers, help them when they needed, handling money, and cleaning the store. I learned how to be more involved with customers. The management their was great I can't remember who the manager was at that time because I was seasonal, but she was very nice and worked well with everyone. The hardest part of the job was after the Holidays – more... we would sometimes work in to the am. The most enjoyable part of the job was the environment it made you feel welcome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a Sales Associate
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Greenville, OHNovember 25, 2014
Worked as a Sales Associate. Helped Customers with purchases they were seeking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Farmington, CTNovember 25, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: very long holiday hours
This job was a great exprience to enter the world of customer service. Keeping the floor clean was very important, which included making sure every piece of clothing on the racks was neat and organized. The management also worked on the floor which was very helpful. I enjoyed the co workers everyone was very happy and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'd rate it as 8/10
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Roswell, NMNovember 25, 2014
Pros: the easy ability to request days off
Cons: working on holidays
I liked the job itself, however because of management, I am choosing to leave. I also did not like the fact I needed to work on holidays. But everything else about the job was great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Furniture Expert (Former Employee), Dulles, VANovember 24, 2014
Sales associates were spread thin. There was a lack of support from management. Twice, I had to train new supervisors to supervise me in the furniture department. When they each got promoted, I still new more about the department than they did. Penney's wasn't consistent about promoting the most qualified person for the job. Job satisfaction was never – more... a factor, performance only was. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive evironment
Customer Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Milford, CTNovember 24, 2014
Nice place to work but overall not a place to build an career. Co-workers can be disappointed by management. A typical day at work would be slow pace. The hardest part about this job was being let go do to a budget in sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typicaly Waiter's Job
Customer Service & Cashier (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 23, 2014
Pros: going back and eating up the food.
Cons: everything else
I hated it. simple. if you have ever been a waiter then you know why. Just working in this type of job id not okay. The tips were alright could have been better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of great people work here
Human Resource Leader (Current Employee), Chula Vista, CANovember 23, 2014
Being a HR Manager is a great job. You spend most of your time working with the associates on issues they may have, but there is so much more than that. You have the opportunity to run the entire store, oversee supervisors, help lead the store to grow customer service and sales. However there is never enough time in the day to get the job done.

The – more... best part of working here is the people, everyone is very nice and the store feels like a second family. The hardest part of the job is the fact that you have to work a lot of nights and week ends but if you require a job with a flexible work schedule this would be a plus to you. The benefits are pretty good if you are a full time employee but there are no benefits for part timers.Vacation time is offered to all who work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting and fast pace place to work.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CANovember 22, 2014
Very fast pace job, I learned a lot of skills and abilities: Trained Employee, Supervises, Inventory Control, Organizational Skills, Forklift Operator, Loading/Unloading, Machine Operator, Shipping/Receiving, management was excellent, co-workers were very informative, the most hardest part and most enjoyable part of the job was the jobs face pace, and – more... keeping up and excelling that pace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), McAlester, OKNovember 22, 2014
Everyday was something different which made it a good place to work. I loved everyone I worked with and I learned something new everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Receiving Coordinator/Sales Support (Former Employee), Redlands, CANovember 22, 2014
This was my first full time opportunity in my work experience. The flexibility allowed me to transfer my job to where ever I needed during my time here making keeping myself employed ideal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work with discounts offered
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Danville, VANovember 21, 2014
Pros: emplyee discount
Cons: minimum compensation
JCpenny was a enjoyable place to work that allowed merchandise to be purchased at a employee discount. I learned a lot about customer service and working face to face with customers. Co-workers were friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Albany, NYNovember 21, 2014
Work was normal, but it was a seasonal job. Had to fold cloths, clean fitting rooms. Stay late night to clean store at the end of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic place
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Manteca, CANovember 21, 2014
Pros: loved helping customers picking out things to wear and taking them out of their comfort zones
Cons: not enough hours or higher pay
A typical day working at JCPenney would start off by clocking and head to morning meetings with managers and co workers. The managers go over what needs to approved, our customer service ratings, store sales, etc. I mostly did registers so I made sure the cash register had to right amount of money and organized the environement close to the register – more... area until a customer needed help with merchandise or was ready to check out their merchandise. Other days I would do customer service out on the floor greeting the shoppers and making sure my department looked nice and organized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Working Here
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fort Smith, ARNovember 21, 2014
Pros: happy work environment, nice customers, easy to learn, discounts
Cons: management expectations, hours
Must be able to multi-task, which I love, so it was perfect for me. Enjoyable job. Great discounts. Management is flexible when you ask to go to different departments. Offer rewards for recognized customer service.

Only cons were some of the management is harsh and has unrealistic expectations and hours are tough to get.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail is difficult from the corporate office to the stores.
Senior Merchandise Manager (Former Employee), Baytown, TXNovember 21, 2014
I believe that when they went to corporate buying, they lost a lot of talented management and the local input that made JCPenney so distinguished,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experice with jc penney
recovery specialist (Former Employee), Toms River, NJNovember 21, 2014
working at jc penney was my first experience in retail
I am currently looking for another position in retail but
not with jc penney
I felt as though they took advantage of their excellent staff
by cutting hours and adding more work than required
for the position hired for.
.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love jcpeney
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lithonia, GANovember 20, 2014
enjoyed working there, the company is great and the people I worked with.

1 2 3 4 5

About JCPenney

A century-old name in retailing, J. C. Penney is reinventing itself to modernize its iconic but sagging department store business. – Read more