JCPenney Employee Reviews

Found 13,643 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yawns
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 21, 2017
Next its boring i wouldnt reccomend it to anyone just my opinion.very happy on my next adventure and am liking where iam at in this very point of life.
Pros
Boring
Cons
Uneventful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty flexible
Stylist (Current Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FLAugust 21, 2017
ok place to work pretty flexible. Salon is located in the back of the store. You can go out into the store to market. Needs updated needs more marketing
Pros
Inshurence
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace environment
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Hot Springs, ARAugust 21, 2017
The managers were very nice and they had me on the floor two days after I was hired and it wasn't overwhelming.They have a very good way of training their employees.Plus they give you motivation to do better with your work and they make you feel better about your work.
Pros
2$ exrra everytime someone sighns up for credit cards.
Cons
Short lunch breaks 15 minutes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy during the holidays
SALES ASSOCIATE (SEASONAL) (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOAugust 21, 2017
I worked during the Christmas season and it was a very busy place to work. The workers were always willing to help each other with anything the may need help with.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot
Sales Associate/ Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Whitehall Township, PAAugust 21, 2017
While I was employed there, management was very poor. I enjoyed working with my co-workers and we worked very hard and were paid very little.They expected alot from their employees and pushed very hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at working .
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAAugust 21, 2017
A typical day at work is busy. I learn a lot from the managers. The management were helpful. The workplace culture was very clean. The most enjoyable part of the job were the employees and all the customers .
Pros
breaks and lunchbreaks
Cons
no cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and fun interacting with customers
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Marketplace mallAugust 21, 2017
Nothing has to change I love them just the way they are they make sure all of their customers are satisfied and help them find everything they need no matter what.
Pros
Eat where ever in the mall
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Gallup, NMAugust 21, 2017
employees are friendly and easy to work with.
Managers are nice and helpful and things you don't know how to do.
Customers can be mean at times but if you know your customers service well it is easy to deal with them.
Pros
fun
Cons
folding clothes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad but not good
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mentor, OHAugust 21, 2017
Everything was good there except management and compensation, the coworkers are okay in the beginning but then it feels like they tear you down, I had a few mental break downs because of them. I would literally be crying in front of the customers.
Pros
It gives you something to do for money
Cons
The coworkers, management, and compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work.
Credit and Catalog customer service. (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 21, 2017
Jcpenney's was a good company to work for very fast pace during holidays but slower pace in between . I love working with the public meeting new people and offering my expertise on catalog sales . I enjoyed making people happy by the time they leave my desk after placing catalog orders and applying for a credit card and being approved the best part of my day. Management for the most part attended to our needs as store associates their really was no hardest part of the job as long as you apply yourself anything was possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about JCPenney?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice coworkers
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDAugust 21, 2017
I loved the people I worked with but the pay was terrible and it was a very stressful environment. To much responsibility not enough money. Expects one person to the job of 10 people.
Pros
Yearly raises
Cons
Terrible pay, unorganized company, not enough people scheduled.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Coral Springs, FLAugust 20, 2017
it was great it work here before but the new management is awful. There is one supervisor who doesnt know how to speak to people and does somethings that the management just lets it go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Induction (Former Employee) –  Sumner, WAAugust 20, 2017
Great Place to work, management benefit were great. Had no problems with this place actually miss working here. People were great as well made alot of friends here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
JCPenney Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherman, TXAugust 20, 2017
Very calm environment, management is easy going. Hours are flexible with little benefits, other than discounts, there's not much to benefits. Alright pay, with credit commission.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment to work at.
Sales associates (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 20, 2017
Good benefits customers were happy for the coupons. Greet friendly and innovative made sure the employees was comfort and if had any question will be known
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice place to work.
JCPenney Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Plantation, FLAugust 19, 2017
I work here now and I enjoy it very much. I would not change much due to how great it already is. Once you find your way in the store then you should be fine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great discount
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAAugust 19, 2017
Jcpenney offers great discounts and you can use the discount at sephora. Closing shifts were horrible because sometimes we would have to stay 2 hours or more after closing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun environment
Sales/Holiday Associate (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WA 98125August 19, 2017
Overall rating* `3-5
Job Work/Life Balance `3-5
Compensation/Benefits `3-5
Job Security/Advancement `3-5
Management `5-5
Job Culture `5-5


Customer awareness and management is encouraged highly.

Very worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard job with some benefits.
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KSAugust 19, 2017
I worked at the distribution center of JCPenny as a package handler moving and sorting boxes. Boss was cool and got 2 15 minute breaks and 1 30 minutes lunch break but job was very tough.
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
Hot warehouse
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a fun place
Part Time Cashier (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXAugust 19, 2017
I hired on as Christmas help and they kept me on the schedule for 10 years. There were so really good times and I met some great people at work. This was always a part time position for me but I am a full time JC Penney fan.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 13,687 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7