Find companies:
JCPenney
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,656 reviews

JCPenney Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer Service
Lead Expert (Department Supervisor) (Current Employee), Brookfield, WISeptember 21, 2014
Stocked and restocked inventory when shipments were received. Reorganized the sales floor to meet company demands.Completed weekly schedules according to payroll policies.Trained staff to deliver outstanding customer service. Contributed to merchandising ideas at team sale meetings. Resolve customers' complaints and issues in a proactive manner. Supervised – more... associates daily activity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: hour lunches.
Cons: management.
Constantly busy with some kind of work to do, sometimes overwhelming with too much, over-staffed in some areas and under-staffed in other areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at the warehouse
Warehouse Stocking Clerk (Former Employee), Tempe, AZSeptember 19, 2014
Getting the crew together and jobs for the day in place.Receive trucks and complete paperwork. Take calls and solve problems and answer questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, positive environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Fort Gratiot, MISeptember 19, 2014
Pros: positive environment
Cons: a few difficult customers
happy place to work, customers pleasant. must promote credit apps,
supervisors care, a few customers can be coupon crazy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good workplace
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Port Arthur, TXSeptember 18, 2014
Co workers are very easy to get along with
management has their favorite people so if they
dont like you then they will not give you
the hours. Also very gosspie
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Hair Stylist (Former Employee), Fairmont MNSeptember 18, 2014
Cons: no health ins
I learned to work as a team and the other stylists were very good at helping the new ones build there business. the hardest part of the job was working on building your clients.The staff was fun and we all worked well as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Des Moines, IASeptember 18, 2014
Pros: work day hours
Helping customers with their purchases, and a good part time job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was my first job and I had it while in college. A great place to start a job while in college.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Murray, KYSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: good experience balancing job and college.
Cons: was a seasonal job.
I had some difficulty balancing a job and school but it was a fantastic experience. I learned a lot about retail while there. I had a relatively good team of co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for.
Customer Service rep (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 17, 2014
Enjoyed working at a fast pace at all times. And how to brighten up customers days. The management was great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Fairview Heights, ILSeptember 17, 2014
JCPenny was an ideal place to work, however management lacked and co-workers had a tendancy to complain on just about everything given about a single work day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
catalog associate
Catalog Associate (Former Employee), Riverside, CASeptember 16, 2014
Pros: paid more
Cons: less hours
It was a nice experience to have working in a catalog department. the employees were very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JCPenney is a great place to work
Support Lead Supervisor (Former Employee), West Plains, MOSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: activities
Cons: healthcare/ always changing
Loved my job I found it challenging but also rewarding. Great co-workers. Also enjoyed interacting with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Customer Service / Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cheyenne, WYSeptember 16, 2014
I hated the fact that the management sucked and there was no room for growth. If you have a family this type of jib is definitely not appropriate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), san antonio texasSeptember 16, 2014
fun working environment very friendly people
and what i enjoyed the most about working with this company is the ability to give good customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Replenishment Associate (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTSeptember 15, 2014
As a replenishment associate you are always in the back getting everything ready to set everything on the sales floor. time goes by fast and the management is great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job and place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Salem, ORSeptember 14, 2014
I go in to work and wait on people and I have the best management, and co-workers , I like my job. the most enjoyable part of the job is everything and getting to go to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at. Learned some about Window Treatments, but wanted to be able to put my Interior Design degree to better use.
In-Home Custom Decorating Consultant (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: i worked at the promenade mall so i had easy access to food for lunch.
Cons: i worked at the promenade mall. shopping had to be resisted.
A typical day at work for me while I was there was sitting in my office going through training on Window Treatments, Top Treatments, and things like that. I used a basic computer and an iPad to learn this type of detail. I familiarized myself with the basics of window treatments and how to properly cover a window with them. By this I mean, determining – more... the amount of yardage needed to make the custom curtains / draperies for each different customer. I also learned how to determine what type of window treatments each customer would want by taking out sample books for them to look through and determine what they wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent store
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Garden City, NYSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: social enviroment/financial stability/beautiful merchandise/
Cons: the store was hot/some managable angry customers
A typical day at JCP would entail employees to clock in.I would see my fellow employes and proceed to my station.I was always assigned to Juniors/Womens.Most days I would need to open the registers.As the lines would begin to form I would say politely ''Can I help you please?''I would ring the customer up asking "Would you like to open a JCP account – more... and save 20 percent?''Depending upon the customers response I would assist them and thank them for shopping with JCP.I appreciate your business.During slow periods I would clean the merchandise on the floor.If need merchandise came in I would put them out from the Z racks.At the end of a day I would clock out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable Place
Merchandise Execution Associate (Former Employee), Clifton Park, NYSeptember 13, 2014
I enjoyed working at JCPenney. The employees are very serious about there work while also creating a comfortable environment for each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people that I worked with at each store were more like family then just co-workers!
Sales, M.A, S.M.A, B.L.A, Replenish, Catalog Dept. (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WISeptember 13, 2014
Pros: store discount
Cons: theft
Growth with in the company. Most of the stores I worked in were nice !

1 2 3 4 5

About JCPenney

A century-old name in retailing, J. C. Penney is reinventing itself to modernize its iconic but sagging department store business. – Read more