JCPenney Employee Reviews

Found 13,633 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALAugust 20, 2017
Good Employer. Always finding a way to celebrate the employees. Friendly associates. Good Benefits. Reasonable break. Always an opportunity for growth and learning new ideas whether its through technology or client services.
Pros
Grow Opportunity
Cons
Juggling JCPenney Policies with Sephora Policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Coral Springs, FLAugust 20, 2017
it was great it work here before but the new management is awful. There is one supervisor who doesnt know how to speak to people and does somethings that the management just lets it go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Induction (Former Employee) –  Sumner, WAAugust 20, 2017
Great Place to work, management benefit were great. Had no problems with this place actually miss working here. People were great as well made alot of friends here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
JCPenney Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherman, TXAugust 20, 2017
Very calm environment, management is easy going. Hours are flexible with little benefits, other than discounts, there's not much to benefits. Alright pay, with credit commission.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment to work at.
Sales associates (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 20, 2017
Good benefits customers were happy for the coupons. Greet friendly and innovative made sure the employees was comfort and if had any question will be known
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice place to work.
JCPenney Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Plantation, FLAugust 19, 2017
I work here now and I enjoy it very much. I would not change much due to how great it already is. Once you find your way in the store then you should be fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great discount
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAAugust 19, 2017
Jcpenney offers great discounts and you can use the discount at sephora. Closing shifts were horrible because sometimes we would have to stay 2 hours or more after closing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun environment
Sales/Holiday Associate (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WA 98125August 19, 2017
Overall rating* `3-5
Job Work/Life Balance `3-5
Compensation/Benefits `3-5
Job Security/Advancement `3-5
Management `5-5
Job Culture `5-5


Customer awareness and management is encouraged highly.

Very worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard job with some benefits.
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KSAugust 19, 2017
I worked at the distribution center of JCPenny as a package handler moving and sorting boxes. Boss was cool and got 2 15 minute breaks and 1 30 minutes lunch break but job was very tough.
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
Hot warehouse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a fun place
Part Time Cashier (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXAugust 19, 2017
I hired on as Christmas help and they kept me on the schedule for 10 years. There were so really good times and I met some great people at work. This was always a part time position for me but I am a full time JC Penney fan.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun while it lasted
Replenishment Associate (Former Employee) –  ABQ, NMAugust 19, 2017
good structure and positive people was what made the job a good one. once they got replaced it was another story all together and it was not a bad time spent with the company just was not ideal haha.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Merchandise Associate (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARAugust 19, 2017
Okay the can do a little better but they are okay to work for like your fist job. It's little to no room to I've up unless they really like you but majority no
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job here
Replenishment Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Racine, WIAugust 19, 2017
I got this job while I was still in high school.
I started as a sales associate
Then I moved up to assist manager position
Then I moved up to Senior manager position
Then I moved up to a manager position
I liked management and my co workers
I liked learning about all departments inside the store
I started in the men's department and worked in all departments of the store.
Management would see that you were a hard worker they would take you under their wings and try to improve you and help you advance.
I loved all the managers I worked with here everyone was special.
When I worked there we all were like one big family
Pros
Good workers Good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i love about working
JCPenney Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXAugust 19, 2017
I love my jobs all of them to the fullest. i love to work !!i like to be busy. i dnt never not like to be busy im a hard worker.working at penneys and walmart mad me a good worker.
Pros
Discount
Cons
People
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an okay job, the people are the ones to make it uncomfortable.
Sales Associate/Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 18, 2017
The managers and supervisors put a lot of pressure and expect a lot from very little employees available, usually about three employees in one shift. Some managers don't even greet you back or look art you. The training at this store is very bad as well, they mostly tell you what to do instead of explaining. I learned more from my coworkers than the people who were supposed to train me.
Pros
payed 15 min breaks
Cons
A lot of pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
JCPenney Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 18, 2017
I loved working at jcpenny just had personal thing going on in my life was trying to finish school and work at the same time with 2 young children was a bit hard so I resigned.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, IAAugust 18, 2017
Employees were nice, had nice supervisors when I worked there. Computer systems could use some work. Other than that, I really enjoyed working there and helping people. Also, the discounts were nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most of the time a nice place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Victor, NYAugust 18, 2017
Typical day starts with a morning meeting. Management gives us our credit goal, and customer service score for the store. Either congratulations on a job well done, or a reminder that we have to do better. The home department is the most hands-on area of the store. A lot of problem solving. Overall, I enjoy my job. I love working with most of the customers, and most of my coworkers. I don't like the mandatory weekends. The hardest part of the job is the holiday season. Mean, grumpy people come in at the holiday season.
Pros
Great associate discount
Cons
Weekends, holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a good starting job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHAugust 18, 2017
It's a good starting job. I would mainly say it was a temporary thing. Over time it starting changing and and it just didn't feel the same working there. But overall not a bad place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring place to work, little hours , low pay
Sales Associate/Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAAugust 18, 2017
I do not recommend anyone to work at Jc penny unless you are elderly and retired and just want something to do when you're bored on the house . With the low pay that you will recieve for all the hard work you do you would be highly upset getting your check at the end of every 2 weeks like I was for the past 8 months .
Pros
Discounts, friendly staff and management
Cons
Quick paced, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 13,678 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7