JCPenney Employee Reviews

Found 11,579 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job while I was in High School
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VAMarch 29, 2017
This job gave me a good foot hold on how to manage/run a section. It helped me hone my skills with interacting with customers and providing great customer service. The management was okay but seemed more concerned with goals then the actual employee. The hardest part of the job was Black Friday and its aftermath. The most enjoyable part was helping customers find what they needed which turned into great feedback to my managers regarding my performance.
Pros
Free events and catering and great employee discounts
Cons
Very limited full time work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's retail
Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bremerton, WAMarch 29, 2017
It's retail. There's not much to say. It was very easy to change departments when I wanted. The breaks were good. Work days could be very long. Management was fine, not great. The best part was helping people who went through dramatic events, get brand new items.
Pros
Easy to switch departments
Cons
Retail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Independent Stylist (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXMarch 29, 2017
i like how the company kept a continueing education schedule where we were able to get new techniques. the teachers were well knoledgeable in the area
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers and overall atmosphere to be in.
Sales Support (Current Employee) –  Stillwater, OKMarch 29, 2017
I really enjoyed my time working in Stillwater. Would like to continue with the company in a new location and continue to grow as a proud member of the JCPenney family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Northridge, CAMarch 29, 2017
great working environment .great management love working here
I love making people beautiful and there is a lot of tools to make this happen very happy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
stock/replenishment/customer service (Former Employee) –  McComb, MSMarch 29, 2017
fun place to work. employees nice. Hours gets cut too much. They keep hiring new people and giving them hours instead of the employees already there. when they do that your benefits get cut.
Pros
fun place to work.
Cons
not enough hours. no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead Sale Support- Lead (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCMarch 29, 2017
Good company and great people to work with. But I wish there were more hours to work with. other than that am very please with this company, and would recommend this company to work with.
Pros
Good Job
Cons
Higher pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place
Price Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Midland, MIMarch 29, 2017
I worked here for awhile, and the place was a good training ground for me. It gained my confidence in customer service, and gave me tools to further myself in. Management at my store was not the greatest, we had a lot of turnover in that area. I would recommend this for a young person starting out, but that's about it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, hardworking, Fun, friendly
Warehouse Associate (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Hapeville, GAMarch 29, 2017
This is a very fast paced work facility. I worked in the JcPenney warehouse part and if you work there you have to work hard, thay dont take slack. Overall its collected and a awesome job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security but low pay without a degree
Receiving Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Cedar Hill, TXMarch 29, 2017
JCP is a great company to work for if you have a degree in Business, Logistics, or Supply Chain Management. If not, be prepared to bust your tail for low wages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place.
Catalog and Credit Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMarch 29, 2017
Customer Service during busy time were great. Coworkers pulling together to help customer.Helping customer get credit.
Clean working environment. Management team help you was friendly and helpful
Pros
Employee lunches and discount
Cons
Limited health insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KSMarch 29, 2017
• Provide excellent customer service by assisting customers with plumbing questions
• Pull orders for instore pickup and added customer convenience
• Stock and maintain merchandise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at JCP
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Eatontown, NJMarch 28, 2017
JCPenney is a decent enough job for a college student who has an immense amount of responsibilities to take care of at school. Management is adequate and very good at their jobs. It is of course, a job in retail so not all customer experiences will be great ones. Just have to take the bad with the good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to start
Hairstylist/Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  Waterford, CTMarch 28, 2017
if you don't have any experience this is a great place to start at
they have a great programs for beginners
just make sure the salon does not have that many employees that way you can get more clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starter job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAMarch 28, 2017
I worked at the JC Penney located in Chambersburg, Mall. This was a nice store however JC Penney closed many of their stores and Chambersburg was one of the stores closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
JCPenney Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodbury, NJMarch 28, 2017
overall it was a good experience. It provided a lot of benefits such as a nice size employee discount with many other advantages. This job was very calm and collected.
Pros
associate discount
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very understanding environment.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodland mall tulsa okMarch 28, 2017
Taught me a lot and help me get more interacting with people. Working as cashier and helping customers. Jcpenney is a fun place to work with. Coworker's are very nice.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IAMarch 28, 2017
Love working with people! I have had the chance to work with and talk to many different new people and enjoy getting to know the people that shop there. The people are nice and hard working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of teenagers
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Spokane Valley, WAMarch 28, 2017
I enjoyed my first few months working at jcpenny was very pleasant but after that some of my co-workers started to be very rude an began treating me very poorly
Pros
20% discount on everything in store
Cons
Too many teenagers working and taking hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's good place to work for your first job
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 28, 2017
I have been at this company for almost three years and it has really help me build charcater and shown me working with the public isn't easy. This job becomes very overwhelming after a year. I would only work here if you like putting away clothes and working with the public
Pros
the discount, sales, and coupons.
Cons
its very stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 11,617 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7