JCPenney Employee Reviews

Found 13,231 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail
Retail associate (Former Employee) –  Montebello, CAJuly 19, 2017
Helping customers find their right style and making sure that they leave with the best experience and go above and beyond for them and make sure that they continue to come.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 19, 2017
Working at JCP was a very enjoyable position, as well as many learning and enriching opportunities. I was able to go above and beyond with customer service and goals expected from the company.
Pros
environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace culture was fun, management was good to work for, and i enjoyed working there
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, CTJuly 19, 2017
l enjoyed working at JC Penney, and working with the customers and helping them with their shopping experience. When customers needed help deciding on which shirt or skirt looks best on them, I felt like I was making their day and helping them smile and make their day a little brighter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning experience working in retail.
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Maria, CAJuly 19, 2017
Learned how to work with customers. Used my second language to translate to customers. Management was well organized. Hardest part of the job was leaving it because I loved going to work at a place where I could always dress up. Best part of the job was helping out a customer and them thanking you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 19, 2017
Workspace needs to be updated. And computers are slow. It would be nice if after a period of time you could get full time.
We are busy, so days go fast.\///////////////////////
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work , clean
Sales Associate/Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 19, 2017
It was a clean place to work. Plenty walk ins. You got good reards there for sales and discounts in the store. Winning awrds is fairly easy. Good place to start work. Good place to work good place. I have no more.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Working saturday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a healthy place to work mentally and physically.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJuly 19, 2017
It is very difficult to balance your life and work with the work schedules. It is almost impossible to schedule a doctor's appointment. Even a fifteen minutes break is had to get within a five hours working period.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor environment
Customer Care Rep (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 19, 2017
the environment is not professional, too many family members and close friends that work together so nothings ever done fairly. managers tell personal business to other co workers. if pregnant better hold vomit and urine because they don't allow you to hurry to the bathroom. I guess they would prefer for you to vomit at your desk.
Pros
somewhere to work
Cons
short breaks, not organized, managers tell co workers business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful at times
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Downey, CAJuly 19, 2017
You have to be tough mental cause those customers can get to you. Its a fast pace job and is only meant for certain people. If your super kind hearted, this job will tear you apart mentally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glad to have left JCP!
Salon Manager/Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJuly 19, 2017
I have nothing to say about jcp
Company is going bankrupt
Salon manager best known for causing differences between stylist in the Clearwater location
Pros
Benifits
Cons
To many to mention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about JCPenney?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
buying office for sporting goods and toys
Buycom operator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 19, 2017
Hard working supervisor. One competent buyer, one semi-competent buyer, and one incompetent made some days more frustrating than others. The supervisor and two other buyers, usually helped unfoil the mess the other buyer made when working with inventory. Very good Buy Com team.
Pros
location, usually fun days at work
Cons
salary and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intresting
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  IndianaJuly 19, 2017
It was a fun upbeat place to work with kind team members who made you feel right at home and helped when needed. Very dedicated people to working for the same common goal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ehh
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Hendersonville, NCJuly 19, 2017
Jcpenney was extremely competitive. The management was alright, not the best. Did not give good attention to associates, or seem to care. Breaks were short, and store was always very slow.
Pros
breaks discount
Cons
benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay work experience
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edina, MNJuly 19, 2017
I would manage 50+ sales a shift. I also Interacted with customers and assisted them to have a great experience. I also had to make sure the sales floor and dressing rooms stayed clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place culture
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Ridgeland, MSJuly 19, 2017
Environment is fair easy to learn and experience new things. Easy develop and learn new skills and expand career goals. Management team loves to see an individual reach their goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, really enjoyed the experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Baltimore County, MDJuly 19, 2017
Learned a lot about different cultures, nothing really hard about the job . Easy work good money , but hours became tight. Great employees amazing general manager!
Cons
Tight hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Real easy for college students.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FLJuly 19, 2017
Most certainly recommend working in retail for college students. It's slow enough to where you could do homework as well as work and also the hours are good! not getting home too late like restaurants.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
JCPenney Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNJuly 18, 2017
I liked working there. I learned so much I could have been asdistant manager but never got the opportunity.I loved my job and always put the customers in a good mood.
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Wanted me to work too many hours. Im on ssdi
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not really a place to be having fun.
Sorter Operator (Current Employee) –  Statesville, NCJuly 18, 2017
It's an good place to work, but the way they pay employee's that have been there for 5plus years and some that's been there for less than 6months is disturbing.. Unfair especially when you work your hardest to push garments out.
Pros
N/a
Cons
2... 15mins. And 1.... 30min break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work but stressful at times
Fine Jewelry Customer Service expert (Current Employee) –  Woodland, CAJuly 18, 2017
customers are extremely nice but management needs some help they are not always on the same page and is confusing at times who to listen to. overall its still not so bad to work their.
Pros
works well with student schedules
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 13,284 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7