Find companies:
JCPenney
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,927 reviews

JCPenney Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completed my Internship.
Furniture & Luggage Selling Specialist (Former Employee), Muskegon, MIDecember 17, 2014
Pros: staying busy.
Cons: hours.
Working in retail sales and how to sell big ticket items. The hardest part of the job was the hours you work. The most enjoyable was how many people you help everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace environment
Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee), New York City and Fayetteville North CarolinaDecember 17, 2014
Pros: free to help customers using your own discretion
Cons: hard to move upward
Being with jcpenney for over a year in 2 different cities has helped me tremendously, I dealt with over 100 different people very day including coworkers which are great people to work with, very helpful and informant my supervisor and store manager were very hands on and they worked with me instead of throwing orders my way. The most enjoyable part – more... of the job was the customers learning about them and their everyday lives as well as likes and dislikes. The hardest part of the job was making sure everyone was satisfied – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate/Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Brunswick, GADecember 16, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, amazing management
Cons: none really
I go into work and immediately clock in, and head to my quadrant for my shift. when I get there I either jump on a register, or start putting go backs up, and clean the fitting rooms. Through out the day I greet customers, assisting them with anything they may need help with.I may do a return, exchange, or process an order here or there. At the end – more... of my shift I count down my registers, and clock out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
credit cards
Recovery Loan Processor (Former Employee), Dallas, TXDecember 16, 2014
worked on assigned loans. made outbound collections calls and received inbound calls
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
thankless job that pays poorly
Department Supervisor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 15, 2014
ungrateful customers, employees, and management. terrible hours and poor hourly wages, regardless of how long you've been there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work concurrent with education
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Horseheads, NYDecember 15, 2014
Pros: employee engagement
A typical day at work included greeting and assisting customers at point-of-sale operations. Most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with customers on a day to day basis. Working retail was a great opportunity and starting point while I was attending classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Employment Experience
Jewelry Sales Associate (Former Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYDecember 14, 2014
Working at the JC Penney in my area was probably the worst employment I've ever experienced. I've worked there for a year and at first it was okay. The people in my dept. were pretty cool and so was the manager. It was the only time throughout my employment there that I felt part of a team. That didn't last at all. Probably my biggest issue there was – more... the previous HR manager. Due to confidentiality and respect, I'll leave names out. She was notorious for having a nasty attitude and talking down to associates. I attempted to speak to her once in regards to a scheduling mishap and I got nothing but rudeness and sarcasm in return. Because of this, I never felt comfortable voicing my concerns or problems. Yes, there were "department managers" but they didn't have much authority. There were often problems with the schedule, which she and the assistant HR manager were responsible for, but whenever they were confronted about it, both would deny making the schedule. The environment was almost always harsh and unwelcoming. Associates and managers were miserable which was clear when they all started quitting left and right if they weren't losing their jobs. Even our store manager was terminated. The store was always short staffed which resulted in long lines, angry customers and a loss of business. There was no such thing as privacy or confidentiality within those walls. Both managers and associates gossiped heavily. There was an extreme lack of professionalism in the workplace. The company itself isn't in good shape. There was absolutely no room for growth there. From my short year of working there, I've seen about 6 management positions open and each time the HR manager hired people from outside sources, when we knew there were qualified associates who applied for the positions. I know associates who quit after years of working there for not being able to advance within the company. I think that's also what caused a lot of the problems there. Lastly, I'll say that some good did come out of me working there. I learned the pros and cons, mainly the cons about management and working in lower end retail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved giving advice and seeing it manifest in fashion
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKDecember 13, 2014
Pros: helping customers with style choices
Cons: short breaks
I was optimistic and optimism followed, customers always gravitated towards me for assistance and advice. I was always willing and eager to provide them with what they needed. I learned a lot about sizing, color palettes, floor displays, appealing to the customer by being myself. I developed a few friendships with a few co-workers that also attended – more... my church so I enjoyed working with them for the most part. The hardest part of working at JcPenney was being on my feet all day and by the time I would get home it would be time to soak them for relieve. I mainly enjoyed the diversity of working there with so many different people and learning from them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 1st job experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Waldorf, MDDecember 13, 2014
A typical day was completing cash transactions while also stocking shelves and greeting customers. I also transported purchases to customers cars. I learned how to pleasantly interact with customers and also learned how to handle money. My co-workers were very nice and pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Artistic Lead Designer (Former Employee), Dallas, TXDecember 12, 2014
Love working of this company. Lots of room for advancemt and training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Vienna, WVDecember 12, 2014
Pros: great supervisors
Cons: not enough working hours
Productive working environment, great customers and supervisors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work for and the people are pleasant
Loss Prevention Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 12, 2014
A typical day at work consists of watching the CCTV screens in search of shoptlifters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management was fair
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chesterfield, MIDecember 12, 2014
The management was OK but the team was divided and selfish. The co workers constantly gossiped about other workers. the management was ok but did not understand how to connect with with co-workers. The boredom on the job is real.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviornment
Loss Prevention Manager (Former Employee), Taunton, MADecember 11, 2014
Pros: schedule, my team
Cons: benefits were poor and career advancement.
JC Penney was a great company to work for however there is little to no career pathing within the organization especially in Loss Prevention. I did manage the LP department in a lower volume Penney store which allowed for me to enhance my business acumen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace , with friends
JCPenney sales associate (Former Employee), Tampa,flDecember 11, 2014
I learned how to color coordinate clothes , fold clothes and learned great customer service skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
casual atmosphere for the most part, must like being customer oriented regardless of what is said to you!
Seasonal Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), 245 St Clair Square, Fairview Hts, IL 62208December 10, 2014
Pros: 25% off discount
Cons: short breaks, no raises, horrible schedules, very low selection for any type of benefits.
Learning the ropes about cash registering, brands of merchandise, as well as certain ways to fold clothing were a few things that I learned. Co-workers were friendly. Hardest part of the job was tolerating rude customers and the words they would spew at you for no reason at all. (ex: not happy with the prices, selections-things out of my control). Mental – more... strength gained indefinitely-met some really great people though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Part Time
Visual Specialist (Former Employee), Tracy, CADecember 10, 2014
Pros: work independently, and immediate satisfaction when a task is complete
Cons: lower on pay scale
I worked as a Visual Specialist and found my constant duties enjoyable. Keeping things up to date and new look can be exciting and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, very active workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sterling Heights, MIDecember 10, 2014
Pros: fre lunches, discounts
Cons: after back to school season it slowed down especially after christmas.
I worked in sales and it was always busy in the shoe department. You are a assigned and A.O.R (area of responsibility and it is up to you to make sure that area is in tact and organized. They're are great perks like discounts and free lunches. The manager at the time was fun and innovative. It was a cool place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience in retail
Customer Service Associate/ Cosmetics Department (Former Employee), Hato Rey, PRDecember 10, 2014
A very happy good environment, just appropriate for achieving great customer service. Employees always look to have enjoy work while never forgetting to achieve personal sales goals.
Great teamwork and always United for good causes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phones
CALL-CENTER- CUSTOMER SERVICE REP (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VADecember 9, 2014
Pros: extra hours
Cons: company moved over seats
This was my first real job, and it was nice. I loved the fact that we could pick up as many hours as we wanted. I didn't know my co workers well because we all spent most of the time on the phone. I learned to use multi computers. The hardest part was keeping in mind how sensitive credit card information was via phone. The hardest part was when they – more... decided to mover the jobs over seas. I enjoyed the job overall. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About JCPenney

A century-old name in retailing, J. C. Penney is reinventing itself to modernize its iconic but sagging department store business. – Read more