JCPenney Employee Reviews

Found 12,326 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and job, horrible management
Restock Associate (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAMay 28, 2017
Management was not hands on and rejected supervisors that were. Typical day was nonexistent as tasks varied widely. Workplace was fun and I looked forward to going into work daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company going downhill, managers don't care about employees.
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 28, 2017
The company has been struggling, and the employees are feeling the effects. Upper management doesn't care about their needs or wants and expects everyone there to uproot and change their lives on a whim.
Pros
Competitive pay, benefits from day one.
Cons
Benefits don't cover much, managers threaten you daily, don't care about you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started at the top. They dropped me to the bottom.
Merchandise Associate (Current Employee) –  Burlington, NCMay 28, 2017
Started at the company as a Supervisor. But due to cutbacks not only did they lower pay but they told me I was at MAX pay. But still expected same work. Still carried keys, closed/opened the store. I do my job and I do it well. But I know more can be done than the company is letting on. Which is why I'm looking for employment elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Supervisor/ Leader (Former Employee) –  Nashua, NHMay 28, 2017
I don't have anything negative to say I got laid off I would still be employed their if I did not, \\Pay was good customers were great, Time off . shared the hours with other leaders.. every other week end off.
Pros
people
Cons
I got laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unprofessional and rude co-workers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMay 27, 2017
I've only been there a month and decided to just quit, the girls were so mean i felt bad asking questions because most of them would just ignore me...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job as a sixteen year old
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 27, 2017
It was my very first job and I was working in the women's department. I started in the summer and continued through the fall semester. It was a fun first job!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
asks alot of you and draining
Lead Operations Accociate (Current Employee) –  Hammond, LAMay 27, 2017
pay is okay but the company ask a lot of you but does very little for you. management is horrible ive been with the company a little over two years and have been through 4 GMs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent opportunity for shoppers to find clothing at a reasonable price
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMay 27, 2017
I enjoyed working at JCP for almost 7 years. I was given the chance to be a supervisor over training. I appreciate the opportunity to advance when I wanted.I enjoyed helping people find clothing for special occasions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAMay 27, 2017
I like that after my office sitting all day job, I get to walk around do projects around the store to showcase it for every season event. I enjoy having diversity in the coworkers
Pros
associate discount
Cons
unknow hours on holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good job
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Bay City, MIMay 27, 2017
I personally had problems with the management at this location but right after I left most of them were removed. the job itself was a good job and I loved the benefits.
Pros
good discount with great team work
Cons
not always having enough staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier and Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Kendall, FLMay 26, 2017
it was a place where you can learn thing and deal with customers, the job was a place where we all got along and enjoyed the work place and had breaks threw out the day
Pros
none
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAMay 26, 2017
Enjoyed assisting the customers in selecting the right outfit for a certain occasion and receiving a pleasant response of Thank you for you help. The staff and other workers were pleasant work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are a people person
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mattoon, IL 61938May 26, 2017
JC Penney was a great place to work. I enjoy working with the public and helping people. Management at the store were great. The only problem was it was only part-time and would never grow into a full time position. I need a full time job with some benefits like vacations and holidays off.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work.
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Arcadia, CAMay 26, 2017
I enjoyed working for JC. Penny's. The team I worked with were very nice women. I really enjoyed working with people. I worked at night and it was very busy but I enjoy the fast pace. My time would fly by.
Pros
Employees received 25% to 50% off the items in the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful with customers and other supervisor complaining all the time
Human Resources Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Morgan, COMay 26, 2017
Merchandising Supervisor was allowed to sit in stock room and watch everyone around her unload the truck. I was hired to be the Human Resources Supervisor and was changed to Operations Supervisor within 6 mos. This apparently was common practice and had occurred multiple times before I was hired.
Pros
Associate Discount
Cons
Expensive insurance, unbalanced workload.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Manager (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXMay 26, 2017
I learned a lot in all the years I was employed. It is a big company. Sometimes you get lost in the crowd. Always be your own advocate for career growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Salem, ORMay 26, 2017
Salem center Jcpenney is not a good place to work. It is very unorganized. The store always looks bad. Worse then any store I have seen. Most sales associates are lazy and place go backs on any and whatever rack they want. The managers don't do anything at all. They all sit in their offices, fall asleep at their desks, or take a 2 hour lunch. I got treated like a dog and got paid NOTHING for what I was worth. I wouldn't recommend Jcpenney to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
clerk (Former Employee) –  sunrise flMay 26, 2017
I love my time over there just wish it wasn't a seasonal job. I have learn a lot and it helps to grow and be better for the future. I hope to have another opportunity soon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needed a gut check
Jewelry Specialist/ Shoe Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTMay 26, 2017
great place to work until johnson became CEO. Cut our logistics chain and staffing big time. tied our hands taking care of customers.
Shoe dept was a great place to work when we had the shoes in stock.
Pros
great break room
Cons
bad supply chain
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very well orgenized place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMMay 26, 2017
lots of new ideas one can get and work with.
friendly environment.
good people,
clean place to work and safe.
easy company to move up the success latter.
Pros
fun time to work
Cons
good schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12,364 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7