Find companies:
JCPenney
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,640 reviews

JCPenney Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun palce to work
seasonal sales associate (Former Employee), woodland caSeptember 4, 2014
Cons: short breaks
I would get to jcpenny help cashiers if they were behind on putting the cloths back to the floor. cover breaks stay in register for about an hour or two depending on how busy the day was. went back to floor ask customers if they need help finding something. took a break and them do the previous again until my shift ended.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Olympia, WASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: friendly, bubbly, hardworking people.
Cons: not much help when working alone and it's a busy day.
When entering the establishment, summaries of goals and sales accomplishments for each department is established. Entering the sales floor, fitting rooms and customer service at registers are done continuous. Management very nice and pleasant fellows. The co-workers are bubbly and genuine. The only dificulty is accomplishing recover and fitting room – more... cleaned to standards when working a department to yourself without other coworkers helping. Everyone in this establishment is very nice and a joy to work with, they're job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Support (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: fun team work
Cons: loss of hours when new management came in
Monday through Friday, this job started at seven am. Myself and the sales support team were responsible for unloading new merchandise off shipment trucks and dispersing the merchandise throughout the store to it's proper location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paste sometime slows down through the year
Shipping and Receiving Temp (Former Employee), Wauwatosa, WISeptember 4, 2014
Pros: learning about different products
Cons: poor management
Loaded and unloaded trucks of merchandise
co-workers were very helpful
best part of the job was learning about different products
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ive been waiting on this opportunity.
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Aventura, FLSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: 1 hour lunch, awesome store events, some amazing associates
Cons: if you are part time you have no benefits at all, in store problems are not handled by corporate head office, rude management
I can ONLY speak for the store in which I was employed. I learned a lot while working there about retail, clothing, customer service and being a strong person. With this store it isn't a team effort. The team effort is established between only associates that love their job.With that being said, you genuinely have to love what you do to be able to get – more... through a day. Most but not all of the management IS horrible. having a upset customer and having to wait for a extended period of time before someone even calls. I had some amazing co-workers and some that only cared for themselves. Whereas I wanted to make the store a comfortable and clean area to shop and also work not everyone cared the same. All some management and co-workers cared for were credit card applications and customer service. The way I viewed it is that if you have a clean and put together environment to shop associates would not have such a hard time convincing if the customers fall in love with the store and the clothing itself. Unfortunately on multiple occasions I was told to stop cleaning up the sales floor and try to get credit applications. The hardest part of my job was the fact that I loved this job and I worked very hard at every task that was given to me but some management ARE very rude, disrespectful, not understanding, and could care less for the people that drive the sales at the end of the day they just want to know that it was reached. I almost broke down and cried a couple of times because it became unbearable. The most enjoyable thing about y job was having some of the best people working with me to keep my spirits up and have my back. The great part of the management team were there when they were needed, handled situations quick and efficiently and always used "please and thank you". I love helping people and making sure they leave the establishment with a smile and a shopping bag but from my personal experience I don't ever want to work in retail again because of how I got treated at this particular job. There are way more CONS than PROS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt like working there
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Murfreesboro, TNSeptember 3, 2014
Didn't like working for the company wouldnt go back. They dont care about there employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jcpenny.
Costumer Service (Former Employee), Victor, NYSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: the managers, the boss'
A typical day at Jcpenny would involve me coming into work and heading to my certain department. I would put away any items left out and clean up. I would also help costumers. I learned to stay calm with crazy costumers. The management sucked. Most of my co-workers were very nice and I liked them. The hardest part of my job is the rude part. The most – more... enjoyable time was breaks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highlight of the day was making customer's happy!
Department Supervisor - Women's Apparel (Current Employee), Anderson, SCSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: the customer!
Cons: working weekends and holidays
Developed and trained direct reports to create an inviting customer experience. To develop customer relations for life. Trained reports to meet daily sales goals and levers, such as credit.
Learned corporate compliance and hierarchical management.
Learned a lot from store and district management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced, nice coworkers
Credit Sales (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNSeptember 3, 2014
JC Penney was a great first job and I learned a lot from working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Elizabeth City Nc bad management buzz is nice
stylist (Former Employee), Elizabeth city ncSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: insurance
Cons: no pay & no buisness
No buisness at this salon store 7.25 an hour salon manager doesn't even do hair very slow
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 1, 2014
i enjoyed working for this company, i think the management could of been ran better
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family oriented with a style
sales associate replenishment team (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: every so often we would get free lunch, had electric griddle in lunch room
Cons: short breaks, at times no breaks for several hours
On a typical day I would come in and unload the truck early in the morning with the other girls. Organize merchandise onto carts and racks as per area they were going to.
We got the merchandise out and continued onto pick lists.

Management was great, friendly and wonderful. Always there to lend an ear when you needed it.

My co workers were not as – more... great as I had thought originally. They happened to be very cliquish with each other. That part I did not like. The great part was that we all ate lunch together. I would make coffee in the early morning and we would get started.

The hardest part of the job was pushing denim carts. I continually injured my wrist pushing them.

The most enjoyable part of the job was getting off early in the day to spend time with my family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work great discounts.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Douglasville, GASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: yes free lunches & discount everything in the store.
Cons: busy, busy.
Great working with the company,good co-workers.
Hardest part of the jobs working with figures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Seasonal Team Member (Former Employee), Victorville, CAAugust 31, 2014
Working fast food is a great place to get your feet wet in the working feild. Working for this company has helped me to deal with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JC Peeny has Very good co-worker and mangers.
Customer Service Specialist Job (Former Employee), Freehold ,njAugust 31, 2014
Pros: very good working conditions.
Cons: no pay rise in 4 years.
JC Penny is a very good company to work for.
Sale Manager and my supervisor was very professional.
Overall Rating is very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Associate (Former Employee), Plano, TXAugust 31, 2014
The company has hard working leadership and a fun place to work. I enjoy the people around me and the job I do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my job
Home Department/Furniture Sales Associate (Former Employee), Beavercreek, OHAugust 30, 2014
they employes were hard to work with and it wasent the best pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fayetteville NCAugust 30, 2014
Good job for teenagers in high school or anybody who like just a job on the side
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with helpful employees
Visual Specialist (Current Employee), Frisco, TXAugust 29, 2014
A typical day would include reporting to the store leader and visual manager for tasks and/follow up with current projects and checking emails. I am responsible for inventory management, and maintaining excellent visual appearance in my department. I update and replenish certain merchandise, perform tests on merchandise, insure designs are consistent – more... with the company direction while providing excellent customer service. The creativity and the customer experience is what I enjoy most about working with JCPenney. I also have the opportunity to work with great co-workers who are extremely helpful, fun to work with and provide guidance when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Glendale, CAAugust 29, 2014
I learned how to do many different things in a typical days work. Mostly how to work with customers and find their needs, how i can make their day a better one by just smiling and helping them find what they need. Management is great here they take the time to show you how things get done and they show how much they care by putting time int what they – more... do. The hardest part of the job was not being able to work full time. My most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work with people from various group ages. – less

About JCPenney

A century-old name in retailing, J. C. Penney is reinventing itself to modernize its iconic but sagging department store business. – Read more