JCPenney Employee Reviews

Found 12,915 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical sales associate job
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAJune 19, 2017
Typical sales associate job in retail. Had a great team to work with. They just didnt cooperate with my school schedule which is the reason I left this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
HR Manager (Former Employee) –  Lewisville, TXJune 19, 2017
It was a good company and good people, they do try to make it a fun place. listen and try to respond. I really enjoyed my time there. The company I hope is turning around
Pros
good people and discounts
Cons
poor training with managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so good
Merchandising Associate (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 19, 2017
This was one of the roughest jobs I've ever had. Its way to much to even explain. The whole company is having hard ships which makes it very hard to want to stay working there because there is no job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work at very friendly
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  El Dorado, ARJune 19, 2017
I loved working there I was sad to have to leave since I was holiday help. I would love to go back. Coworkers are very friendly at JCPenney's and they try to help you when you are a new hire and may not understand the task at hand.I
Pros
Great break times friendly co-workers helping customers find clothing
Cons
Having to fold clothes definitely
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JC penney
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJune 19, 2017
This was my favorite job as a teenager, I love all of my managers and learned a lot during my time working in both the children's and young men's department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 19, 2017
This care management agency really takes good care of its clients. It was a pleasure to be associated with them. I would work with them again. I feel like they are friends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cypress, TXJune 19, 2017
Management not so great.
Short breaks
Pay isn't enough for what you deal with
have to have customer service
When I first started I love it and love my coworkers but as everyone started to leave it got bad.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salon
Master Stylist Educator (Former Employee) –  Merced, CAJune 19, 2017
Good place to work for new upcoming stylist great training. Management is encouraging and supportive. The store and salon Have great customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chula Vista, CAJune 19, 2017
I really enjoyed working at JC Penny, great co-workers and good schedule. It was close to my home so that was even better for me. It was a great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail was fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 19, 2017
I started as a seasonal and they decided to keep me on the job. The managers are awesome and not too far away for when you need, cause you will need them for those customers, haha.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Merchandise Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Forestville, MDJune 19, 2017
fair place to work and get the money. good team work and store is in good shape
some days are harder then a lot others but you get the work done day by day from an associate to a manager in a years times it was not easy
Pros
discounts healt plans reasonablle schudle
Cons
pay, and some unrully customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good seasonal occupation
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJune 19, 2017
This job was a good retail experience, helping customers & seeing how you affected you're job in a positive way by helping customers find a holiday gift & learning how to keep up with a store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy, very aggressive guests
Sales Associate/Men's Department (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 19, 2017
workplace is great. Never a dull moment
product knowledge is key. A typical day at jcpennys is planning for the next sales. getting ready for the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome place to work.
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Reynoldsburg, OHJune 19, 2017
The training is very extensive so it prepares you for when you actually start working. You learn how to calm down frustrated customers that call in. They also teach you to use their software. There is always some one there to help you if you need it. They are willing to work with school schedules as well.
Pros
Great training, flexible schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Balanced
OPS (Former Employee) –  Union Gap, WAJune 19, 2017
I would love to talk about my experience and opinion of this job with a representative of your company face to face. Thank you for your time and consideration.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to have your first job
JCPenney Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAJune 18, 2017
I worked at jcp fo about 6-7 months and I can honestly say it was a great experience that I had. It was a good first job. I liked the associate discount and the pay was good. There were always chances to pick up extra shifts to get more money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXJune 18, 2017
Honestly, if you love retail it's a great company with great discounts. The store I worked in however, was just a overall horrible environment to work in. New management came in this year and I can honestly say, I would love to work here again, but never with the management they have now. They only look out for themselves and they never listen to what associates have to say. They give horrible raises, if any at all, and it's so hard to grow because it's all about favoritism. The store is so understaffed, and a mess everywhere you look. If you decide to work in this store, you're in for a crazy ride.
Pros
Nice coworkers, great discounts.
Cons
Management is horrible, understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, NEJune 18, 2017
fun place to work with amazing people. typical customers that you have to deal with. You get awesome training and the staff is always eager to help you out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Job
Team Expert (Current Employee) –  Manchester, CTJune 18, 2017
JCP is a very rewarding job you are indirectly dealing with associates making sure their clothing is intact before they go to the stores. Very busy place but productive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Detroit Lakes, MNJune 18, 2017
I enjoyed working for JCP. a great company to work for. They respect their employees and retirees! I think a lot of that. They were willing to work with my schedule needs.
Pros
discount on purchases
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JCPenney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12,957 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7