Jefferson County, CO Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep looking stay away from the JCSO
Deputy Sheriff (Former Employee) –  Golden, COJune 3, 2017
Jefferson County SO is a department you will regret applying with. Poor staffing, huge turn over, mismanaged, lowest paid SO for its size and a unprofessional command staff. JCSO runs a good police academy. This department is a good place to go to get POST certified and go to a better more progressive department.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Intake Specialist (Former Employee) –  Golden, CoMay 24, 2017
Got my first job through this agency. It was a great first start however i worked the night shift. I received adequate training and support from my supervisors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant II
Admnistrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 25, 2017
A typical day at work was always busy. I learned a lot about taxes. There was nothing hard about the job. We waited on customers and mailed out tax notices as well as received them in. The office is an open work space. The most enjoyable part about the job was working with the customers.
Pros
Co worker lunchoens
Cons
breaks were right behind each other and were assigned by the supervisor, The breaks schedule did not work because we worked with customers, management did not like it when we went to break late
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Arvada, COFebruary 19, 2017
Great job. Love my job. People are not treated fairly. Pay is at poverty level. If your sick, you get in trouble for using sick pay that you have earned. Medical benefits are awesome.
Pros
working with kids
Cons
sick time
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well done.
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Hillsboro, MOFebruary 16, 2017
Supervise offenders in a correction setting. Report writing, safety/security of staff and facilities.Work place culture is typical given the career field. 2 hour shifts most difficult part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Case manager (Former Employee) –  Golden, COFebruary 4, 2017
Have never witnessed such poor management and blatant disregard for employees, so bad an entire department quit and human resources didn't seem to find that unusual. Employees forced to leave, passive aggressive mngt., just horrible. I wouldn't work there again for all the money in the world, life is too short.

*This just may apply to my specific department*
Pros
Consistant hours
Cons
Raises stopped YEARS ago, closed door policy, unprofessional upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic administion great professional development
Special Populations Outreach Librarian (Former Employee) –  Lakewood COJanuary 3, 2016
The Special Population Librarian requires 5 positions in one. You will be required to work late evenings, weekends, and with no flex time. Did I mention that they provide excellent professional development! Make sure you do the job right the first time with no errors. You will be required to visit and maintain the Spanish collection at 10 different libraries. The hardest part of the job is working with administrators. Not all administrators are this way there are many who care passionately about their staff. If you interview here make sure to ask why the turnover rate is so high. The best part of the library is the staff. The staff work tirelessly to bring positive experiences to patrons. Make sure to observe and ask questions.
Pros
Professional Development and Staff
Cons
Administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation low, management old school
Budget Analyst (Former Employee) –  Courts and Admin BuildingJuly 1, 2015
The county is behind on wages and investment in employees. In addition, Human Resources is not for the employees and difficult to deal with. Management at all levels is lacking in skill sets. There is no room for advancement within certain departments.
Pros
Nice walking tails
Cons
pay, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jeffco going downhill.
Casemanager (Former Employee) –  Golden, COMarch 23, 2015
Underpaid and mismanaged. With no raises in 6 years, vast amounts of quality personnel retreating to higher paying counties, who would want to work here? The commissioners are cheap skates and retention is horrible.
Not worth the effort. Go work for Denver and get paid thousands more!
Pros
Nice area to live in
Cons
Underpaid, mismanaged, low retention
Was this review helpful?Yes 73No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jefferson County Review
VMware/Cisco UCS/ Windows Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  Golden, COMay 29, 2013
Cisco UCS/Design and Management
VMware Design and Management
Disaster Recovery Design
DMZ Design including VMware vShield
Microsoft 2008 Active Directory Administration
VMware VDI Proof Of Concept Design & Implementation
Negotiate Hardware/Software VMware/Cisco UCS purchases & maintenance agreements
Pros
Consistently Working With Newest Technologies
Cons
Salary Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 50Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jefferson County, CO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.3
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
2.4
Job Security/Advancement
1.7
Management
1.7
Culture
2.0

Jefferson County, CO Reviews by Location