JEFFERSON HOSPITAL Employee Reviews

Showing all 38 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees and great place to work
Executive Secretary to the Controller (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 17, 2017
I loved achieving success in starting out as a secretary in a typing pool and advancing to executive secretary of the controller of the hospital.

I enjoyed going to budget meetings with the president and vice president and my boss, the controller.

I liked reviewing the budgets with them and giving my opinions.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace filled with teamwork and strong communication.
Environmental assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlestown, WVDecember 17, 2016
Knowing that you have made someone's day a little easier with just a few kind words makes everything worth while. There are times in the hospital environment that you will see extreme tragedy and grief. That combined with long overnight hours can be taxing. Overall the rewards out weigh the hard times.
Pros
Continued opportunity to learn, friendly environment, supportive nursing staff, great food at all hours in the cafeteria
Cons
Working the overnight shift is hard to become accustomed to.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exercise Physiologist
Exercise Physiologist (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 21, 2016
Very shady tactics from management. Underpaid while having a masters degree, when other therapy depts have lesser degrees and are paid more.
Pros
Easy experience
Cons
Managment will not help you
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place of employment
Assistant Food Service Director (Former Employee) –  Ranson, WVAugust 28, 2016
I loved working in a hospital setting. I started out as a dietary aide, then moved up to desk clerk, then supervisor and finally as assistant food service director. I learned so much while employed there from diets to being a team player. I had fantastic co-workers and management was great. The hardest part of the job was all the cleaning procedures to ensure that the hospital dietary dept was up to code for state and Osha inspections, but we worked as a team to continuously keep everything up to par and we never feared a "surprise" inspection or audit. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting patients and providing them with #1 service and satisfaction.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
organized work place
Medical Triage (Current Employee) –  Delran, NJAugust 20, 2016
I love to work for this company, It's a great part time job , I learn a lot following the doctors and learning more medical terminology and updated new medicine and I love to learn and help patients and staff in the best way that I can. I get along with all my co-workers, we work as a team. My manager is awesome. There is no hard part of my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
room for advancement
RN (Current Employee) –  Stockdale, PAJuly 27, 2016
It can be difficult to get started in advancing up the ladder of administration. Once in though your chances are pretty good to move forward. Everyone works together well. I found it easy toward with other departments. Everyone is friendly to patients and their families and are willing to help anyone.
Pros
friendly atmosphere to work
Cons
not always enough staff to cover beds
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely environment and very safe and organized
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 1, 2016
i love being volunteering in this organization because i met with many different hard patients and i know how to deal with them .I like the environment because its very safe and quite ,the staffs are very professional and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job of being caretaker and treatthem as myown
Senior Companion RETIRED LPN (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, PAJune 25, 2016
Was great place to work I am a trained lpn in rehab was trained on my off time at the old harmarville and st francsis hospital my schooling was at alegheny general hospital 6 months and west penn hospital 6 motnhs typical day at work as assesing patient then giving there medication assit in drsg pt bath and showers done on 3-11 assit with partial am care most of all patience death of a loved one always made patient as they were my own family was the deth of a patient enjoyable was ex stroke patine getting to go home assiting family how to take of there loved one made sure all outside facilities available for them to call to see each and every patient trying no matter how hard the joy od someone relearning simple skills re speaking
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Certified Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 7, 2016
Jefferson is very busy but a wonderful place to work ,everyone is so friendly and they love what they do . I give Jefferson Hospital a 10 in all they do because of their hard work and dedication.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Staff Nurse
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Pleasant Hills, PAMarch 18, 2016
Perform duties associated with patient care on a Progressive Coronary Care Unit. These duties include care for open heart patient and heart attack patients, such as preforming EKG, maintaining chest tubes, and surgical wound care. Perform task associated with Electronic medical record superuser such as assist staff with documentation education.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go elsewhere
Staff Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 24, 2016
Don't walk away from this opportunity... RUN !! Run as far and as fast as you can !! Current management team is immature, inexperienced, and inept. I would suggest taking your hard earned four year degree elsewhere for a more rewarding and meaningful employment experience.
Pros
Cheap Parking
Cons
Benefit implementation is nonexistent
Was this review helpful?Yes21No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work place
Linen Worker (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 24, 2015
Had a real good time working there just had a problem with the union. I got along with everyone in the hospital. just a good all around experience.
Pros
Cafeteria at work
Cons
needs better upper chain of command
Was this review helpful?Yes3No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant
Patient Representative lll (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 18, 2015
Highly competitive with other departments. A little bit of red tape and politics ,but that is expected anywhere. Co-workers nice and pleasant.
Pros
workers
Cons
support
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, liberal and caring.
Accounting Technician, A/P (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VASeptember 24, 2015
Friendly people, eager to teach, learned how to place orders for Hospital supplies. Leaving one department going to another was hard.
Pros
Friendliness of Doctors and Nurses who knew you by name.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace, great co-workers.
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Louisville, GAJune 24, 2015
Typical work day is 6am-2pm (pharmacy); Pharmacy management is great, but overall hospital leadership is lacking; Great, cooperative co-workers; most enjoyable part of the job is the small town, "family like" environment
Pros
Close to home, flexible schedule
Cons
Not a good outlook for the future of the hospital
Was this review helpful?Yes6No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and a positive environment to work
Medical Records Specialist (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 8, 2015
My position at jefferson hospital was a fun and a positive environment to work around. My managers and co-workers were friendly and positive .
Was this review helpful?Yes5No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
administrative assistant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 19, 2015
MONDAYS/WEDNESDAYS/FRIDAYS
7:30-8:30
• Check phone (Voicemail)
• Turn on copy machine
• Input STAR Data
• Address early morning clients/co- workers
• Update Attendance board
8:30-10:30
• Covert front desk when needed
• Sort paperwork
• Attach paperwork together by last name
• Sort file stick
• Dispense paperwork into the correct file bin
• Print Record Of Service and also put into clients profile (Chart)
10:30-12:30
• Cover PCC when needed
• File paperwork for assigned clients in date order
• Record Urine Drug screen in date order
12:30-1:30 LUNCH
1:30-4:00
• Continue filing
• Prepare copy of Dr.Serota appointments for receptionist
• Prepare Medical charts for the next day appointments
• Prepare and organize paperwork for medical appointments

TUESDAYS &THURSDAYS
7:30-8:30
• Log onto STAR and input data
• Check phone (voicemail)
• Address early morning clients (also co-workers)
• Update Attendance board
• Check in Dr.Serota clients
8:30-10:30
• Cover front desk when needed
• Cover PCC when needed
• Sort CIS OP client sign in forms from IOP CIS client sign in forms
• Sort Op individuals from OP groups
• Sort IOP individuals IOP groups
• Put both OP and IOP CIS forms in both date order and also month order
• Sort MSP CIS forms both GROUPS and Individuals
10:30-12:30
• Enter data into system better known as M.A.T.E.R
1. First OP groups
2. Second IOP groups
3. Thirdly OP individuals
4. Lastly IOP individuals
12:30-1:30 LUNCH
1:30-3:30
• Continue to insert information into the system
• Put away all OP groups and OP individuals into
  more... box
• Put away away all IOP groups and IOP individuals into box
3:30-4:00
• Put away charts
• Put away paperwork
• Organize charts
  less
Pros
Each day I learn something new
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes7No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All around wonderful hospital.
Internship Jefferson Regional Medical Center (Former Employee) –  Jefferson Hills, PAApril 29, 2015
Jefferson hospital was nice place to work. Supplies were always plentiful. The people were very nice. The whole experience great. The only set back was the hours. I had to be there at 4 am. It just got old after awhile.
Pros
nice people, hospital always had supplies and it was a great experience
Cons
4 am starting time.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student at TJU
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 9, 2015
Student at TJU for DPT program. Observed and Volunteered in Sub Acute setting. Worked under Physical Therapists treating TBI, SCI, CVA, and various neurological diseases.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Wonderful Environment
ER Communication Clerk (Former Employee) –  Louisville, GAJanuary 13, 2015
I loved my job at Jefferson Hospital. It was a great environment to work in and the people that worked with you didn't mind helping each other out.
Pros
Good money
Cons
It was just too far to drive everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes7No13Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JEFFERSON HOSPITAL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 38 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8