JELD-WEN, inc Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 24 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management challenges
Manager (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAOctober 8, 2015
Long hours are expected of managers
Little recognition
Challenging management that prefers to reprimand over coaching
Several long term manager unwilling to change and adapt to new ideas
Limited teamwork
No mobility
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Productive Workplace
production worker (Former Employee) –  kissimmeeSeptember 3, 2015
Normal day of work consist of group meetings everyday. Notifying everyone about the compliments, and goals that have been successfully met on the previous day. Then discussing how production, quality , cost, inventory ,and safety will be handle each and everyday. Always learning new things. Leads, Managers, Everyone on the Team is Awesome. The hardest part of the job is having a certain amount of time to finish your job position. Just to move to the next fast constant with also making sure quality, safety, and production is being handled an constant motion. But it is honestly the enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive, and competitive work environment
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Dubuque, IASeptember 1, 2015
This job was great cause of the incentive program. The more door skins we produce, the more money we make. Very competitive, and must have strong work ethic to last this job. Advancement was awarded to the hardest worker. I made it to the highest position available to me, in 3 years. Very fun place to work.
Pros
Great incentive and benefits package, growth is earned and rewarded. Complaints were handled professionally. Not alot of drama
Cons
We ran two, 12 hr shift, my shift was night shift (7pm-7am), that was hard to get use to (you actually never got use to it) but the experience was worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive atmosphere with a get it done attitude.
Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Stayton, ORAugust 30, 2015
I would show up at work and lead my line to finish the quota of windows needed for that day. i would do everything from welding the vinyl material, running the vinyl saws and assembling locks and stickers in appropriate locations, also bedded glass into vinyl frames. i would work inventory and also cut vinyl track and balances for the next days schedule.
Pros
very safety oriented with good benefits
Cons
poor communication and follow through
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Customer Interface Management
Corporate Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Klamath Falls, ORFebruary 28, 2015
Integral link in dealing with customer satisfaction. Provides the first contact with customers whom desire answers to questions, concerns or simple product discussions. Uses various telecommunication devices which include answering phones, chat and email. Learned to handle tough situations and difficult customers which constantly improved my customer service and office skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company going through ownership/management change on a regular schedule with no defined goals.
Non-Management (Current Employee) –  SW United StatesNovember 8, 2014
JELD-WEN is a company owned by an investment company, whose ultimate goal is to reap the largest financial benefit for their investment, is unable to find the balance between investing in needed technology and personnel needed to compete and stay competitive and their bottom line goals.

Large self imposed obstacles to personnel, corporate and technology advancement exist with management changing on a regular basis, stagnant pay, staff reductions and minimal investment create a less then positive culture.

'Management' title offers a great deal of protection from the consequences of decisions with the current environment offering plenty of excuses and room for finger-pointing while promoting broken internal processes.
Pros
ability to become a expert 'fire fighter' on a daily basis.
Cons
driven by management who has minimal understanding of manufacturing challanges.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assemble products
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Ocoee, FLJune 20, 2014
co-workers OK
management OK
good please but far away
no a/c
learn use of equipemt
Pros
benefits
Cons
fat away
Was this review helpful?Yes6No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management needs to learn how to properly train nehires
Bi-fold Door Builder (Former Employee) –  Grinnell, IAMarch 30, 2014
for some it may be an ideal place to work. managemnt doesn't stand behind there safety procedures. when your hired, they expect you to learn a new job, in as little as 5 minutes, when you've never done anything like that before.
Pros
steady work
Cons
only given a 10 minute break and a 20 minute break in a 12hrs shift
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regional Sales Rep
Regional Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNMarch 6, 2014
Regional sales rep for the south. Covered TN and KY. Lot of travel. Very challenging working with upper management. Lack of sales and door and window installation from the upper management make the final sale between my contractors and myself difficult. Coming in as an installer and previous Jeld-wen. employee I was unsatisfied with the position.
Pros
make own schedule
Cons
horrible regional manager
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are many good people that work here!
Marketing Program Administrator (Former Employee) –  Klamath Falls. ORFebruary 16, 2014
The employees are great to work with. The management can be a hit or miss, with some really great managers and some not so great. Overall, reasonable pay, good benefits, not a bad place to work.
Pros
good people
Cons
upper management not enaged with what is really going on with the people actually doing the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Advancement
Sales Rep (Current Employee) –  Klamath Falls, ORFebruary 12, 2014
Opportunities to advance within your sales territory without relocating are few and far between. Be ready to stay at your job position and pay for your entire career, if you remain with the company. Must enjoy the open road! Average driving per year is around 40-60k miles.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many hours/not enough pay
Group Manager (Former Employee) –  Vista, CANovember 23, 2013
The amount of work needed over the past 2 years has gotten out of control. The hours went from an average of 9-9 1/2 up to 10 1/2 - 12 including every other Saturday on average (sometimes working up to 3 or 4 Saturdays in a row) Weekends are often ruined because you are exhausted from the 60-70 hour work week and only want to stay at home. The pay was good for the first several years when working the 9-9/12 hour days and limited Saturdays, but was not even close to enough with the 60-70 hour work weeks. Co-workers were cool to work with, but some upper management not so. Always had to be looking over your shoulder as you were constantly micro-managed. A typical work day would start anywhere from 3:45-4:30am and end at 3:30-4:15pm, Mon-Sat. Night shift hours being 2pm until 2-4am, Mon-Sat. Each day with only a 30 minute lunch and inconsistent breaks sometimes not getting any. A typical day at work was I would come in and check a selection of emails, go to the production floor and ensure all employees were present as well as watch the line run for about 30 minutes. I would then check any additional emails that I had not checked. After this you would continually fire fight either machinery, shortage of glass, and/or material issues both getting material from a receiver and/or material outages. I would do quality audits and work on any current projects (safety, quality, efficiency). I learned how to micro-manage well. Hardest part of the job was both machine issues and grinding the employees to make the product faster.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
long hours and not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes24No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Entertaining Workplace
Regional Sales Rep. (Former Employee) –  Glenmoore, PANovember 14, 2013
Working for Jeld-Wen was the best opportunity I have had in a long time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, manufacturing and distribution environment.
Group Manager (Current Employee) –  Pataskala, OHOctober 15, 2013
Typical day involves diverting manpower to needed areas in order ship units in a timely manner. Days are generally varied in responsibilities with most of time spent on production floor interacting with employees. Work with 2-3 other floor managers with at total of near 100 hourly employees. Hardest part of my job is meeting production goals with both manpower and material shortages. The most enjoyable part is having the time to concentrate in one area and focus on process improvement. The satisfying part comes when your plan is realized and the amount or quality of production is visibly improved.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In need of management change
Production Employee (Current Employee) –  Vista, caSeptember 10, 2013
Management is horrible, a new process every week after previous one falls apart. GM comes down and stares at you, pm questions you like a child, no manager on line, coordinators don't address safety concerns. Hot work environment. Bribe workers to work on Sundays and don't hold true to promise. Advise to work elsewhere. Absolutely no time for personal or family. This place is in need of a structural change in management.
Pros
free water
Cons
long hours, always ot, saturdays, sundays. no line managers who know what's going on
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work if like hours
Salaried Manager (Current Employee) –  VTJuly 14, 2013
Work can be hectic and frantic at times. Sometimes long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Work
Group Manager (Current Employee) –  VTJuly 1, 2013
JELD-WEN is a great company to work for when things are going well. Too slow to adjust to moving targets and market conditions as everything is top down direction. Advancement is too hard, seniority is valued over competency.
Cons
management is treated like free labor due to being salary
Was this review helpful?Yes3No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedule.
Regional Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Riverview, FLApril 15, 2013
Maintaining a positive relationaship between The Home Depot and JELD-WEN, inc.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucks...worst I've ever worked for ...
service tech (Current Employee) –  ohioMarch 18, 2013
former field service tech... the tech's i've met I wouldn't hire.. they have no carpentry experience, very little knowledge of installation procedures......never was trained on anything... many places they use third parties for warranty service, third parties I met have never been personally interviewed, just emails and phone calls, not a good way to hire someone...especially when those are the same people who screwed up installs in the first place. Once in a while an email with a pdf of manufacture but nothing about the multitude of different products making product recognition and/or repair nearly impossible on the first visit. Management then sends u email or phone calls asking why it wasn't completed on first visit. Upper management micromanages like prison wardens the people in the field. Yet, when they, themselves make an error (wrong parts shipped, bad scheduling, saying they never receive faxes even when u have receipts that they were sent, I could go on forever) they laugh it off. Now everyone knows why they had to sell 80% ownership and new ownership hasn't chopped off the fat at the top. It is a bankrupt company, just a matter of time, a very short time.
I wouldn't install Jeld-wen products in my home if they gave them to me for free. Bad quality, service is a sham, that's when, and if, you're able to get someone to your home in a reasonable time. I would go to
JD Power and associates and look at window manufacturer's ratings if I was going to buy windows/doors. Jeld-wen ranks very low in EVERYTHING, as they should.
Pros
price, but you get what you pay for ... garbage
Cons
warranty service is is a waste of effort when you have issues....
Was this review helpful?Yes18No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pase clean safe work
Production Line Manager (Current Employee) –  Grinnell, IAMarch 13, 2013
fast pase clean safe work promotions for floor employees available
Was this review helpful?YesNo9

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture