Jet Propulsion Laboratory Employee Reviews

Showing all 48 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work. Campus type facility.
Electromechanical Technician/Contractor (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAOctober 29, 2015
Interesting and informative work place. research & development was the best part of employment. unique projects made work fun and challenging.
Pros
Working with Professors & Scientists.
Cons
Reduction of work force / lay-off
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A perfect place to work for
Senior CMM Programmer (Former Employee) –  Pasadena CAAugust 31, 2015
JPL is a NASA facility in Pasadena, CA. It's like a small city in the mountains with a Bank, ATMs, Restaurants, Stores and transportation to/from parking lot to workstation. Management is not the best but it's ok. The work experience is the best.
Pros
Good salary, exciting job.
Cons
Too much envy from colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Summer Intern (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAAugust 12, 2015
Great workplace, enjoyed the challenging work environment. Worked with celebrities of the academic world. Inspired to improve my capabilities to perfection.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Job
Sr. Staff Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAAugust 11, 2015
Fun & interesting company to work for. I enjoyed supporting the Safety Department.

I especially enjoyed working on the different projects. There is so much to do & see at JPL!
Pros
9 hr days with every other Friday off.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting projects, poor management
Software Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJuly 7, 2015
Very flexible work hours. Remote from home.
Laid back environment.
Minimal stress.
Very exciting, cutting-edge projects but my group was unorganized.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Postdoctoral Fellow/Scholar (Former Employee) –  Pasadena CAJune 20, 2015
Very flexible schedule, hard do collaborate or learn from the others. You learn from your progress or mistakes. From human point of view is a very sad place to work! You can not make real friends.
Pros
You can enjoy your work by using state of the art equipments
Cons
If you enjoy working on micro you'll be destroyed by macro demand.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great institute to work for. I really enjoyed working there.
Lead System Integration and Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJune 13, 2015
I have had opportunities to work on various assignments and projects.

Great people and learning experience. I would recommend it for anyone.
Pros
prestige and productive environment
Cons
Did not have enough new projects
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  La Cañada Flintridge, CAMay 27, 2015
Great Place to work. There are a lot of interesting projects being conducted all around you. It is a large laboratory with a lot of possible walking between buildings. The employees are very helpful and wanting to accomplish their goals but there is some red tape and funding issues sometimes that changes peoples plans for projects as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn from
Integration and Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMay 7, 2015
I love this place, you couldn't has for a better job. There aren't that many places that you can work on outer planet exploration. This place thrives on people thinking outside the box.
Pros
Great work enviroment
Cons
cost of living in area is high
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to be unemployable in the real world, work here for a while.
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 13, 2015
This place is truly one of the most hyped up, over-rated places to work.

It is filled with dull, drab, boring people who have perfected ground-hog day both on a daily basis and on a project basis.

Most people are simply here to ride the wave to retirement by working on projects that are almost identical from start to finish. Each project is a legacy of another and very little innovation (perhaps except for some science based stuff) is accomplished.

Hence, if you truly want your skills to be obsolete in a few years, work here. I've lost count how many engineers I've worked with who admit to not being able to do anything else if they leave this place. They are left with little to no new skills and outside industry is so far ahead in almost every aspect it's sad.

Not to mention the entire culture of the lab has changed. The place has become very paranoid and corporate. They have engaged in unscrupulous hiring and firing behaviors and are engaged in some serious lawsuits with individuals over unlawful termination, age discrimination, and security issues. They are spending millions of tax payer dollars on high priced lawyers so they can save a few dollars and their terrible reputation from the public.

It's a really poor place to work these days...uninspiring, boring, and the whole "rocket engineering" nonsense is just that...nonsense.
Pros
nice campus
Cons
everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes34No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspirational Setting
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAOctober 20, 2014
Ever changing environment surrounded by some of the greatest minds in the world, filled with innovation and possibilities.
I first started working at JPL in 2001 which gave me the opportunity to see a lot of missions over a ten year period.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained knowledge regarding spacecraft building and launching
Secretary: Sr. Admin; Section/Deputy; Staff ll (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CASeptember 23, 2014
Multi-tasking position
Gained knowledge regarding spacecraft struction and launching
Engineers very knowlegable in their specialty/expertise
ethnicly diverse employees
after classes learned, job not hard but demanding
Learning what is involved to build and launch spacecraft
Pros
learning
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting on a daily basis
Postdoctoral Program Administrator (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CASeptember 3, 2014
Daily tasks vary.
I learned to further myself.
Management structure is organized.
Co-workers are highly educated.
Hardest part of the job is multi-tasking.
Most enjoyable part of the job is watching missions become realizations.
Pros
unique experience
Cons
wish advancement had more opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very secure place to work
Electronics Engineer (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAAugust 18, 2014
The job I held definitely had its ups and downs like any job. I loved the challenges that got thrown my way and the resources JPL had (library and CAD software). I learned a lot about the Aerospace environment, Scripting languages, LabVIEW Programming, Test definitions, and working with flight hardware.
Pros
wonderful campus feel
Cons
political hoops and hurdles, no real career progression for professional engineers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace.
Microdevices engineer (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJuly 22, 2014
Great workplace. Great work/life balance plus interesting projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJuly 12, 2014
I liked working here. I was encourage to learn and grow. It's easy to see why people stay here for so long.
Pros
rdo, good benefits
Cons
getting things done can take longer than private companies
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 17, 2014
Working in a team environment with professional people made it a very impressive experience in my life early on.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Experience
Regulatory Compliance Support (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMarch 11, 2014
Learned a lot from the staff, specifically from my mentor. I wish I was included in more projects. Overall, value this experience for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very exciting, stimulating, and rewarding place to work. Never boring.
Team Member / Academic Part-Time. (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 24, 2014
I have worked with the technical crew of electrical engineers and programmers on projects which had to do with our space program. The management is easy to work with. At times it seems very demanding when a project is due for completion,... at other times it's a bit more lax.

The enjoyable part of the job was designing and implementing computer programs to handle tasks which had to do with the hardware construction, wiring, and conversion programs to read IBM formatted data on a VAX system. (Tapes).
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive campus with exceptional people to work with
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 15, 2014
Excellent place to work with rewarding research being conducted.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture