Jewish Community Center Employee Reviews

Found 151 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and friendly enviornment
Fitness Center Attendant (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MASeptember 17, 2016
My job position was the Fitness Center Attendant. My job duties included; assisting members, cleaning and organizing weight equipment and machines, answering phone calls, assisting the Athletic Director which consisted of typing and uploading camp files for each child for summer camp, maintaining the towels and vacuuming the floor before closing.

CPR certification was a requirement,

It was an enjoyable, Customer interaction was a benefit as it increased my customer service appreciation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at the JCC and serving that community
Executive Assistant to Executive Director (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 10, 2016
My tasks as the assistant to the Executive Director were varied, diverse, and exciting. Most of the time I was assisting with solving problems that occurred throughout the building. Each day was different and each day demanded personal skills, diplomacy, intelligence (with wisdom!) and humor. I enjoyed every day and was deeply satisfied with the tasks.
Pros
Varied demands, and skills needed
Cons
The leadership changed and my job ended
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Fitness Center Front Desk (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYNovember 3, 2015
Good place to work with close knit employees and management.
Warm and welcoming staff. Most member interactions are pleasant.
Pros
Pleasant place to work
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, interaction with very nice people.
Director of Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Bexley, OHJune 1, 2015
Learned how to work for a nonprofit. Received some education in the Jewish faith. Learned about a kosher kitchen and how it works also how to work in it. Can not lay things , or move thing to the incorrect side or location in the kitchen. Upward promotion was not possible without being Jewish. Some of the most enjoyable parts of the job were working with the pre-school and kids. Setting up the camp property for the summer camp with pool.
Pros
free fitness center, steam room and jacuzzi
Cons
lower scale on the pay, poor benefits, uncertainty of the budget
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, amazing co-workers and managers
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 27, 2016
Great place to work if you love working with children. Best part of my job, watching the children learn new things everyday and grow up in front of your eyes. Hardest part about my job, when all of the children in your classroom have a meltdown at the same time, having the teachers to help out with that is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying the seniors and children
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 24, 2016
Picked up seniors and children and dropped them off and returned them home or at the center.
I learned a lot of patience.
Management was great.
The co-workers were a joy to work with.
Waiting to return everyone to home or center.
Seeing the elderly smiling and the kids happy.
Pros
Free lunch, and playing bingo
Cons
The time in between picking up and dropping off.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
played with the kids, ran around and stayed active, was a nice environment
Teacher Aid (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJJune 29, 2016
The others I worked with were mostly experienced. Everyone was nice. The communication between what the bosses said passed down to the teachers slowly or not at all. When I needed help I could also ask another worker.
Pros
Got to spend spend with little cuties
Cons
the work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 5, 2016
Friendly people and fun job. only worked there part time. pay not great but had free gym bennies. would consider full time job if position was open in the 40-50k range.
Pros
free gym membership
Cons
poor pay and no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the culutre
Preschool Teacher (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 17, 2016
With it being a Jewish school, I wasn't sure if I would fit in or be able to learn the culture well enough to teach it. But my co-workers welcomed me with open arms, some of them were Jewish some were not but they still were happy to help me in anyway. I learned so much about the culture and language. It was an exciting place to work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The JCC is a beautiful place to work
Program Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 19, 2016
It was exciting to work for the JCC with all different age groups from young children day camps, youth programs, single events and senior citizen activities. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to see the community build relationship and laugh together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you work here long enough, you do feel like you are a part of something like a family.
Building Manager/ Manager On Duty (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAFebruary 20, 2016
After a while, the members make you feel like family. This was a great place to learn people skills. The communication needed here is crucial to the overall operation of this gym in particular. I learned much about management as this was my first manager title held.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JCC a very cultural event, every day was something different.
Union Mechanic (Former Employee) –  West Bloomfield Township, MIJune 14, 2016
The JCC was a chapter in my work experience that was very fulfilling for me. Worked nights, building operations.worked well with different forms of management,
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was productive I enjoyed driving and the field trips
Transportation Transporter (Former Employee) –  Plantation, FLMay 2, 2016
This Job was great working with the children taking them on field trips. I even did extra such as helping with homework. I would have still been with the company but is was seasonal.
Pros
Working with the children
Cons
seasonal job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bilingual Hebrew/English Pre-Kindergarten teacher
English/Hebrew Bilingual Teacher (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 14, 2016
Planning and implementing developmentally appropriate lesson plans.
Effective classroom management.
Teaching a second language to students.
Pros
Great staff and supportive parents.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Counselor
Fitness/ Recreations Internship (Former Employee) –  Owings Mills, MDJune 20, 2016
You either like working with kids or you don't. Staff is very friendly. The camp has lots of kids not only Jewish kids.
Pros
Great Activities for kids
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun
Book Keeper (Former Employee) –  NJJune 7, 2016
Friendly and Fun to working here.
Very friendly co-worker
Most enjoyable is interacted with people everyday
learn a lot from this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun met alot of people from all over the world
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, IN 46260April 23, 2016
great job I was given a free membership in which my family got the chance to enjoy the benefits as well I worked in the childcare area cleaning the classrooms and other areas of the center
Pros
free membership
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hours, good benefits, good environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  De Witt, NYApril 16, 2015
steady paced job, good people to work with, great management and center really cares about the good of the community. Lots of great programs offered for all walks of life.
Pros
great work/life balance, great health benefits
Cons
no retirement
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to have when you are raising a family!
Preschool Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCJune 8, 2013
I enjoyed working with children and their parents in a learning environment. The college classes that I was able to take helped me raise my own adopted son. The behavior issues were the hardest part of the job to manage. My coworkers were really caring people, who were creative and compassionate. Even though this phase of my life is over, I hold onto good memories about my days as a preschool teacher!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Camp Counselor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Maitland, FLJanuary 27, 2016
I loved working with the children! This was by far my favorite, most rewarding job i have ever had.
My days were always fun! The children had; Art, Music, Pool, and so many more activities in and out of the classroom.
Pros
Being able to work with children
Cons
not getting paid enought for how much i worked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jewish Community Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 152 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1