Jewish Community Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Maintenance / Custodian (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 29, 2017
I worked as a custodian at JCC, it was a productive and up paced job. The management was fare and treated employees with care. I learned how to multitask.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine.
ASEP Counselor (Former Employee) –  Niskayuna, NYDecember 21, 2017
I worked here when I was young and it made me miserable at the time. I'm sure it would be better now, but at the time the company was unwelcoming and the other employees were mean and made working there an unpleasant time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Infant Teacher
Infant Teacher (Former Employee) –  Mequon, WINovember 30, 2017
I loved the director that I got to work. The environment was very nurturing as i was implementing my lesson plan with infants. I also was able to assessed the infants and their developmental levels.
Pros
Get People and company to work for
Cons
Nothing much really to say
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Staff Member (Current Employee) –  Marblehead, MANovember 29, 2017
It has been an honor to work at the JCC and I would highly recommend this job. Management and coworkers are the best, members are kind and caring, and the work is rewarding. I have been working there for over three years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was really hot summer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Creve Coeur, MONovember 7, 2017
I had to make the bow for food pantry basket with the group of old ladies.
hard part I had to pull out weeds!
Enjoyable part is to do bow the basket as it was cool inside building than sit outside doing plants.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing environment
Director of Aquatics (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 5, 2017
Upper management is making a switch. They do not care about growth or what goes on at the centers. They recently fired a bunch of managers because they keep incompetent people in their roles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
child care
Teacher Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Sunrise, FLNovember 4, 2017
Busy Daycare lots of fun meeting and greeting the children and having a lot of activities , play groups , dress up, and many more fun things. changing their diapers , feeding time. Love children a lot of responsibilites can be stressful at times but overall its a great experience and great oppurnity to work with children.
Pros
great times with the staff and children
Cons
a lot more work then expected for the hourly rate starting off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fast Paced
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 29, 2017
Fun and fast paced work environment. Member and community driven work environment. Lots of programs and ways to get involved. Discounts for employees and free use of pool and gym facilities.
Pros
Free gym and pool. Great staff
Cons
advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place to work
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Metairie, LAOctober 24, 2017
if your willing to put up with a lot of people and different views on how work should be or happen then you would be able to work it just keep a smile on your face and don't listen to other people beside your boss
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertainment at your request
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 19, 2017
Learning the diverse of the children and their religion
Implementing different learning strategies for independent learning.
Family oriented.
Growth among the staff and administration.
Motivation among the teachers, parents and children.
Productive and a fun workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at.
Assistant Sports Coach (Former Employee) –  Cedarhurst, NYOctober 15, 2017
Watching kids is what i did day in day out. setting up sporting events, assisting with sporting events, was what i handled each day. all while ensuring their safety until a guardian would be able to pick them up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with, like a big family
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZOctober 11, 2017
Every employee were very positive and cordial to each-other,

I got to see a different culture, the customers were cordial, and caring to everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Practical working place
Senior Counselor (Current Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLOctober 10, 2017
A typical day at the Jewish Community Center is pretty relaxed, fun, and balanced. I learned how to be more attentive, compassionate, and how to communicate thoughts and ideas when necessary. My boss was typically very aware, helpful, and caring. The environment itself was very relaxed, staff typically got along very well with one another. The hardest part of my job would have to be making sure that my children were always happy and having fun in every activity. The most enjoyable part would have to be seeing how happy the kids are when they're playing, and creating a bond between them and the parents.
Pros
flexible schedule, great atmosphere
Cons
little benefits, not a lot of hours, pay is not that great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
socializing with members and free membership
Fitness Trainer (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHOctober 9, 2017
Love talking to and demostrating fitness equipment to members. I do get to take cardio classes or other classes offfer at the Jewish
Community Center. I like socializing with my co workers. My only grip is no pay time off. I do not get paid for any holidays.
Pros
Free membership
Cons
No paid holidays or time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer job for college students
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 5, 2017
The Jewish Community center is a fun place to work during the summer time if your a college student who's looking fo a fun place to work. The fun part is working with the children help make memorable times during summer camp and also the staff. The staff is so wonderful to work with.
Pros
Have to pack your own lunch
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a Dull Moment at the JCC
Groundskeeper/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Medford, NJOctober 4, 2017
Primary duties are to perform janitorial duties. Performs minor repairs
Provide proper upkeep of sidewalks, driveways, parking lots, and other grounds features.
Enforce safety rules and regulations.
Organize and set up the equipment that is used in recreational activities
Completes facility set-ups and tear downs for room arrangements and general up-keep of the facility under the direction of the Facility Coordinator/Building Supervisors.
Responsible for security and emergency procedures including closing/opening the facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Uplifting Place
After School Teacher (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MASeptember 25, 2017
Every member in the JCC community is welcoming and fun! I have worked there for over a year and they are very accommodating to my school schedule. The bonus of getting a free gym membership at such an amazing gym is lovely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Senior Consoler (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJSeptember 15, 2017
Free membership for employees. Plenty of fun events, and management was great. I would recommend this job for anyone looking to build there resume. Loved it!
Pros
Free Membership
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work,along with all employes
Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vestal, NYSeptember 14, 2017
Enjoyed going to work, loved all of the people,infants,toddlers,and pre-k students,learned varius and experience in all fields,managment was very polite,encouraging,and always helped in any situation that was needed some input,never a hard task,and the workplace was always a happy place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, challenging and busy work enviornment
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Staten Island, NYSeptember 13, 2017
A typical day at the JCC includes greeting customers, Updating memberships , sales and putting in appointments. Working with members at the JCC , I learned good customer service. The JCC is a very diverse working environment. The hardest part about working in this community is the challenges of the different personalities and diversities. The most enjoyable part about this workplace is my co workers and the flexibility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jewish Community Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 284 reviews
5146
476
343
210
19

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture