Find companies:
Jewish Community Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
90 reviews

Jewish Community Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring community center that makes you feel at home
Membership Associate/Building reservations (Current Employee), Whitefish Bay, WIMarch 7, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: low pay for the amount of responsibilities
My days are spent talking with and helping members get the best out of their JCC membership. The JCC is a fitness and community center that serves the Jewis population of Milwaukee, as well as people of all religions in the North Shore region of Milwaukee County. I also manage our program registration database, as well as, reserving rooms for in-house – more... meetings and events. Every day I learn that every person and family's experiences are very different, and that problems must be dealt with from an objective perspective. The hardest part of my job is that sometimes my database responsibilities take me away from being able to deal with our members face to face. The best part of my job is to the see the progress that a member can make in their overall wellness during the coarse of their membership with the JCC. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a Summer Camp counselor in numerous specialty camps
Lead Summer Camp Counselor (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAFebruary 28, 2014
I spent 7 summers working at the JCCSF, the first 3 of which were as a Counselor in Training (CIT) and Junior Counselor (JC) where I learned the necessary skills to become a full fledged counselor. Over the past 4 years, I have worked in different specialized summer camps, ranging from science based camps (Silly Science) to Engineering based camps (Design – more... and Build, Tool Time, Construction Camp) to Art based camps (Arts and Splash). Despite their different themes, in all of these camps, I created daily schedules, ran varies activities, and supervised the campers and my fellow co counselors, CITs, and JCs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recreational
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Louisville, KYFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: free if needed
Cons: income
Setup building for activities and help coworkers. Management always open for new ideas. the hardest part keeping busy. Enjoyable brakes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun summer job
Camp Counselor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 31, 2014
A day consisted of welcoming the children and taking care of them while their parents were at work. We did activities such as sports, music, swimming, and played on the playground. I was also responsible for providing them lunch and a snack.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun staff
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), West, TXJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: no staff childcare benefits
I enjoyed working at the Jewish community center . I had to stop working there when my daughter was born ,I couldn't afford daycare there & to work ther ,so I decided to be a stay at home mom for a bit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid-back Work Environment with Great Management
Cheerleader Instructor (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 19, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of:

Teaching cheerleading to youth of all ages, planing and organizing week-long summer cheer clinics, developing weekly cheer routines for end of summer performances, and creating weekly newsletter for parents and write articles.

My supervisor is a close friend and one of the kindest women I know. She is so wise and – more... caring. I love working as the cheer instructor for the JCC. I always learn something new about myself and about working with children and their parents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Job
Swim Coach/Counselor (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 4, 2014
Working as a swim coach during my summer breaks was a great way for me to incorporate my interest in swimming with work. My mornings consisted of teaching a group of 6-8 kids while my afternoons consisted of life-guarding to ensure that all people in and out of pool were safe. It was gratifying teaching young kids to swim and gain confidence in the – more... water without assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work with deaf communicate
Child Care Aide (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNDecember 22, 2013
Pros: not of this
Cons: short break
My job is work with deaf communicate to one by one and sign language with other people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adventurous
Filing (Former Employee), Akron, OHNovember 10, 2013
Working with children, interacting, hands on games, one on one homework help, first aid. etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful and new culture
Full time teacher (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTOctober 29, 2013
Pros: the wonderful co-workers i met
Cons: having to leave and find a new job.
A typical day would include welcoming the children. However if it was a Friday the children would celebrate a Jewish custom called Shabbot. In this tradition you have some bread called Hallah, and some grape juice. The children would listen to a story read and then we would sing the song to bless the Hallah and grape juice. There were some other Jewish – more... holidays that were celebrated during this time I was at this center that I learned about. I have forgotten them unfortunately. I had a good time learning them though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did not work there I was just a guest Lecturer in economics
Lecturer in Economics and Finance (Former Employee), West Palm Beach FLOctober 10, 2013
Pros: it was very fulling the seniors really wanted to learn
Cons: there were vnone
I taught seniors Economics and about the stock market Including options
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Counselor - Summer Day Camp (Former Employee), Niskayuna, NYOctober 9, 2013
Enjoyable place to work. Most coworkers were very friendly. Day to day work was a fun and exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career
Director (Current Employee), Metairie, LAOctober 7, 2013
Each day brings a new challege. There are lots of opportunites to meet new people and network within the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Palm Beach, FLOctober 1, 2013
It was a great place to work. Full of fun, learning, growing and experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary employment.
Assistant day camp counselor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: got to do three hours of training
Cons: short work schedules
love the coworkers and my supervisor but the tables made me dizzy when i cleaned them they had them in a circle
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for kids and the work team. Compensation is low.
Substitute Teacher - Preschool (Current Employee), Staten Island, NYSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: fun work, lots of love for/from kids
Cons: can't cover my bills
I enjoyed working with the children and the team is wonderful. Compensation in the way of salary, benefits and pension planning are not up to par.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and caring work place
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee), Getzville, NYAugust 30, 2013
During my work day I helped the children to optimize their play time and stay on task. I helped with transitions from one activity to another. At times I had to change diapers and do simple room clean ups. I learned how to manage a classroom and find creative themes and activities for the children. My co-workers were wonderful and always helpful and – more... supportive. The hardest part of the job was how long the day could be sometimes, working with children is hard work. I loved working with children and they always put a smile on my face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much fun !
Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Boynton Beach, FLAugust 27, 2013
The kids made work fun to attend ! Planned games and activities to keep them busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacting and taking care of children
Teacher (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 17, 2013
*Interacting with parents and children
*Organizing after-school activities
*Reading and singing to the children
*Setting up snack

*The hardest part of the job was having to discipline the kids.
*The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the kids and I enjoyed working with my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Child Care Worker (Former Employee), LONG BEACH .CAJuly 29, 2013
Pros: childcare
Cons: childcare
Good and listen to the kids opinion on what they like to do.and cool peoples. and they are perfect and no hard times at the job. and spending time with the kids at story time.

About Jewish Community Center

JCC Association is the leadership network of, and central agency for the Jewish Community Center Movement, which is comprised – Read more