JFK Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 133 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Patient Experience Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Atlantis, FLJanuary 14, 2016
Working as a patient advocate at the hospital was rewarding. It was a great experience being able to help others. I looked forward to coming in to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding workplace
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Atlantis, FLJanuary 9, 2016
A typical day is lounging in the volunteer office and waiting for orders to come through by phone. The orders are for wheelchair services around the hospital for patients.
From volunteering, I learned that people from all walks of life come together for a common purpose and are generally really friendly, which is the most enjoyable part of the job. The management was really lassez-faire for the most part, but that was because some of the volunteers have been there for years and know how to handle operations and guide new volunteers.
At first, the hardest part was determining how to navigate the hospital, but as time went on, I realized that finding work to accomplish is harder when it is a slow day.
Pros
Free meals for every 4 hour shift
Cons
Can be very slow
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
PHYSICIAN LIAISON (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJDecember 27, 2015
Was able to assist physicians, nursing staff, doctors offices, patients, and their family members in a positive matter and to assist with their needs
Pros
Working with the Physicians
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registrar
Registrar (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 9, 2015
Registrar patients, verify insurance, assist with benefits, take message for physicians, schedule appointments, etc. Always a busy day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy ER
Paramedic (Current Employee) –  Atlantis, FLDecember 2, 2015
This is a very busy ER. The Nurses and Paramedics work with each other to provide a high level of patient care but we keep the work environment light and fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
greatly understaffed when accuracy is utmostly important
Head of Narcotics (Current Employee) –  Edison, NJDecember 1, 2015
Intense, extremely busy, overextended, understaffed
management not well suited
Best part co-workers
learned to try to accomplish more than is humanly for one individual
most enjoyable is achieving satisfaction for the co-worker (inter-departmental or within the pharmacy dept) who is having a problem and getting it resolved acccurately and promptly
Cons
short lunch breaks and inflexibilty of adminstrative staff
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management from top to bottom
RN (Former Employee) –  Atlantis, FLNovember 29, 2015
fast pace, lack of administrative skill. Cost is bottom line. Poor management support. Nursing staff from Island countries with poor working skills and knowledge. Would never recommend working there.
Cons
All talk no staff support, cost is bottom line
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJNovember 21, 2015
I treat every patient as I would like my mother to be patient....I am jovial, experienced, confidential, discreet and reliable.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work, constantly active
Grounds and Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJNovember 19, 2015
My experience at JFK Medical Center helped me to begin to get a general sense of a work environment dealing with a variety of tasks on a daily basis, ranging from pulling weeds to assisting in repairs. The time I spent at JFK during the vocational program was very informative.
Pros
Fun and unique coworkers
Cons
low wages, feeling shut out by senior workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bedside care
Acute Physical Therapist (Former Employee) –  Atlantis, FLNovember 8, 2015
Attended to PT needs at beside. Learned how to be highly flexible. The best part was the compassionate care needed. The worst part was the high employee turn over rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student life
Nursing Student (Former Employee) –  west palm beachOctober 25, 2015
the environment was student friendly. the nurse was more than willing to engage and teach the students. The hospital really care about the client and their safety
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with nice people
Painter (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLOctober 22, 2015
Everyone had a nice friendly attitude and were very helpful when my team and I were doing our work. There was little activity going on which allowed us to finish our work on schedule with time to spare.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experence
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Edison, NJOctober 22, 2015
Very Supportive Management. Its a very great learning experience I started doing my internship there....And was hired once I completed my internship.
Pros
Learning
Cons
per diam
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educational to me
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJOctober 22, 2015
I have learned so much from JFK medical Center and its employees
Being able to work with different cultures and assisting patients has really been so educational form me.
This being because I have never held a paying job since graduating from high school.
I has showed me how helping others is a very rewarding feeling.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent in healthcare
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Edison, NJOctober 11, 2015
Learned how to compound medications (e.g. creams, liquids)
Management is approachable at times
Co-workers are friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and rewarding patient interactions.
Records Clerk (Current Employee) –  Atlantis, FLSeptember 22, 2015
Friendly, caring, nurturing environment which the patient came first and foremost at an employee level. Immediate management was supportive and gave great feedback in improving performance. The amount of patients coming in and out guaranteed that each day would be a unique experience.
Pros
Every day was different, discounted meals and rewarding patient interactions.
Cons
No benefits, no pay increase and limited staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Transporter (Former Employee) –  .September 9, 2015
Great Job and nice co workers. Enjoyed learning new things and working with different people. A typical day at work was meeting new patients and transporting them to different areas of the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with lots of nurses and surgeons. Lots to learn with. I was a Patient Care Technician
Patient Care Technician (PCT) (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJSeptember 8, 2015
Its great place to work, controlled temperature, allergen free clean rooms, lots of people interaction, get to meet surgeons and nurses
Pros
Free lunches at times, temperature controlled working environment
Cons
understaffed mostly, fast paced and stressful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it, its the best place to work
Nurse Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlantis, FloridaSeptember 5, 2015
the best place to work, i love the nurses and everyone that work overthere. Teamwork is perfect. There is a lot of opportunity. they really care about your school.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job. Very rewarding place to work.
ekg technician (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJAugust 28, 2015
I loved working at JFK Medical Center. I worked as an EKG tech. I loved the patients. Great place to work. I felt fullfilled as a human being talking with patients as I performed the test. And being able to help people is very rewarding.
Pros
Co-workers became friends, great benefits, good hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 133 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture