JJB Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun qorkplace
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater ManchesterJanuary 14, 2018
Great even if you never had any experience as you get trained up I enjoyed my time working here as part of a team as well as working as a individual salary isn't bad either
Pros
Great
Cons
Great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
order picking for stores in the region
Warehouse Work - various temporary contracts (Former Employee) –  WiganMarch 11, 2016
i didn't enjoy this type of work as it was quite monotonous on a daily basis and was only a temporary contract with no prospects
Pros
was close to home
Cons
agency work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Supervisor/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  PerthMarch 4, 2016
A typical days work included opening and closing of the store, handling of large amounts of money. Managing the shops staff. Receiving deliveries. Dealing with customers.
Pros
Friendly work environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hereford, ENGSeptember 6, 2015
worked on tills
merched the shop
trained up staff members on there job role
key holder
cash up and completed paper work
dealing with customer concerns
customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oldham, ENGMay 6, 2015
This place made any excuse to sack people there were more bosses then worker and it was a big joke they don't let yo go to the toilet and if you do you have to stay behind at the end to make time up you were gone but he doors were phobed and not everybody had one so you would also have to wait to be let back in though the doors .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Pleasant atmosphere
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dover, ENGJune 18, 2014
Working at JJB introduced me to new working skill such as sales and up selling to customers. It developed my customer service skills to a high standard. Along the way I made some close friends which I still keep in contact today.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with a chield with their mentality
Member (Former Employee) –  ChhattishgarhFebruary 21, 2014
Counseling and give bell absence of judge
Be confident and cousel until their acceptace accourding to their mentality.
very affective
very suppostive
learn the Dharas( Law )

When an accused look for a good path
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Assistant
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  birminghamFebruary 6, 2014
IT was a really good store to work for i really enjoyed working with a good team as well as severing good customers i just love working around with customers
Pros
2
Cons
30
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Reading, ENGFebruary 3, 2014
Before the shop closed down it was a fun place to work however due to the stores missing targets and being closed nationally, it became quite stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yeah it was fun work place
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  bristolDecember 18, 2013
worked two weeks.
i learned a lot, like how to deal with few customers at the same time.
the hardest part was i struggle with the others works names but at the end everything was fine.
i enjoyed talking to and seen new different people day by day, also making new friends who worked at the shop.
Pros
free
Cons
4hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse
Bar Man (Former Employee) –  WiganNovember 8, 2013
Typical hospitality enviroment,Bar and roomset up, Co workers mainly Student, hardest part of job hours, most enjoyable job satisfaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
jjb
Food Hygiene and Customer service (Former Employee) –  Wigan, ENGOctober 29, 2013
Was a good work place helped out during college. With uniform etc
Pros
the staff
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail assistant
retail assistant (Former Employee) –  Wigan, ENGOctober 23, 2013
I was a packer of clothes and inserted security tags as well as ensuring they went into correct boxes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun
Customer service, stock control (Former Employee) –  Leicester, ENGAugust 15, 2013
The Co- workers made the job what it was, a day at work would consist working the shoes and going into the stock room to find the sizes, the management were alright to work with and the hardest part was christmas time and most enjoyable was having a laugh with co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wide range of experiences
Sales (Former Employee) –  Oxford July 23, 2013
This job allowed me to gain a vast amount of experience within the different areas of retail work.
during my time there I had to organize stock, change displays and mark prices down, this was along with advising customers and replacing sold items. I also worked on the til when required and did shirt printing for those that wanted it.
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
Bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun
Supervisor/first sales (Former Employee) –  Leeds, ENGJune 27, 2013

Sales Assistant
Customer Service
Money handling
Shop floor sales
Handling shop floor
Stock taking
Merchandising
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring place to work
general Assistant (Former Employee) –  LeedsJune 6, 2013
extremely boring but did enhance my customer service skills to benefit from reaching targets.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple but enjoyable
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  MerryhillMay 25, 2013
Working at JJB I made some good friends.
Day to day was pretty easy and I got the jobs done very quickly.
The management team where great and very helpful.
The hardest part of the job was difficult customers but from previous bar experience I could handle it pretty well.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the staff I worked with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very laid back
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  exeterMay 7, 2013
i mainly worked on the tills during my time at jjb, serving customers, helping process any online orders. giving advice on product in store
Pros
staff discount, hours i worked were suited to my needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gained exprience
trainee (Former Employee) –  londonApril 29, 2013
worked as a trainee

did simple jobs such as; sorting out clothing, making deliveries, working at the till etc.

overall the job gave me good exprience it also improved me in many aspects such as ; communication skills, working as a team etc.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JJB. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4