JLG Industries Employee Reviews

Found 62 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, very poor management
Distribution Specialist (Current Employee) –  Orrville, OHJuly 3, 2017
On a typical work day, I package and ship out many different types of machine parts. I work on a computer and load trucks with fork trucks and by hand. I have learned how to run programs such as Mapics, UPS, FedEx, excel and YRC Freight. Management at this particular location has an inconsistent disciplinary system. The hardest part of the job is getting co workers to communicate properly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace!
Assembler/CNC Operator (Current Employee) –  Shippensburg, PAJune 27, 2017
Don't have anything to say,but if you like mandatory overtime, All summer long this is the job for you. Very fast pace environment,people come in and leave just as fast as they came.but if you like to work hard there is room for advancement.
Pros
They feed you on the weekends.
Cons
Mandatory overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasnt a secure job
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  McConnellsburg, PAJune 9, 2017
This place was always laying people off, and shutting down the building. Never knew whether you were going to get laid off. The management was good though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Bedford, PA 15522June 1, 2017
Great job easy work but management is terrible and unless you know people from the beginning you won't get no where other than that people are great on the shop floor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor raises
Distribution Specialist (Current Employee) –  Orrville, OHMay 31, 2017
I am grateful for the 11years at Jlg but my raises were terrible and there was no room for advancement for me. The management team had a good ole boy mentality. There investigations for disciplinarery action was based on hear say and not facts. Mangement would walk people off the site with no proof.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Favortism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay
Maintenance Mechanic (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Orrville, OHMay 24, 2017
High employee turnover that may be encouraged by production management not informing their employees of overtime until the last workday. Clean work areas with good lighting and friendly employees.
Pros
Friendly employees
Cons
Staff flip-flop on overtime decisions at the last minute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frame welder
Welder (Former Employee) –  PAMay 22, 2017
I welded on frames and booms while I was there. Also did some mechanic work to. Was part of the matv program which was a neat experience. I welded on the MMV's for the marine core to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Material Specialist (Current Employee) –  McConnellsburg, PAMay 8, 2017
Enviroment is friendly and the employees are also nice to work with.
Management is also willing to help and step in when you need the extra support.

The benefits and healthcare could be better, but overall, I would recommend JLG to anyone who is looking to get into the production industry.
Cons
healthcare / benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer
Manufacturing specialist, Assembler (Former Employee) –  Orrville, OHApril 22, 2017
This is a good employer with a company that has a great culture and is safety minded. Great holiday schedule and benefits, as well as pay that reflects the industry average or slightly above.
Pros
Overtime available, work independantly but in team environment
Cons
Its production, so its fast paced and very competitive. Unstable market caused plants to close
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate job
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  McConnellsburg, PAApril 10, 2017
Lots of madatory overtime ,poor supervision, treaded like a number,no job history record,do more with less,friendly co-workers,cold in winter,hot in summer
Pros
Pay increase every 6 months
Cons
No advance notice of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading global manufacturing company
IT Project Manager II (Current Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDApril 3, 2017
Progressive global company, with strong CEO and IT leadership. Strong emphasis on attracting and retaining "people first". Parent company Oshkosh Corporation keeps America safe through its Defense, Fire & Emergency and Access segments and clean through its Commercial segment.
Pros
Attention to Work/Life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Painter (Former Employee) –  McConnellsburg, PAApril 2, 2017
very good place and they enjoy your hard work. laid back place
took very good care of you as well as a employee. Beneifits was very good. did hearing tests every 3 months too
Pros
coworkers and bosses
Cons
amout of work and how to do it at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are great
Distribution specialist (Current Employee) –  Orrville, OHApril 2, 2017
The colleagues i collaborate with on a daily basis make coming to my job every morning more bearable and enjoyable than not. Management, however, is not very consistent.
Pros
Year end bonus
Cons
company closing in July/August; created some hostility and carelessness
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JLG Industries
Welder (Current Employee) –  Orrville, OHMarch 25, 2017
JLG has treated me well the past 11 yrs. They take pride in safety and work cleanliness . They lacked in picking the right leadership and making the most effect decisions in some cases. i think they need to also review their pay scale and bring up to what other business are at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work.
Welder (Former Employee) –  Orrville, OHMarch 12, 2017
I have had alot of experiences at JLG. It has been the best place i have ever worked. I would love to advance a little further into the company but they have decided to close down the Orrville, Ohio facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Orrville, OhioFebruary 16, 2017
Good place to work and good training, Management was very involved with concerns of their employees. I enjoyed being team lead in the warehouse.
Cons
o.k. insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work big on safty
Welder (Current Employee) –  Orrville, OHFebruary 9, 2017
management is very good. culture is safety. hardest part was when we didn't have parts. the best part off the job is the people. i have learned more welding skills and ready to learn more welding skills as everyday is diffrent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work driven but good life balance
Global Trade Compliance Analyst (Current Employee) –  MarylandFebruary 7, 2017
the company at the highest level values its people however based on the department you are in, it can make for a wonderful place to work or not so much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in fat paced environment in planning/buyer. Will accept a supervisor/line leader postion.
Associate Buyer II (Current Employee) –  Orrville, OHFebruary 6, 2017
Work with suppliers via, internet, Web portal, and by phone, to ensure on time delivery of product.

Interacts with several internal sites throughout the U.S. to communicate delivery issues.

Hardest part is trying to get the supplier to understand production schedules must be met at a job site.

Enjoy talking and working with all types of personalities.
Pros
Freedom to leave job to eat lunch with suppliers.
Cons
Short Breaks, sometimes no lunch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Bonus Program
Senior Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MD 21742January 25, 2017
Like any large compay JLG had their challenges. It overall company Oshkosh Corp. is not a bad company. They had a very good bonus program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JLG Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 66 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.7