Find companies:
Jo-Ann Stores
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
43 reviews

Jo-Ann Stores Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place
Sales associate (Current Employee), Newark DEAugust 14, 2014
Pros: employee discount (not really worth it anymore)
Cons: short breaks, poor business management, awful guest
Store 2063 is a sorry excuse. We have very little hours to give out, which I understand is corporates fault, but organizing the schedule so the optimal work done each day is not done. In fact my GM just has the computer throw it together which has made a bad situation worse.
The stores a mess because no one is available to do recovery because they are – more... to busy helping up front or on the cutting counter to help the ONE person scheduled for register or cutting counter. And generally they do this for several hours and then leave 30 mins after the other person scheduled for there position shows up.
Some of the customers are simply horrendous. They want us to kneel down and kiss there butts and give them whatever they want. They want us to take EXPIRED coupons (yeah customers they expire, those dates aren't put at the top for decoration!) and to do their shopping for them! They will ask questions and try to force am answer from us when we explain we don't really know the answer. They get made when we can't hold their hand and guide them through every little step. Don't know what your doing? Look it up on the Internet or take a class. Don't come in expecting me to figure out everything for you.
ESPECIALLY if you are making curtains, shower curtains, or reupholstering something. They is no standard size for these objects. We will help you figure out what you need if you provide us w/ the needed info ie measurements, price range, etc. we can't magically figure everything out! Do not come up there and expect us to explain how to do/make something step by step. We do not have the time for that, because we always have so few people.
And for you customer stop coping an attitude when I refuse to bend/break the rules for you. I will not take expired coupons, and I will not take online / app / phone coupons more than once, because it says below each one that they are just like regular coupons and are ONE TIME use. I will not let you purchase one item at a time and let you reuse the same coupon on each item.
But of course the managers come up and breaks the rules and give the guest what they want, telling them they will do it just this one time. There is NOTHING stopping a customer from coming back and pulling the same babyfied fit again and again and again. We are bleeding profits because of this.
And then the managers and corporate turns around and gets on the employees when the sale goal isn't met. Well maybe if you didn't have us constantly shoving coupons out, and allowing these guest to constantly break the rules we wouldn't have these problems! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didn't not enjoy working for my boss.
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee), Visalia, CAAugust 13, 2014
Making sure all the merchandise is been load to the right truck for the specific store. Making sure that is departing in a timely matter to get their destination.
The hardest part of the job was the terrible culture that the boss has created. He made the office feel very hostile toward everyone that didn't kiss is butt. I got sick for been so stress – more... and depress that I practically call in sick. Eventually I left the job because I just couldn't get better physical and mentally as long the boss was there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
team member (Former Employee), maryland 1951August 1, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: short hours, low pay, bad training
Store 1951 sucks, the employees are impatient and don't train you the right way, the managers are awesome but the pay is little and the houra are little.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very crafty
Customer Service Assignments (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 17, 2014
I loved working with the people and seeing all the different crafts the people would make!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional and hostile work environment
Associate (Former Employee), KingstonJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good for people who do drugs
Cons: cheap unfriendly management no hours
If your looking for a job were the employees are treated like garbage and get no hours or respect...well here you go. The management team is horrible. They talk down to you and expect you to know how to do certain tasks that you were not taught. If your a new employee here they will have you shadow someone that has been working there for a week. After – more... your first day of training that's it your done. They throw you to the wolves. Good Luck. They pay horrible if you have over 10 years of retail experience they will start you out at the lowest pay rate possible. If you happen to close with a manager or another employee prepair to get mad because ur trusting manager will be sitting in the office/break room all night. None of the managers want to deal with the customers. Employees here don't do there jobs they like to leave it for the next person. Oh and they like to talk about each other behind there backs. A lot of backstabbing and high school situations are there. Managers play favorites. Hours there are ridiculous one week you will have 35 hours and the next week you have 10 hours. Jo-Ann's is a very dusty discussing place. No one ever cleans there, and only do so when higher ups come for a visit. The customers are horrible too. Since they have no hours at the store the customers complain and a lot of the time they expect you to figure out there projects and if you don't sew you better be ready to get your head cut-off. Managers expect you to follow the rules, but apparently the rules don't apply to them. This job is perfect if you are into drugs though, that's a plus...they don't do drug test probably bc they can't afford it. If you are good at crafts and love creating and your an old lady who just wants to get a job just to get out of the house, you'll probably die early than normal because your stress will go up because they will stick you at the register all day by yourself, and when you call for back-up be ready to get ignored by management because they think they are about running a register. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere to work in, and I learned many useful tips.
Team Member (Current Employee), Huntington Beach, CAJune 20, 2014
A typical day at Jo-Ann's Fabric and Craft consists of a lot of customer service. Many people come in with an idea of a project and it is our job to help them attain the tools they need to make said project happen. We get many people that are seasoned sewers and crafters, which leads to many useful tips and tricked with it comes to crafting and sewing. – more... My co-workers are great. I like to believe that it is the workers that make my store such a great place to work. I think the hardest part about my job are the times when we simply cannot assist a customer. Whether it be that I have no knowledge of what they seek, or that we do not have what they seek. However, when I do help a customer find exactly what they are needing, then I think that is the most rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and laid-back workplace
Team Member (Former Employee), Norwich, CTJune 8, 2014
I came in every night and received a planogram and a teammate or teammates to complete a specific display. Together, we would acquire the necessary materials to build the display unit as well as the products to be displayed. The supervisors were very well organized and the co-workers helped to maintain a positive synergy throughout the building. In – more... my time at this company, I acquired time management, teamwork, and organizational skills. The hardest part of the job was figuring out how to work and rework the optimal ways to display products when specific products had not yet been ordered. The most enjoyable part of the job was completing tasks with co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see below
Operations Team Leader (Former Employee), Albany, NYMay 19, 2014
Pros: 40 hr work week
Cons: little or no regard for the team members; no job security
was a fun place to work until the family sold the business; then it became profit at any expense; including employees; they are bordering on wage and age discrimination.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job EVER! BEWARE!
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Osage Beach, MOMay 16, 2014
Pros: the handful of great employees and customers you get the be with and help every day
Cons: no breaks at all but expected to lie and sign documents saying you do get them, horrible pay for the expectations, corrupt upper management, abusive work environments.
If I could rank zero stars I would! This is by far the worst retail job ever! All levels of management lie and abuse their employees. The company does not care about their people at all. As long as you keep your mouth shut and never stick up for yourself and tolerate the abuse you will be fine. There are even moments of actual threatened physical abuse – more... too. Retaliation is HUGE the minute you make any sort of report. The HR department is by far the most corrupt department in the company and have no idea what real HR is or means!! Beware! You will regret every minute if you accept a position with this company! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Job
Warehouse Team Member (Current Employee), Visalia, CAApril 7, 2014
Pros: people are very funny and you work with friends and family.
Cons: no benefits, low pay and very hard and demanding job.
This job is very demanding, you have to work at a very fast pace or else you will fall behind. I always did my best and managed to stay with most people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work, management was unfair
Customer Service Team Member (Former Employee), Coon Rapids, MNApril 2, 2014
The most enjoyable part of this job was working with the other employees. The hardest part was getting along with management. I learned what it is like in a retail job, it's hard to move up unless you are fully committed to being a 'lifer'. A typical day consisted of helping the customers, putting away product, answering phones, cutting fabric, doing – more... returns, and putting away fabric. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you prefer to be underpaid!
Receiving Team Leader (Former Employee), IndianapolisMarch 5, 2014
Pros: creativity and customers
Cons: everything!
They expect you to do so much and pay you close to minimum wage...District Manager hasn't a clue as to what she is doing! Stores are always a mess...backroom has excessive stock...former manager and new manager seem to have battles that drags other staff into. Customers say the dislike the new store!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corporate office
Inventory Coordinator (Former Employee), Hudson, OHMarch 4, 2014
I worked at the corporate office. I started in the warehouse but advanced to the inventory department within the corporate office. The biggest issue was the commute time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues
Manager (Former Employee), Hudson, OHFebruary 26, 2014
Great colleagues and work environment-- never a dull moment on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I quit after one day!
Customer service person (Former Employee), Mishawaka, INFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: it's a job if you're desperate
Cons: unorganized, rude management, negative, mistrusting attitude toward employees, very low pay, no training
I left the job after ONE day. I actually should have never taken the job after the interview. The management bashed the employees and had a very negative attitude IN MY INTERVIEW. But, I was only taking it as a second job, so thought it would be OK. However, what they failed to tell me is that they treat you like a criminal (you have to hang your apron – more... upside down to make sure you have nothing hidden in the pockets and they wanted to look through my purse at the end of each shift!), They barely train you and then throw you on cutting fabric the first day and the management acted very rude. A lady was waiting at the door when we opened and she needed to use the bathroom and the manager was very snide and outwardly irritated with her. I was basically disgusted with it by the time I had a break. The pay is terrible so it's NOT WORTH IT! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management team who like to threaten employees.
Seasonal manager (Former Employee), Cranberry Twp, PAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: a small discount off merchandise
Cons: bad management, too much stress, always changing schedule
Manager was the scariest woman I've ever met in my entire life. One of those people Who was very quiet but had a lot of rage right under the surface. Would go off on the smallest things. Always blamed her mistakes on others. Never wanted to give credit to anyone for their ideas. Expected management team to lie about other employees. Talked bad about – more... district managers and higher ups in company and made the whole company look bad. Most stressful job I've ever had! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place i ever work
store manager (Former Employee), illinoisJanuary 2, 2014
Cons: little pay. to political. bad management that wont take there own faults
there is no team joanns .the management is horrible . you can never get no help through managment till it too late and they send you packing . i worked for joanns for 12 years my last 2 years 60 hrs a week plus. never got wrote up or warning . just showed the door . i will never reffer anyone to joanns go to hobby lobby. i sure wont go in there to political – more... for me . you are warned ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware!!
Team Member (Former Employee), Manhattan, KSDecember 28, 2013
Pros: 20% discount
Cons: very poor and rude management, unreliable breaks, unreliable training, getting laid off without being told
I was hired as a seasonal employee. At the time of hire, I asked them how likely it was that I would be kept on as a permanent employee. I was told that I didn't have to worry about being let go. They were moving into a bigger store, and would need more employees. I started work in October getting full-time hours setting up the store. When the store – more... opened in early November, my hours were cut to about 25 per week. In early December, my hours were again cut in half to about 13 per week, and I was laid off at the end of December without any notice. No one called me or anything. The schedule starting on Sunday was put up on Saturday afternoon, and I wasn't on it. That's how I found out I was laid off. By looking at the schedule at the last minute. Most days, I was lucky to get a break at all. Every manager tells you something different when training you, and you get yelled at if you don't do it right. As an employee, you get a 20% discount, but only managers can check you out at the registers, and they definitely let you know that they're annoyed that you want to buy something. I definitely wouldn't recommend working for Jo-Ann's. If you want to work in the craft retail business, I would recommend Hobby Lobby instead. I've heard they treat their employees fairly, and not like slaves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEWARE
merchandising manager (Former Employee), shrewsbury njNovember 12, 2013
Cons: poor management
Hands down worst company I have ever worked for. Audit driven company. No one is on the same page from the district and regional managers..to the store manager they hired. All managers are expected to do their title and then everyone else's job as well. Always understaffed due to no available hours. Nothing from top to bottom makes any sence in this – more... company as well as poor structured management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Freight Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 4, 2013
Pros: creative environment
Cons: scheduled breaks
Jo-ann's is an interesting place to work. Even though you have an assigned location at any point you can and will be called to assist in other areas.

1 2 3

About Jo-Ann Stores

With 800 stores, and growing, in 49 states, we're the nation's largest specialty retailer of fabrics and one of the largest – Read more