Job Corp Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
Cafe Worker (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJanuary 12, 2018
the job doesn't pay good but the people help you out a lot. The co-workers are always there for you, I really like working with those people but the job is very heavy working.
Pros
health care, nive workers
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school based environment
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Muhlenberg County, KYDecember 27, 2017
this is not a job, its like a school that trains you for whatever career you want to go into. They house you, they pay for your education, they feed you three meals a day, and you stay in dorms like your on a college campus. very helpful, very great opportunity for anyone looking to better themselves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment was poor
Advanced Machinist (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXDecember 21, 2017
Managment and employers were unable to handle unexpected altercations in a professional manner.
The trade coordinators would lack on their job as a teacher to the student .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive/ an easy goin workplac
Brunswick Job Corp Center (Former Employee) –  Brunswick, GADecember 20, 2017
Never give up on whatever it is your acheiving or doing because regardless if you failed or not you'll never know how far you'll get in life as it meets you now
Pros
Free lunch/ games/ trips
Cons
Short breaks/healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun and lot of hand on job training program
Work training and education (Former Employee) –  Nampa, IDDecember 16, 2017
The average day I got to learn a letter about e wry thang from. Painting to pluming /roofing /drywalling /carpentry / flooring /and stuff like that
I got to do a lot of hand on training and was Abel to work as a team with others students which is really nice cause if I had trouble understanding something I could ask question and vice versa I got to answer and help others
Pros
we got to work as a team
Cons
We didn't get paid and we couldn't leave campus until the weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summay
Residential Advisor (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVNovember 21, 2017
I did not feel the students were treated fairly and the pay was not adequate for the job. It was more like a babysitting job for young adults where they resided. The hours were not the best. Even though I enjoyed working with the young adults I believe management could do more for the resident advisors to give them the tools they needed to perform their job better.
Pros
Working with young adults
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to teach students to be employable!
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 31, 2017
. A typical day at work- get to work about 7am 1hour prior to start, set up class room and check folders for daily lesson plans

What I have learned is to always plan ahead for the unexpected

Management:
Effective Classroom
1. Organized and assemble for
2. Rules- go over expectations
3. Planned Lessons- hourly to do list for student
4. Effective Listening- students request additional info when needed
5. Constructive-Feedback is given concerning lessons
6. Practice-
7. Evaluate
8. Commitment by student and teacher

Work Place Culture is Career Success Standards
1.Work place relations and ethics
2. Interpersonal skills
3. Personal Growth and Development
4. Independent Living
5. Career and Personal Planning
6. Communication
7. Multicultural Awareness
8. Information Management

The hardest part of the job
1. Is to know when you've applied enough teaching and mentoring.

The Most enjoyable part of the job is to see the students succeed!
Pros
Field Trips to Job Fairs
Cons
Not every student values the Job Corps opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Volunteer Services (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 30, 2017
Served hot/cold meals to 300 students and 70 staff; Replenished salad bar, made sandwiches, cut cakes, pies and other desserts; Cleaned tables, refilled condiments, napkins and silver ware
Pros
I wish this was a permant work place it was a great experience
Cons
This was just a internship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was enjoyable
HVAC Student (Former Employee) –  San Marcos, TXSeptember 26, 2017
if you go to job corps you need to make sure this is what you want to do it is not a place for just about anyone you need to make sure you're not going to go off course and mess everything up but if you can manage it it will be pretty enjoyable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
General Office Clerk-temp (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTSeptember 20, 2017
Great company to work for with lots of benefits. The only reason I left was because I needed more money to sustain myself. My bills were bigger than my income so I had to leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Wasnt A Job It Was To Get My Life Together But Still A Stressful Part Of Life.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 11, 2017
Job Corps Is A Program Where You Attend To Get Your HSD/GED. You Also Get A Trade Over The Course Of Time. It's A Helpful Program Of Your Mentally Focus And Know What You Want. I WON'T Recommend Going If You Don't Want To.
Pros
Free Food, Free Living Arrangements
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
Dorm Leader/Mentor (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 1, 2017
Great place to live and work. Learned a lot. The job helps built characters. the job helps mode a better person out of you..................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Test Administrator (Former Employee) –  Clearfield, UTAugust 19, 2017
The employees went out of their way to help you feel like you belonged. Always willing to help where needed. I worked with troubled youth and they were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place to work
N/A (Former Employee) –  IllinoisJuly 9, 2017
awful place to work. self-appointed managers. bonus system played for favorites, despite actual numbers. favoritism/discrimination at its finest. typical day: 8 -10 hrs of working with at-risk youth. workplace culture: self-appointed managers, internal jobs not posted, favoritism and discriminatory practices daily.
Pros
vacation/sick time
Cons
mangement/bonus system
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible for care and counseling of student in training
Residential Advisor (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, INJune 14, 2017
Transported student to recreational and cultural activities. Attempted
to monitor students to ensure appropriate behavior. Mediated problems and and provide safe environment.
Pros
rewarding work in developing students
Cons
student behaviors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting job working with the students
Driver/ Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJune 6, 2017
Great place to work while working with the students Great benefits and great environment. Students were challenging, but a pleasure t to work with. Staff interaction was moderate
Pros
many employee activities, picnics and parties.
Cons
great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed place
Residential Advisor (Current Employee) –  Denison, IAMay 22, 2017
Love the job, lots of diversity, fun, can be stressful but rewarding, everyday is a learning experience for both staff and students. Pretty easy job for the most part
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but worth it
Trainee, Dorm Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDMay 20, 2017
It was a training center, I learned alot from there got my GED and some work experience, learned how to manage those around you without being over baring, like not asking someone to do something you are not willing to do. Hardest part would be getting used to living in dorms with other people, but it was also one of the more enjoyable ventures
Pros
Free Education, paid Education, good start to figuring out what you wanna do
Cons
disruptive students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor organization at this particular center.
Educational Director (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMay 16, 2017
A typical day consisted of observing teachers, writing reports and performing other duties to make sure the educational component of the center was operating properly and within the guidelines of state and federal regulations. I learned about state and federal regulations pertaining to the Job Corp. Management was very unorganized and offered very little support.The workplace culture was friendly and relaxed for the most part. The hardest part of the job was working the long hours that were necessary to perform the requirements of this job. As a salaried position it was not unusual to work way over the 40 hour time frame that most people work in a week's time.The most enjoyable part of this job was working with students to assist them with getting the educational and vocational components necessary for their future career interest.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Very low salary; Long work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job corps is a wonderful place to work at i just need a 1st shift job.
Residential Advisor (Current Employee) –  Flint, MI 48504May 14, 2017
Job corps is a wonderful place to work at I love it and I love my job but I need a 1st shift job so I can spend time with my daughter. I love working with people and it teach me about customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Job Corp. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 63 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6