Find companies:
Job Corp
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Job Corp Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a
Cement Mason / Tile setter (Former Employee), CAAugust 25, 2014
i was shop manager. i learned how to get along and work with others on a job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacting with trainees with different backgrounds and assisting trainees to better manage independent living skills.
Residential Advisor (Current Employee), North Grafton, MAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: interacting, mentoring, guiding trainees as a positive role-model.
Start of the work shift includes briefing of previous shift about any issues or concerns and trainee accountability.
Typical work shift includes interacting with the general campus population. Providing trainees with employable information, managing independent skills to improve self efficacy, and ensuring a safe, stable living environment while trainees – more... focus on education. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Director freely violated AZ employment laws and tried to blame me.
Business Management Systems Teacher (Former Employee), Mammoth Cave, KYJune 23, 2014
Pros: teachers really want to help
Cons: administration is unsupportive and uncaring for teachers outside the liberal and progressive bubble, but will not admit it.
Summary says it all. Do not trust director for factual information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a productive and fun workplace
CMA Classes (Former Employee), 8460 Shelbyville rd.June 16, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: 15 min breaks
I learned OSHA safety guidelines, how a Venipuncture is performed and Capillaries, and injections
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience, but it is very strict on rules and regulations
Security Guard (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMay 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch, extra pay for higher status, better housing opportunities, and extra opportunities for continuing one's education.
Cons: healthcare, lack of spacial structure for dormitories.
In my experience in Job Corps, I felt like I was the only person who was more mature than anyone in my vocational trait. But, I've learned that it was best to associate myself with other in my age group than with others who are at a younger age group. I have really learned a lot about what to expect from working in the field of security and investigations, – more... and I also learned that I should be able to manage my finance more often. The most enjoyable part about Job Corps was understanding the importance of safety inspections and maintenance reports within the campus. As well as the importance of radio, key, and equipment inventory. The management was actually helpful and it did feel as if they were trying to make everyone feel welcome in their field of interests to their vocational training. My fellow security trainees in the field of security and investigations were actually helpful in cooperation with our superiors and co-workers. The hardest part of the training is memorization and maintaining the crowd-control. But, overall, I would say that vocational training in Job Corps was an incredible experience for me. And I am very greatful for choosing Job Corps. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 11, 2013
Under Government contract and we never knew the contract could be lost.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to learn
Electrician (Former Employee), San,MarcosOctober 17, 2013
All life and work expatitions
economic living skills
working and living with different races and genres
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like
Cook (Former Employee), Morganfield, KYOctober 7, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: na
good place to work pay was good and benfits...............................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting new people
Student (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: getting a check and meeting new people
Cons: being away from family
I got up in the morning got ready for my cleasses for the day. I learned how to get all my goals and worked accomplished for the teathers . I enjoyed meeting new people and becoming good friends with some of the students. The hardest thing about job corp was being away from my family. The most joyable moment was graduating. Making my family proud of – more... me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Vocational Secretary (Former Employee), Reno, NVAugust 22, 2013
Pros: good benefits and working conditions
Cons: disciplining students who break rules
Updated and maintained progress records for graduating seniors in all vocational programs /sorted mail/attended monthly staff meetings and recorded minutes/assisted college students with grant procedures. Open and closed office. Maintained student's daily attendance records/typed correspondence for Vocational Manager.
Job Corps is a great way for students – more... to complete their education and get vocational training at the same time. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the students complete their courses and graduate and placed in a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There were intelligence counselors who were there to help students acquire skills to help them succeed in the job market.
Intern (Former Employee), White SwanJuly 18, 2013
Pros: it was a wonerful place to work
The counselor I worked with would review student achievement each week with their teachers. Help students with problems. White Swan Job Corp had a large per cent of native
American worker, who did a wonderful job. They were smart kind and hard working and did a wonderful job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace with a diverse amout of people
IUOE Pre-Apprenticeship (Current Employee), Edinburgh, INJune 5, 2013
Pros: free luch, free housing
A typical day at work was operating machines. I learned that my work ethics are one of the most important things when doing a job, I also learned how to deal with a diverse gruop of individuals. My supervisor was very good at teaching me new things and new ways to do them. The Co-workers were diverse and I learned to get along with them all. The hardest – more... part of the job was the end of the day, cause I love what I do and I always wanted to finish the job first. The most enjoyable thing was waking up to what I like to do most – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive taught me a lot
Sous Chef/Kitchen Manager (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 4, 2013
A great experience plenty of life lessons learned my instructors and staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a okay place to learn
Landscaper (Former Employee), San Berandino CaJanuary 19, 2013
I would go out in perform daily work went to school at the same time i learned a trade as well as people my co-workers were good people nothing was to hard i really didnt enjoy it but i had fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to learn life skills
Culinary Arts Student (Former Employee), Manhattan, KSDecember 4, 2012
I loved it wish i could do it over again
the hardest part was leaving all my friends and teachers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Student Worker- Retail Sales (Former Employee), Batesville, MSSeptember 26, 2012
Good place to get a skill and learn while getting paid. I learn how to get along with other also. The job was easy because it was hand on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Student (Former Employee), NVSeptember 14, 2012
trade school i was there 10 mounths i pass in sceurity trade it really wasnt a job it was more for school
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start up job
school auto body technic. (Former Employee), Lopez, PAAugust 15, 2012
Pros: great way to start myself off with a first job
Cons: not a long term enviroment
cashier
customer service
delivering customers they're order in a timely manner
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity
Financer Assistant (VOLUNTER) (Former Employee), San Jose CaJuly 23, 2012
Pros: opportunity
Was a great experience , for young ppl to grow up and ready to go to the real world ..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHJune 7, 2012
I enjoy working as a Administrative Assistant, i deal with a lot of different people every day. I work hard to move future in life to be successful.