JobCorps Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a place to learn and to grow in to the work you really want to do in life
Apprentice heavy equipment operator (Current Employee) –  Ozark, ARApril 19, 2017
A typical day at work consist of me and 16 other students going to a job site in vanburen AR were we are doing a restoration on a park that was hit by a tornado in the early two thousands. I have learned work place relationships and ethics, interpersonal skills, personal growth and development, independent living, career and personal planning, communications, multicultural awareness, and information management and much more was trained by to IUOE instructors how to operate and the were the best hands on instructors I have met. The workplace culture was fast to every culture there is almost from Russians to Indians we work hand in hand. the hardest part of my job is not doing above and beyond on some of the work I do but I guess that's why we are human to make some mistakes some times as long as you learn from them. The most enjoyable part of my job is that I love what I do so I never work a day in my life.
Pros
free lunches, free training, run equipment, hands on and much more
Cons
people not wanting to learn wasting my crews time and my instructers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bareable
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  2600 Satterfield Dr. Little Rock, AR 72209January 24, 2017
A typical day here can be flustering
I came to get a degree in being a CNA, will be done by mid February
The management is fine but I don't pay attention to it much
The workplace culture is comforting b/c they encourage you to stay
The hardest part of the job is dealing with mentally disabled residents
The most enjoyable part of the job is communicating with residents
Pros
Free food
Cons
Short 5 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
jobcorps
hotel (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIJanuary 20, 2017
serving and working with other positive work space. helps when you need somewhere to stay, helps find jobs and places to live, helps ou better yourself & your living ability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Student (Former Employee) –  Brunswick, GADecember 26, 2016
Graduated at Brunswick Job Corps as a Landscaping Technician . Also I have work on many projects and have gotten my forklift certification. It's a great workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you dont care about making money its a great place to work.
Residential Advisor (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 17, 2016
Jacksonville Job Corp may look good from the the outside, but inside employees are very unhappy because they are not getting raises or job advancement.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
Cost of living goes up but your pay stay the same, and they dont care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall really good place to learn.
JobCorps Member (Former Employee) –  Nampa, IDOctober 20, 2016
It's basically a trade school, with extra facilities. Trade areas varied between the various "schools." I really liked the art room.
Pros
technically, you work for three hots, a cot and a few extra bucks, but you also learn a lot while there.
Cons
it's a government program where you get very little money. Like I said, a "few" extra bucks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, cohorts are great at their jobs, great Supervisor
Outreach Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington City, DCOctober 18, 2016
The most enjoyable part of working for JobCorps Outreach and Admissions is seeing our students complete the JC programs successfully; I also have a wonderful Supervisor.
Pros
Metro accessible, location is great, Great Supervisor, Great Co workers
Cons
New Managment, No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Student Tutor (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDOctober 13, 2016
this place is way too unorganized and should be shut down, staff are so ucomprehensive and unaware to their surroundings
this is by ar not a dream job and i would not ever rocomend anyone to work there
Pros
free lunch
Cons
horrible employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to become independent
Mechanics & Repairers Technician Trainee (Former Employee) –  Lopez, PADecember 28, 2015
RedRock was a place were i attended academics and trade. A typical day at JobCorps was the same everyday. Waking up showering, going to breakfast, following that i would go to trade or school until lunch, and after the trade or school was over the rest of the day was mine. I learned something new every day at RedRock because it was a school. The management worked well with all the people on campus they would always have time to talk to me. The hardest part about JobCorps was not being able to see family or friends for the 9 months i was there. I enjoyed learning how to become a more independent young man, and I better my comunications and overall workskills during my time on the RedRock .
Pros
free food, place to sleep, and payed to learn
Cons
Not being able to leave campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
felicity maintenance
job training school (Former Employee) –  glnmont NY 12077August 14, 2015
job corps is a trade program what i Christopher have learned at job corps •
Ability to perform any kind of task without any hesitation


Possess good technical knowledge


Customer service specialty


roofing removal and replacement of shingles


dry wall insulation and repair


interior and exterior framing trim and painting


siding and basic facility maintenance


remove and replace tiles


remove and replace carpet


cut and trim pipe


basic landscaping


literature righting


excellent communication and customer services skills


excellent right proses


I am an excellent motivator speaker



and the hardest part of the job is not knowing what to do and still trying to do it. And the most enjoyable part of the job is learning new things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about JobCorps?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive on hands learning
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brunswick gaJuly 16, 2015
We learned many different things at job corps.We learned how to deal with difficult patients,Some with disabilities.We worked in many different environments such as daycare,hospitals,nursing homes.
Pros
Bad living area
Cons
I learned a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun workplace where you can get a free trade and free highschool diploma and when your not doing trade work your on yor own time
mdo/material handling (Former Employee) –  southhaven/msMay 29, 2015
a tipical day at work would be like you wakeing up at six on da dot and going to breakfast and you come back to your dorms after your done eating. about an hour later you either go to your trade or your class which is ged/high school.but i got my high school diploma first then i went on to my trade .when you first get to the mdo trade at nine thirty on the dot you first put out things that needed to be put out that you putted up from the other day like cones which helps you to stop and navagate your derection of where you are goingwith a machine like a forklift
Pros
free education
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
God experience
Leadership Eperience (Former Employee) –  Laona, WIMarch 19, 2014
Job corps was just a place to learn a new trade and get any education that you needed to start a career
My leadership experience gave me confidence that I can be good in any retail management, from having the higher authority of so many people that were also way older than me. It was a great experience as far as that
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like a Trade School
Welder (Former Employee) –  Moses Lake, WAMarch 11, 2014
Typical work week, wake up and go have breakfast, after that do chores in the dorms for about an hour. 8 am work starts, i would learn to weld and practice each day. weekends were ok, general closed campus. Hardest part was staying out of the drama, and adapting to living on a campus with co-workers 24/7
Pros
Free meals, education and pay
Cons
Living on campus with everyone, the drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Atmospher
Internship (Former Employee) –  san marcos txMay 12, 2013
first job out of school. Great opportunity but only a internship. I didn't want to leave
Pros
friends
Cons
cut to short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An environment to "upgrade" yourself
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 3, 2013
While employed with Jobcorps I have noticed that environment will help you learn about yourself as well as how to interact with individuals of all different backgrounds.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welding shop
Welder (Former Employee) –  Puxico,MissouriFebruary 15, 2013
Well first I will get to the shop at 7:30am.We would have a ten or fifteen min meeting about the basic procedures of welding.Each individual have their own welding booth.so our goal is to learn every welding position from 1F-4F to1G-4G.we would go to our welding and instructor so he can judge our welds.so he make us cut the T-weld or the V-groove open to check for pin hole or undercutts.Also the penetration have to be excellent.If he find a pin holes or undercutts between the two pieces we have to do the process all over again.also we learn how to use the cutting torch, grinders ,using diferrent power tools and more.We take a lunch break at 11:30am and two 15min breaks.My co-workers are really helpful the hardest part of the job was learning how to weld,but the enjoyable part was practicing and seeing the effort of improving of beeing a good welder.we work 8hours a day.we clean up the whole shop after we done and each day a individual well get a chance to be Forman just so we can get the feeling of being in charge and steping up to get the job done also being a good leader.After the shop is clean we wait until its time to go home.Jobcorp is a very positive program
Pros
free lunches
Cons
two 15 minute break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun with trips
Earle C. Clements (Former Employee) –  Morganfield, KYNovember 2, 2012
They gives information on how to do an job search and interview.
They teach about managing money.
It was hard being away from home.
It was hard getting up early in the mornings
Pros
free housing, food, clothing, education
Cons
short breaks, long hours in class
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a trade and High School Diploma
Student (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 28, 2012
other than the few good people at job corps the facility isnt all the claim them to be .
Pros
all free
Cons
i would have rather stayed in school then to go to jobcorps
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JobCorps. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

60%
10 ratings
Add your rating