JobCorps Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
felicity maintenance
job training school (Former Employee) –  glnmont NY 12077August 14, 2015
job corps is a trade program what i Christopher have learned at job corps •
Ability to perform any kind of task without any hesitation


Possess good technical knowledge


Customer service specialty


roofing removal and replacement of shingles


dry wall insulation and repair


interior and exterior framing trim and painting


siding and basic facility maintenance


remove and replace tiles


remove and replace carpet


cut and trim pipe


basic landscaping


literature righting


excellent communication and customer services skills


excellent right proses


I am an excellent motivator speaker



and the hardest part of the job is not knowing what to do and still trying to do it. And the most enjoyable part of the job is learning new things
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive on hands learning
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brunswick gaJuly 16, 2015
We learned many different things at job corps.We learned how to deal with difficult patients,Some with disabilities.We worked in many different environments such as daycare,hospitals,nursing homes.
Pros
Bad living area
Cons
I learned a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun workplace where you can get a free trade and free highschool diploma and when your not doing trade work your on yor own time
mdo/material handling (Former Employee) –  southhaven/msMay 29, 2015
a tipical day at work would be like you wakeing up at six on da dot and going to breakfast and you come back to your dorms after your done eating. about an hour later you either go to your trade or your class which is ged/high school.but i got my high school diploma first then i went on to my trade .when you first get to the mdo trade at nine thirty on the dot you first put out things that needed to be put out that you putted up from the other day like cones which helps you to stop and navagate your derection of where you are goingwith a machine like a forklift
Pros
free education
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
God experience
Leadership Eperience (Former Employee) –  Laona, WIMarch 19, 2014
Job corps was just a place to learn a new trade and get any education that you needed to start a career
My leadership experience gave me confidence that I can be good in any retail management, from having the higher authority of so many people that were also way older than me. It was a great experience as far as that
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like a Trade School
Welder (Former Employee) –  Moses Lake, WAMarch 11, 2014
Typical work week, wake up and go have breakfast, after that do chores in the dorms for about an hour. 8 am work starts, i would learn to weld and practice each day. weekends were ok, general closed campus. Hardest part was staying out of the drama, and adapting to living on a campus with co-workers 24/7
Pros
free meals, education and pay
Cons
living on campus with everyone, the drama
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Atmospher
Internship (Former Employee) –  san marcos txMay 12, 2013
first job out of school. Great opportunity but only a internship. I didn't want to leave
Pros
friends
Cons
cut to short
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An environment to "upgrade" yourself
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 3, 2013
While employed with Jobcorps I have noticed that environment will help you learn about yourself as well as how to interact with individuals of all different backgrounds.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welding shop
Welder (Former Employee) –  Puxico,MissouriFebruary 15, 2013
Well first I will get to the shop at 7:30am.We would have a ten or fifteen min meeting about the basic procedures of welding.Each individual have their own welding booth.so our goal is to learn every welding position from 1F-4F to1G-4G.we would go to our welding and instructor so he can judge our welds.so he make us cut the T-weld or the V-groove open to check for pin hole or undercutts.Also the penetration have to be excellent.If he find a pin holes or undercutts between the two pieces we have to do the process all over again.also we learn how to use the cutting torch, grinders ,using diferrent power tools and more.We take a lunch break at 11:30am and two 15min breaks.My co-workers are really helpful the hardest part of the job was learning how to weld,but the enjoyable part was practicing and seeing the effort of improving of beeing a good welder.we work 8hours a day.we clean up the whole shop after we done and each day a individual well get a chance to be Forman just so we can get the feeling of being in charge and steping up to get the job done also being a good leader.After the shop is clean we wait until its time to go home.Jobcorp is a very positive program
Pros
free lunches
Cons
two 15 minute break
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun with trips
Earle C. Clements (Former Employee) –  Morganfield, KYNovember 2, 2012
They gives information on how to do an job search and interview.
They teach about managing money.
It was hard being away from home.
It was hard getting up early in the mornings
Pros
free housing, food, clothing, education
Cons
short breaks, long hours in class
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a trade and High School Diploma
Student (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 28, 2012
other than the few good people at job corps the facility isnt all the claim them to be .
Pros
all free
Cons
i would have rather stayed in school then to go to jobcorps
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4