Joe's Crab Shack Employee Reviews

Found 543 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced environment
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJFebruary 22, 2017
I really enjoyed working here. Great coworkers and great guests. Really was able to utilize my skills. I'm very sorry they went out of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXFebruary 22, 2017
Joe's Crab Shaq offers a great benefit program also programs for advancement in management. Joe's Crab Shack has a bonus program that's very attainable. Joe's Crab Shack also gives you opportunity for relocation with the relocation paid by company. Joe's Crab Shack also pay scale is on the top end. Joe's Crab Shack is also a company with very good job security
Pros
Job security and benefits
Cons
They offer 55 work weeks most companies just offer 50 hour work weeks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very productive and fun job to work at.
Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLFebruary 21, 2017
At joes Crab shack I learned to be a hostess. It was my first job working in a restaurant where you have to be fast paced and able to communicate with the customers. I loved when we got to do birthday games with our customers and also dancing for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and can be fun.
Restaurant Waiter (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 15, 2017
The management team seems a little unmotivated and the job culture sometimes has a tendency to cross personal life and work a little much. Very fast pace with a lot of advancement opportunities.
Pros
Good money nightly. Lenient managers. Professional but laid back environment
Cons
Management focuses. Sometimes things fall apart during a shift and it seems like people don't care.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Welcoming
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 12, 2017
Loved the variety of personalities on the team, I enjoyed working here because the staff was very welcoming to me and I felt right at home. Although my personal circumstances didn't allow to complete a full year I would've loved to do so.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Hanover, MDFebruary 7, 2017
I began working with Joe's Crab Shack when I was sixteen. I am now 26 and a recent graduate from the University of Maryland. As excited as I am to take on the next chapter of my life with a new career I am also sad to be leaving such a great company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall not a great company to work for
GENERAL MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 7, 2017
Overall a great learning experience. Down part is that the upper management does not support 100 % . Decisions are made through without the restaurant or crew in mind.
Pros
people we work with
Cons
upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family place
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 6, 2017
I met great people working for the short time I worked at Joe's Crab Shack. My managers were awesome. I learned a lot about how to work with people. The hardest part of the job for me was figuring out what buttons to push on the register in all honesty. The most enjoyable was the people and the environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, NJFebruary 5, 2017
Great job just seasonal. But the hours are not passed around evenly but other then that its an ok job thats all i have to say
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very snooty work place
Server (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville Beach, FLJanuary 30, 2017
I opened the restaurant and normally worked lunch
We were required to learn a very legthley menu
It was in a nice part of town and the tips were great
Pros
great tips
Cons
could only work lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No more dancing
Server/Waiter (Current Employee) –  South Plainfield, NJJanuary 28, 2017
I watching my table look at me dance and while I know their food is waiting in the back and their angry because they're not eating.
Sorry kid, I gotta cha cha slide before you get you chicken tenders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Joes Crab Shack
Server (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJanuary 26, 2017
Joes crab shack has to be one of my most favorited joes ever. The dances we did made the day go by faster, the customers we've encountered would always enjoy themselves and the food is GREAT. ALSO the pay was mighty great..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TX 77550January 26, 2017
this was one of the best jobs i've had. the management was good and the atmosphere was real nice. the only trouble i had with them is when they shut down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodbye Kmart
Server/Trainer/Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 26, 2017
The customers I came in co tact with made it worth it. Management was a little rough. Not sad to see that the place is now permanately close. Thank you for being my first job but good bye.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To obtain an entry level postion
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2017
Clean and sanitized kitchen utensils an work area.demonstrated ability to communicate with front and back of the house staff
Pros
We had fun
Cons
It was never am nad day when i work in joes crab shack
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work[lace
Server/ Flex Manager (Former Employee) –  Katy, TXJanuary 18, 2017
The restaurant was a busy fun place to work. I typically waited up to eight tables a shift. I learned hoe to stay organized while wildly multi tasking. The co workers have a great team attitude. The hardest times was when the eatery was slow with little business. Best days are when it was so busy the wait would be up to two hours. It was exciting to learn how to keep up with the pace.
Pros
The food
Cons
The hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Area Training Manager/ Bartender/Key (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJanuary 16, 2017
Fun time dancing and traveling sometimes it gets tiring but I absolutely love working there. I traveled all the time but it was a experience I won't forget
Pros
Crab
Cons
Salad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCJanuary 13, 2017
Great place to work, excellent benefits. Servers have opportunity to make excellent money in season. Start up managers have excellent advance opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As with everything in life ups and downs
Cook (Former Employee) –  South Plainfield, NJJanuary 11, 2017
My biggest complaint is Management is always changing. During my 2 years there I worked for 5 different managers. Each one ran the place different and each one made the same error never introduced themselves just started giving orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Executive Kitchen Manager (Current Employee) –  Westbury, NYJanuary 9, 2017
gained culinary knowledge
hard working co workers, and team.
staff dances and great culture
long hours
short staffed management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Joe's Crab Shack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 544 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5