Joe's Crab Shack

368 reviews

Joe's Crab Shack Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you are looking for advancement
Manager (Former Employee), Lauderhill, FLJuly 15, 2015
Pros: Great place for advancement
Cons: Too many hours
A very good and stable company to work for. Very well run to be able to continually serve the customer
A great team effort is always a plus
Not very good with balancing a work life and a home life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment.
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 13, 2015
Pros: Employee dicounts and benefits, friendly managers and employee's.
Cons: No breaks, very long hours.
Besides working very long hours with no breaks staff and employee's were nice and fun to work with,I made a bad decision to leave because of long work hours and will miss this place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
active always on the go
Server/Waiter/Cook (Former Employee), Humble, TXJuly 7, 2015
Pros: new poeple
Cons: weekends
handling cash,taking orders and relaying orders to cooks, make bar drink some times stocking,inventory.working big partys.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable
Server/ Bartender/ Brand Ambassador/ Asst. Manager (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLJuly 7, 2015
Pros: employee discount
I have loved working at Joe's Crab Shack they have gave me time to jump around in different areas and learn all new things. I started as a server and then began bar tending, hosting, being there brand ambassador and now even a part time manager. They are a fun and great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers, management issues, lack of communication
Server / Bartender (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 7, 2015
Pros: half off when I ate there, fun coworkers
Cons: Never got break, communication was bad
The coworkers here were absolutely wonderful. I hated leaving only because I would be missing the other servers I worked with daily. The management team, other than the General Manager Jim, was very uninvolved. Devin was very productive manager as well, although he did a lot of morning prep work and ordering so he was mostly in the back of house. Communication between management and staff was always an issue. Never were we aware of a task we needed to do until right before we started. We were very rarely given a heads up as to if the promos were changing or a menu change. As I said, the coworkers were amazing, just upper management needs more involved and better communication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great For a side job
Server/Host (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILJuly 6, 2015
Pros: great employees
Cons: unreasonable shifts
Start your day off by Preparing your staions, followed by greeting, seating and serving guests. The last thing to do is clean stations and get ready for the next day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment Focused on Customer Satisfaction However Lacks Professional Managerial Staff
Manager (Former Employee), Savannah, GAJuly 6, 2015
Pros: Interaction with Guests, Respect from Employees, Clean/Organized Environement
Cons: Inexperienced Management, Lack of Managerial Respect
Coming into work as a manager, I would first do a safe count. This ensures that the restaurant is prepared for sales for the remainder of the day. Once this is completed, I would then do a pre-shift meeting with the servers and bartenders. During this I would go over drink and food specials, any particular parties, and give a short pep talk about the night ahead. After this meeting is finished I then walk the restaurant floor and talk to guests, ensuring that they are fully satisfied with their experience. If bartenders, servers, or chefs need any help during the night, I would assist them to ensure guests food and drinks came out on time. At the end of the night I would perform check outs from servers and bartenders, recount the safe and cash drawers, then walk down the restaurant to ensure cleanliness throughout. Before locking up, I would send corporate all of our sale numbers, run a labor report, and prepare the money drop for the next day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if this is a second job or if you have someone else to pay your bills.
Server (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCJuly 6, 2015
Pros: 50% discount
Cons: Management, lack of work ethic from a lot of the staff, undertrained
I have been an employee for years and feel that I have given this place a good run and have the experience to speak on this establishment.
Expect to either work hard and never get appreciated for the work you do or slack off miserably while you watch the very few servers do their job and yours for you. Management has let this restaurant slowly deteriorate. In the past there were many servers and host who helped each other and we all made money. Now there are servers who don't even know their basic jobs and can't be expected to pull their weight. When it comes to advancement the general manager would rather advance people based on favoritism and not work ethic. I know of a few employees who were actually good workers who expressed their interest to advance on multiple occasions and were never promoted. Some ended up finding new jobs. On top of everything else there are too many servers on the floor at one time most of the time. It's hard to make money off of only a few tables because we have to split 20 tables between 12 or 13 servers. To the restaurants defense I understand why there are soooo many servers. They feel like any less than that we would not be able to take care of our tables but in all honesty that's only half true. If management spent more time hiring competent HARD WORKING people they wouldn't need so many on the floor because those people would be able to make decent money while helping each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cook (Former Employee), Henrietta, NYJuly 6, 2015
lots of stable jobs to do. always stay busy good company to work for. always have something to do. fun place to work at. management team always made sure you were working. at times it got hectic but overall its a good place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Server (Former Employee), Sandy, UTJune 30, 2015
The singing and dancing at Joe's Crab Shack make for a fun work environment. Who doesn't love to be able to be goofy while at work, dress up the guests and embarrass them on their special occasions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Server/Hostess (Former Employee), Bossier City, LaJune 30, 2015
Very fun to work at. Didn't get breaks on the weekends when you worked doubles because we would get so busy. Overall just fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Host (Current Employee), Hanover, MDJune 29, 2015
Its fun working at Joes Crab Shack. The staff is cool as well as the managers. Some people may think that being a host/hostess is an easy job, but its not. It can be challenging at times especially when its busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Restaurant Job
Brand Ambassador (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 28, 2015
Is your very typical restaurant job, pretty decent managers. Plus side is making above average money since the restaurant is almost always busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever Changing work inviornment
Director of Operations (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 27, 2015
The company is always changing and evolving. Must be able to think on your toes and to be able to lead your people to move with the changes quickly. Great seafood and a fun place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Hostess (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXJune 24, 2015
Pros: 50% discount on food
Cons: short breaks
-Opened up the restaurant an about two hours it's supposed to be oped, cleaned the restrooms, organized the table display cleaned the windows
- Seated the guest, gave them a wait time, took reservations and worked the floor plan
-The co-workers were friendly and nice and a very fun atmosphere to work at
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Server/Host (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 21, 2015
Pros: discounted food, fast cash
Cons: long hours, always busy
Joe's was a fun place to work, it was really laid back. Easy crew to work with, and the tips were pretty decent most of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxxxx
General Manager (Former Employee), Nyack, NYJune 17, 2015
Many promises made,not too many completed. Very shady inventory and accounting practices. Standards and practices would change from day to day, depending on which upper management individual would be in the building
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good tips, horrible store
Server (Former Employee), Morrow, GAJune 15, 2015
Pros: long hours, not worth it
Cons: No breaks, lack of good mgt.
this Joe's sucks, nothing positive but the tips! Management is bias. Servers run the store not management. Not sense of control, rules or equality. The Joe's crab crab in liburn is soooo much better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fast pace work environment
Server/ Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 13, 2015
Joes Crab Shack in California is where I worked for 3.5 years while I was in college. This particular location is the number one store within the company. Sales for a 4 week span were near $1 million in the summer time. My average sales for one 6 hour shift was $1,200 with help from my unselling tactics. I was also in charge of training our new hires the proper procedures for our restaurant. During my employment I also raised over $2,500 for charity while organizing several other charitable events that the restaurant sponsored. Truly a fun work environment, which was extremely fast pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great back of house crew
Line Cook (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 10, 2015
If everybody work as a team things could get done more faster and much easier. If manager actually help the line in need or severs if they get to busy out more then the customer complaints would decrease by at least 10%.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
9900 Westpark Drive Suite 300
Houston, TX 77063
Revenue
$5M to $25M (USD)
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
Joe's Crab Shack website

Twitter

Facebook