John Crane Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job Ever
Cost Accountant (Former Employee) –  Morton Grove, ILJuly 27, 2017
This department is horrible they don't know how to manage people or the department they yell at you for no reason and don't let you take a vacation until you have been there for a year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodplace to work
Senior Precision Seal Repair Tech (Former Employee) –  Morton Grove, ILJune 28, 2017
I worked my way up the ladder and started at a level i and made it to a level iii. I learned a lot about seals and they supported me and continued my education
Pros
lots of work
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't bother
Sr. Repair Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cerritos, CAJune 14, 2017
Flowserve has killed this company, don't work here.
The smiths group doesn't care about anything but is making their numbers, you are completely expendable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
Category Buyer (Current Employee) –  Morton Grove, ILMarch 23, 2017
Consistently busy dealing with requisitions and vendors. Provides a good inter company atmosphere. I was able to move from the planning team to the purchasing team due to a very good recommendation by a current employee. Overall good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Titanic
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Morton Grove, ILMarch 14, 2017
I was at crane almost 30 years as you can see by the other reviews it was ok about 10 + years ago NOT NOW Management made everybody's head spin a bunch of no minds layoffs were done without a 2nd thought of seniority as they cleaned house of almost everyone with 15 to 30 years of service very sad! If you want to be a punching bag for management this is the perfect job for you
Pros
Teach you to swim
Cons
Ship is sinking
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report

Comment – August 31, 2017

This person is dead on they got rid of experienced machinist and now looking to hire low cost replacements!!!! Go elsewhere no loyalty here

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAD Design department is for beginners only
CAD Drafter (Former Employee) –  Swedesboro, NJMarch 8, 2017
The work is not challenging. They want robots who show up on time and never call out, and dont care about performance. Dont ever expect a decent raise, even if you can handle the workload of 2 people.
Pros
Financially stable corporation
Cons
You're just a replaceable body in a chair
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here was great
CNC Mazak Mill Operator (Former Employee) –  Morton Grove, ILMarch 5, 2017
Working her was great. Everyone was very nice and helpful. If I wasn't going to school full time I would have stayed long term.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secretary/customer service rep
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Taft, CAJanuary 19, 2017
My day consist of, opening office, opening and responding to emails,
answering phones, A/P, A/R, filing, data entry. I had a great manager so I would help him with anything he needed like inventory reports and composing letters and even delivered parts for them. I worked with all men so that could be good at some points not much drama
Pros
i had a great manager
Cons
company closed our office
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Middle of the road Company
Global Human Resources Business Partner (Current Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXJanuary 11, 2017
Good place for new college grads to get their feet wet, but not many will tick around for the long term. Limited growth and constant leadership turnover.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Leadership turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New management only cares about numbers
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Morton Grove, ILDecember 16, 2016
Currently business is down due to oil and gas prices, management cares more about numbers to report to investors than developing their employees. Everybody is looking out for themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Machinist (Current Employee) –  Sweadsboro njNovember 29, 2016
Good place to work most if the time. Work is getting very slow and believe layoffs are coming. It's a small shop so training can come easy. Everyone is friendly.
Pros
Small shop
Cons
Short breaks. Not much work to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manifacturer sucker rods for oil wells
ASSEMBLY WORKER (Former Employee) –  Big Spring, TX 79720November 16, 2016
Working for John Crane was a great opportunity for employment, they had good benefits, good staff. However I was temporarily worker so when the business was bought out I was laid off and unable to get unemployment for I only worked there temporarily.
Pros
steady job
Cons
lay offs due to oil cut backs
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean, orderly and small machine shop with great pay but terrible management.
CNC Machinist (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 13, 2016
The Baton Rouge branch is ran by extremely pessimistic machinist employees that have been there for over 20 years, and unfortunately, they continue to run the shop as if it were the 1980's without any exception. There is also no room for advancement.
Pros
Clean, small shop
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a job.
CNC Programmer/ CNC Machinist (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAOctober 31, 2016
Management is a big good ole boy club that wants only yes men working there. Most of the co-workers were hard working people. The hardest part of the job was trying to be productive, management was wanting things done the old fashion way.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place is gooing down.
CNC Machinist/Programmer (Current Employee) –  Morton Grove, ILSeptember 11, 2016
Use to be very good company with good benefits.So far there are layoffs.The work force will be reduced dramatically.
May b it is going to close completely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management has no clue
manufacturing engineer (Former Employee) –  Morton Grove, ILAugust 10, 2016
it used to be a great place to work, the job was very diverse and people actually liked working there, but management changed in the last few years, they became so obsessed about safety and lost track of personal values, which is what made the company great
Pros
associates are good people to work with
Cons
management has no clue
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Group Lead Planning/Purchasing (Current Employee) –  GeorgiaMarch 22, 2016
I love what I do at John Crane. It has it's challenges which is what I earn for. Obstacles to over come. I've learned a lot and worked with some wonderful people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding company
PRECISION ASSEMBLER (Current Employee) –  Morton Grove, ILMarch 17, 2016
John crane is a very rewarding company..Good benefits and work hours.John crane has taught me more about the oil refinery business and the committments it make to it customers,subcontractors and employees.
Pros
Flexible dept, Good co-workers
Cons
No cafeteria
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non challening enviroment
MACHINE OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Morton Grove, ILMarch 5, 2016
John crane a decent company . Everyone does their job and goes home. There is no real incentive programs or ways to elevate your position. I would like a more challenging enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Driven Large Corporation
2D & 3D CAD Technician (Current Employee) –  SoutheastFebruary 9, 2016
2D & 3D Design and drafting of Mechanical components
utilizing multiple databases
I learned the ins and out of seal applications
Management was hit or miss. Not very well organized
Small Engineering Dept. with two 30+ years co-workers/ supervisor
Hardest part of my job was understanding the Salesman request while maintaining standards and Engineering Practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at John Crane. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

62%
29 ratings
Add your rating