John Crane Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
warehouse (Former Employee), Morton Grove, ILMay 5, 2015
al in all good company. great benefits. able to job transfer in multiple departments within the company as well as relocate. dont expect much of a raise for your yearly review . with patience you can go far if u just put your head down and work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Machinist (Former Employee), Grafton, WIMarch 1, 2015
Pros: goo pay and benefits.
Cons: human resources structure
the only issue I ran into was that the corporate structure made things very difficult. The human resources dept. was in another state and not very well organized at the time I was employed there. I was – more... off for 3 days for medical purposes and it took them close to 2 months to get the Ok from corp. for me to come back even though they were busy and when I came back I decided I couldn't stay at a place I could not depend on in these circumstances. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job environement not to open for change enovation
Machinist (Current Employee), Morton Grove, ILDecember 3, 2014
productive but not room for improvement for someone with my skills and talents although it s a great place to work.they have chances for advancement for entry level machinist me my self i am looking for more of a challenge.i enjoyed training new operators .benefits are fair i have met alot of good people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No motivation to do better
Shop (Former Employee), Deer parkNovember 12, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: poor pay
Company was bought out by john crane, drastic changes were made . Sick days were taken away reviews were made annually which didn't really matter because you would get a 2% raise if you were doing good – more... and will get the same as the guy next to you that scrapped and was late 3 times a week so there's no motivation to do better . People that have no experience with the product were managing the shop . Quality dropped with time. If you were given a promotion raise it would take up to 8 months to actually get it and be effective . Would not take care of employees that were experienced but yet would hire people that didn't know how to machine at higher pay rate and you would have to train them. If you're lazy and have poor work ethics this is the place to apply because you won't get fired . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back environment, low stress level
CNC Machinist (Current Employee), Morton Grove ILNovember 11, 2014
Pros: no micro managing, variety of nationalities & cultures
Cons: minimal order variations ( same jobs all the time)
Safety 1st, quality 2nd, and then quantity last . Always seeking methods of improvements for safety, production & employee unity.
Open door policy with management. No concern is insignificant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
John Crane
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Morton Grove, ILSeptember 19, 2014
John Crane is a great place to work. Management is great to work with and provide you the tool in order to complete you job in a safe but efficient manner. The hardest part of my job is learning all the different types of parts that are in inventory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, easy to work in atmosphere, terrible compensation
Seal Technician (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXAugust 5, 2014
Pros: easy going work place, great management
Cons: poor compensation
this is a great place for someone to start out in the mechanical field, relaxed work atmosphere even when things are hectic, lenient management, lots to learn, however if you are experienced in mechanics you will not be properly compensated for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You do not want to work hear
Mechanical QC/QA Supervisor (Current Employee), BATON ROUGEAugust 3, 2014
you do not want to work hear management is very BAD!!!!! THE HARDES PART OF THE JOB IS DILLING WITH BAD MANAGEMENT AND ON A VANCEMENT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work at
Master Production Scheduler (Current Employee), Pharr, TXJuly 23, 2014
I have learned a lot of new skills and I have a great relationship with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 star's are you serious?
Manufacturing (Current Employee), ChicagoJuly 23, 2014
Pros: holiday pay, a/c
Cons: no respect, high insurance, lack of intelligence
Worst company I have ever worked for. I hear is was great about 10 years ago. It is owned by Smiths Group which is U.K. Everyone proceed with caution unless you are British. Let's see first off the managers – more... are way under qualified. You will only recieve a 2% raise a year across the board. So my advice is just relax and take it easy, no need to be a hero. You will not get rewarded for it, trust me. Everyone that made this company are dropping like flies. Might I add no bonuses are giving despite a record breaking year. Someone compaired it to a morgue which is true. You will not advance unless someone dies or retires. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanical Engineering Internship
Mechanical Engineer Intern, Type 28 Gas Seals Unit (Former Employee), Morton Grove, ILJuly 20, 2014
A good company to start up your career, learn different things. But I depends on In which department you work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
John Crane has good people to work with
Assembly Planner (Former Employee), Morton Grove, ILJune 4, 2014
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: too many changes within management
John Crane was a good company to work for. I took care of a certain seal line in my department and was happy doing my work.
Our department was under too many management changes and they decided that I, – more... (together with 11 others), was not need so I was laid off.
I made lots of friends at John Crane. Most of them felt sad when they laid all the people off that day.
I can say the hardest part of the job is when I could not deliver what the customers needed because I was short of component/s to make the seal/s. The most enjoyable is when I make customers happy by shipping the seal/s they need when they had breakdowns. I really made lots of friends when I worked at JCI. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exposure and experience working with the top management
PMO Analyst (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 2, 2013
It's a temp position where I am paid on an hourly basis although the position was supposed to be temp to hire it's predominantly project based. Overall it has been a good experience and I enjoyed working on a global project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A huge campus with many departments, that have 3 shifts.
Custom nonstandard project coordinator (Current Employee), Morton Grove, ILSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: they don't hesitate to purchase a tool or anything to make things run smooth.
Cons: commuting
. I was hired as a temp to shadow board parts for testing (they have over 1,000 different set ups). I also participate and create various items for their Kaizen events.
. What I have learned is to apply – more... my field experience as an auto mechanic to a manufacturing environment.
. My immediate supervisors keep adding odd tasks, to my regular duties, to prolong my stay, until they can place me.
.The majority of my co-workers have worked there for over 15 years.
.The hardest part of my job is, at times finding assistance from the production workers.
. The most enjoyable part of the job is, looking back at the ideas that I have come up with, and still see them still in use and unmodified six months later. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Stockroom Clerk (Former Employee), Cranston, RISeptember 23, 2013
Pros: clean and safe atmosphere.
Cons: standing on cement floors
Typical day at work involved customer relations and accuracy relating to worldwide dissemination of products. I learned many aspects of the oil and gas industry. My co-workers were incredible machinists and engineers of their field. I enjoyed my job, because it was extremely challenging and very fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
last resort
machinist (Former Employee), Swedesboro, NJMarch 23, 2013
decent place to work if you like being lied to by lower and middle management,and upper management has no clue what their managers are doing.i assume they are snowballing upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty Workplace, like working in a Coal Mine.
Planner/Scheduler (Former Employee), Crystal Lake, ILMay 23, 2012
Pros: free lunch certain times of the week.
Cons: dirty working enviroment.
John Crane Manufactures Carbon seals, The nature of the Product
makes for a Dirty environment. Shop Personel seemed nice but most
of the Management Team worried more about their own little piece of the – more... world and there was alot of Politics involved with the Job.

The most challenging part of the Job was the conflicting derections
that were given as to how Management was going to operate the everyday business end of Production. – less