Find companies:
John Muir Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

John Muir Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Concord, CAJune 27, 2014
Pros: good compensation
Cons: laid off
Great learning opportunity. Good working environment and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a consultant
Epic Go-Live Resource Manager - IP & AMB (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CAMay 12, 2014
This job entailed managing the Go-Live Implementation for over 150 resources. It was challenging at times, yet very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy Large Laboratory processing and billing
Patient Account Rep. II - Accounts Receivable (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CAApril 24, 2014
Pros: i enjoyed my job and the pay
Cons: inconsistencies with management
A typical day for me was the first person to open my department considered "Cash Posting" area. The day would start by downloading the previous day's postings and reconciling with general accounting
in order to balance the previous days work. The day would move on by downloading
check files through "Wells Fargo Merchant" website and transferring files – more... to an excel spreadsheet in order to either manually or electronically post to the patients accounts, this would be the same type of process for credit card payments all preprocessed from
Wells Fargo Lockbox. Once these tasks are completed I would move onto electronically or manually posting Insurance payments which would sometimes include several electronic all error's and old take time to investigate the posting error's.

I enjoyed learning new tasks or taking on task and training other employee's.. I worked with a great group of women some of us longer then other's my particular group consisted of 4 women and we all shared or traded tasks weekly or monthly depending on what the job was. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total Team player, Dedicated, Reliable, Experienced and Knowledgeable
Lab Assistant - Micro, Chem, Hema (Former Employee), Concord, CAMarch 31, 2014
I am a very reliable, dedicated, and a total team player.
I can multitask and systematic at the same time.
I can handle big workloads
I can work independently or with the group.
I can work without supervision
I am always patient-friendly
I get along well with my co-workers
I always love and enjoy working
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love this hospital
ER Registration Clerk (Former Employee), Concord, CAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: good jobs
Cons: nobody leaves
love everything about this hospital with the patients and employee..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment
Sr. Sales Representative/JMH Physician Liaison (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: supportive organization, dependable, great benefits
Cons: recurrent reorganization of departments
Positive work experience. Directors and managers care about the well being and personal growth of employees. Great employee engagement and supportive staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked working for john muir health
Account Representative II / Refund Analyst (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CAJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: good people to work for
Cons: i dont have any
I really liked working here the people are nice and my responsibility was credit on over paid patient accounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great learning experience
Assistant Project Manager (Former Employee), Walnut CreekJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: fun position
Cons: temporary position
Working at John Muir Health as an Assistant Project Manager was a great learning experience for me. I completed new tasks everyday. Most of my duties required me to work on Adobe Acrobat, Microsoft outlook and Microsoft excel. I created many drawings of the new Outpatient Center in Walnut Creek that enabled Project Managers and IT analyst to navigate – more... around the new building without much difficulty. I also worked closely with the Project Managers of the IT department and on somedays I would work as an IT technician. I managed the budget by creating budget proposals. The hardest part of the job was to please all of the Project Managers at once. It seems like they would always bump heads and have different opinions, i did what I thought was best for the situation. The most enjoyable part of the job was the interaction with everyone (CEOs, Project Managers, Technicians and everyone that moved to the new Outpatient center. I met a lot of great people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive environment, staff was fun to work with.
IT Consultant (Current Employee), Brentwood, CADecember 31, 2013
Pros: very good atmosphere with supportive staff as well as management.
Cons: the position is temporary
I enjoy coming to work everyday. As an IT consultant I am working directly with the public, as well as the staff. I am able to educate people regarding password security and how best to apply it. The management went out of their way to ensure I had a prime location and comfortable seating and supplies. The most difficult part of the job was getting – more... people online (figuratively and literally) to sign up for the online service as it was to their benefit to be able to access the John Muir Health system on line. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing people's reaction when I demoed the online services and how they could communicate directly through the online service. People went home and then often came back to personally thank me for setting them up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Patient Account Manager (Former Employee), Concord, CaDecember 8, 2013
Pros: benefits, staff, opportunity
Working with the John Muir Health organization was the best experience of my career. Great benefits, fantastic management, great opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare costs crunch
Support Services (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CANovember 10, 2013
Pros: great compensation
Cons: poor work/life balance for remaining staff
Management is making overly aggressive cuts to staffing, anticipating a reduction in revenues due to ACA. Suspect in a year or two, they will have a staff shortage instead.

Currently in a force reduction, health-system wide.

Employees that are staying are well compensated. Work/Life Balance will be poor. Management style is mixed depending on where – more... you are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing professionals
RN Case Manager (Current Employee), Concord, CAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: encouragement to excellence
Cons: they are currently moving to an all full-time staff.
In over 30 years in the medical setting, John Muir is by far the best place to find yourself whether as an employee or as a patient. The people I work with are the most professional, knowledgeable, proficient and caring I have ever found in my 28 year nursing career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Concord, CAOctober 13, 2013
I really enjoy working for John Muir. I would highly recommend any in search of a good work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working group of people!
Patient Account Representative (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CAOctober 2, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: paid time off bucket which consisted of: sick, holidays, vacations.
Typical day very busy from start to end. A variety of work load,not just doing the same thing all day long. I have gained so much knowledge in the Healthcare and Finance field in the years accrued at John Muir Health. The management was supportive.My co-workers were the best hard workers,also supportive. The hardest part of my job was man power. I felt – more... like we need more hands for the work load. The most enjoyable part of my job was working for a great hospital that I believed in and still do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Medical Care Provider and Employer
Laboratory Safety Coordinator (Current Employee), Walnut Creek, CAOctober 2, 2013
Pros: supportive and helpful environment. well structured/
Demanding position, but well acknowledged and rewarded. John Muir Health deserves its recognition as one of the top 100 hospitals in the United States.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Work Environment
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CASeptember 8, 2013
My co-workers have been extremely supportive and I have also sought ways to support them. We are focused on the work and are able to support each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turned way too corporate
Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Walnut CreekSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: everything else. especially management.
I agree with the person who said this is a great place to work until you cross the wrong person. All my effort & extreme hard work was also not taken into consideration when I was terminated for something ridiculous. The company as a whole has become way too corporate & cares more about production & profit over patient care, despite their prominent – more... billboards & tv commercials. Management is made up of mostly people who were lucky enough to know people that helped them secure their positions and most of them can be outperformed by their subordinates. Pay raises were ridiculous and breaks are rather discouraged. The company is going downhill for sure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient focus was everywthere!
Lead QA Engineer (Current Employee), Walnut Creek, CAApril 18, 2013
Pros: training/seminars
Cons: tight fiscal environment
Loved the company, loved the patient-centric focus of everything we did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace unless you cross the wrong person
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Concord, CAApril 17, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits.
Cons: short breaks, short lunches.
John Muir is a good Workplace unless you Happen to cross the wrong person. I liked working there for the most part. I learned how to interact with Pt's and coworkers. Unfortunately my manager didn't seem to take my hard work and reliability into count when he suspended me for something I didn't do, and wasn't really open to hear what I had to say about – more... the issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place of Employment
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Walnut Creek, CAMarch 29, 2013
Every day is not the same.I learn something new from my co-workers as well as my Patients.

The hardest part of my job, is when my patients are being discharge, after they have been there for awhile, and I've gotten to know them.

The most rewarding part is when a Patient says 'Thank You". It touches my heart. Because I am there to help them,and they – more... trust and know that they can count on me.

And for me, knowing that I have co-workers who are always willing to help whenever help is needed. – less

shenaka – June 11, 2013

hi i have a interview and would like to know how is the test part what does it consist of. please help

About John Muir Health

Working at John Muir Health John Muir Health is a collaborative, patient-centered health care environment. Listening, explaining – Read more