Find companies:
Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
52 reviews

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job skills
Patient Registrar/Phone Associate (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 30, 2014
Loved being a part of this team and we worked to get the patient authorized to be inpatient
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a good place to learn and work
Program Manager (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 14, 2014
Multi-varied clientele with many opportunities to work and grow. The hospital offers many product lines - general care, bariatrics, geriatrics, burn care, trauma care, stroke, pediatrics (limited), neonate, maternal-child, and cardiac, to name a few. Great place to "springboard" a nursing career to other hospitals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Central Sterile Processor II (Former Employee), baltimoreJune 11, 2014
I prepared food properly, washed dishes, and delivered food to the proper units.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
look before you leap
Anesthesia Technician (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 28, 2014
Pros: pay is somewhat comparable, can learn a lot
Cons: unneccessary hostile and unprofessional behaviors from coworkers, management is extremely poor
From the unbearably poor management to the hostile, cutthroat and unprofessional attitude of many employees, I cannot find it in my heart to recommend this place to work. Sure, I fell under the working for Johns Hopkins fa├žade, but it quickly faded when the true nature of my fellow employees and manager were exposed.There are some good attributes, but – more... the bad weighs out over them. It's a shame, really, because it could be so much better if HR stepped up and immediately cut out the ones who have caused so much grief for so long and be more selective in the hiring processes for those positions. If they had a different team (not the providers), one could breathe easier. But as it were, the hostility, unfair and hostile working environment are still in full effect. Going into specifics will keep a reader here for a day. So if you want to be treated like an intelligent, team working peer, please save yourself the trouble of looking at Johns Hopkins Bayview and look elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable work experience
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical CenterMay 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: short breaks
Working for Johns Hopkins has exposed me to many state of the art procedures and surgeries. Everyone worked well together and inspired me want to become a Respiratory Therapist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produc
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Baltimore, MarylandMay 21, 2014
Pros: discounted food from the hospital cafeteria.
Working at Bayview Hospital was a great experience.
My co-workers were extremely nice and took me in with open arms.
I was only there for 6 weeks for a summer intern, but it was a great opportunity. I learned a lot about secretarial work. Such as learning how to file paper, and even how to use a scanner to import them onto a computer. My skills with – more... Microsoft Office even increased. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Practice with great coworkers
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 15, 2014
going into work was most pleasurable thinking abut the people I would come in contact with. I learned how to work with a diverse group of individuals gaining a new respect for all cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big business
Certified Medical Assistant NRCMA (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 15, 2014
I wasn't pleased with my experience at Bayview however I wanted to make a difference. I chose to stay positive and help the patients as best as I could. however management was more impressed with the amount of people coming through the door then the amount of happy patients that walked out the door.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
NA (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 17, 2014
Great mentorship and a great place to work. The management is top notch. My co-workers are supportive and encourage growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic center with complex cases
Medical Director of Obstetric Anesthesia (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: challenging environment, intellectually stimulating
Cons: located in a high crime city
Most enjoyable is taking care of patients and teaching residents.
7am-5 pm busy days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Differnt view
Nurse Extern (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJanuary 28, 2014
While at Johns Hopkins Bayview I was a student extern. I got to experience working in units that I would not have gotten a chance to while in school. This let me branch out and see what was out there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been an experience
Perioperative Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 19, 2013
I love perioperative nursing!! I feel I am a productive member of the healthcare team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Day At Work
Office Administrative Assistant lll (Current Employee), Baltimore, MdNovember 22, 2013
Pros: enjoy helping others
Cons: every job has a down side so speak on it.
I start my day unofficially at 6am I believe in being on time and preparing mentally for my day. At 7am I clock in and start with the patient list far as isolations and status (inpatient or outpatient), speak with the charge nurse for any changes, read and respond to emails. Cancel and post surgical cases, notify surgeons in reference to their cases – more... in regards to special equipment or what ever is necessary. I have only been in this position for almost 2 years and I am enjoying it very much I have learned so much about the difference kinds of surgeries. And my co- workers are interesting and willing to work with you. The hardest part of my job is not knowing. The most enjoyable part is helping others and if I can't I will make is a point to locate someone who can assist. Now as to management the biggest part is if you are going to help me at the front don't just dictate help out other then that I have no issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work environment, easy to slack off
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDNovember 12, 2013
Pros: doctors readily available
Cons: unionized employees
Teaching hospital, which was great because every doctor you needed was right down the hallway. Otherwise, it could be frustrating. Transport was not BLS certified and could not transport anybody on IV pumps or telemetry. Techs were usually career techs who have worked there for decades and were hard to work with. Majority of staff (except nursing) was – more... unionized which meant they got their two 15 minute and one half hour break no matter what, among other things, which made a busy day inconvenient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce place to work
CNA/ Sitter (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 29, 2013
It's always a welcoming place to go to. Everyone I nice and willing to lend a hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and Supportive Environment focused on Recovery and Wellness
Rehabilitation Therapist (Current Employee), Baltimore,MDOctober 4, 2013
Lead groups of adults with at various places in their recovery with mental illness
Learned how to manage and a caseload and provide clinical support
Coworks are passionate about their work
Everyday is new with it's unique challenges
It's exciting to see people take responsibility for their own lives and break away from old behaviors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Service
Senior Rehabilitation Therapist (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 23, 2013
I had a great experience working as a case manager at Johns Hopkins. We had an amazing team of case managers and were able to provide outstanding service to all of our client's. I provided mental health support to chronically mentally ill client's and linked them to resources in the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Baltimore, MdSeptember 22, 2013
Worked with my school schedule and taught me a lot about the medical feild
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location and a good place to work.
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee), BayViewAugust 19, 2013
The location is ideal to take lunchtime walks and a great set of people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work with the exception of a few things...
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee), Baltimore,MarylandAugust 13, 2013
Pros: night shift was pretty laid back, i got to meet people from all over the world since people seek out hopkins
Cons: didnt like the politics of the establishment., too may gaps for people to put in their own opinions as opposed to just following the rules
Besides the fact that it is the lowest paying hopsital in Maryland, I appreciated what I learned here. It is a learning hospital so there was always something new and someone willing to teach you. Manaement could be prety childish sometimes but thats just people... not the institution

1 2 3