Find companies:
Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Johns Hopkins Bayview
Office Coordinator II (Former Employee), Baltimore, MarylandFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: pay, benefits, discounts
Cons: parking, change in management
It was a very fast paced enviornment at Bayview. The doctors there see lots of patients in clinic. The management changed a few times while I was there. I truely enjoyed my co-workes. They were team players. I really learned a lot at Bayview. The most importand thing I learned are customer service skills. I also learned tons of office skills including – more... posting surgeries, payment posting, and insurance verification.

The hardest part about working there was the volumes of patients they processed daily. It could be overwhelming at times. I loved the pay and benefits they offered. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Desktop Administrator (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 22, 2013
Co-workers are great, but management does not care about his/her employees. Hostile work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outpatient Coder
Outpatient Coder (Former Employee), Johns Hopkins bayview BaltimoreJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: knowledge of medical coding
Cons: pay is very low
An amazing place to begin your career. The high volume and workload will give you amazing experience. They run a tight ship with little consideration for family or sickness as the policies are quite stringent. This coding department employed several non certified coders, so when new coders are hired they must be certified but are paid only $12.75. Which – more... is considebly low for this field. As a stepping stone it's a great career move as for long term this position is revolving. What you do get is a vast knowledge because of the many specialties so in choosing this position
Absorb as much as you can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning experience
Volunteer (Former Employee), Baltimore,MDJanuary 26, 2013
There is always something to do
Learned how to answer phones professionally
File papers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Medical Coordinator (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: i love helping other
My job is very rewarding, I work with paitents on a daily basis helping them resolve there thoracic problems and taking care of them through their surgeries and appointment with my physician
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDNovember 13, 2012
Pros: reputation
Cons: employees not happy
Staff is uncooperative. No team work present. Employees are disgruntaled. Patient care lacking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible employer
Social Worker (Former Employee), Baltimore MDOctober 24, 2012
I worked for this employer for many years and consistently felt unappreciated, overworked and far underpaid. Human resources are horrible and at best unresponsive (if not overtly hostile).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent hospital to work for
Patient Registrar (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 7, 2012
Pros: employee day within the clinics and throughout the hospital
Cons: not enough time for lunch breaks
Registering patients for their clinic visit. I learned how to make sure patients received the best customer service once they walked into the facility for services rendered. The management for the Ambulatory Service Department was outstanding they always made sure the Clinics were kept up to date with the latest technology. The hardest part of the job – more... was paper referrals patients would forget them or did not know their insurance required them to have one. The enjoyable part of the job was remembering different patients by name because they came in frequently for clinic visits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neuro ICU/ Surgical ICU Nurse/Burn Unit
Clinical Nurse (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 2, 2012
Pros: loved it all....
Cons: on calls shift and night work
I was a new graduate...my first job. I loved it. Very fast pace unit which I loved the challeges. I enjoyed precepting new nursing. I loved the educational track that JHU offered to the nurses with upcoming skill/techniques (cutting edge technology).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 20, 2012
Pros: leave on time
Cons: no overtime
I enjoy the co-workers that i work with. My first day thier i was well trained
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hospital people are friendly, not your direct Supervisor. Has their own agenda and it is not to help you.
Sonographer (Former Employee), Baltimore Md.August 30, 2012
Pros: good health ins.
Cons: manager unable to help out during vacations, sick time etc. very busy schedule, no employe match with retirement accounts.manager acts like a dictator!
Great coworkers, lazy management, very busy schedule with no help during vacations and when people are out sick. Constant add ons, limited lunch time, demanding surgeon who could care less if you have help, just get his patients done. Alot of racial issues, not a team environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad and Hostile work Place
Surgical Technologist. (Former Employee), BaltimoreAugust 8, 2012
Pros: nothing..
Cons: every single thing...
I used to work in Operating Room as a Surgical Tech. Very very bad work place to work.. Do not spend your time over there. I wont go there rest of my life. Problem is bad OR management. If you can get lunch for those managers they will take care you very well. They have no respect for their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JHBMC
Registered Nurse - Medical/Surgical Unit (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 8, 2012
Pros: good management
Cons: stressful floor
Bayview is a great place to work. Excellent benefits, however they are very strict with PTO use and calling out on sick leave. Being near Baltimore city most of the patients are city folk- aka a lot of drug/etoh withdrawal. The floors are hard to work on, however management listens very well and attempts to make changes necessary to keep staff happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Housekeeper/Aide, I (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 27, 2012
Pros: knowing that staff and patients really appreciate your efforts.
Cons: dirty job that exposes you to many germs and bacteria.
Hard work but the nurses always thanked me for the wonderful job I did on the unit I was assigned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed learning everything there was to learn.
Health Information Assistant (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 23, 2012
When I would come to work, I would proceed to my desk, turn it on, and open all the programs that I would need to use. I then got my scanning batches and scanned and indexted all patients charts. Everyone on the management team were not on the same page as each other. There were different sets of rules for every supervisor you spoke to. The hardest – more... part of my job was learning the actual process. The most enjoyable part was after I learned how to do the process and doing it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Recreation Therapy Supervisor (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 3, 2012
The most important part is to be kind to people and do your best to be a team player
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very conducive environment to work in.
Patient Advocate (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 26, 2012
Co-workers and supervisors are very supportive. Always busy though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a nice place to work and I learned alot while working here
Staff Registered Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 14, 2012
Its a nice place to work and I learned alot while working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacted with patients and physicans and Executives
Executive Office Secretary to Burton D'Lugoff, M.D (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 30, 2012
All information is posted on my resume.
A typical day was scheduling, answering phones, and interacting with physicans, and Executives.
Administrative Assistant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work environment.
Social Work Intern/Clinical (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 20, 2012
Pros: stimulating environment, wonderful staff, and rewarding work.
Staff are helpful and encouraging. I became a valuable member of a treatment team, and learned how to work with different disciplines. there was never a time that help was not given if needed, and the staff was completely dedicated to bettering the lives of clients. The environment was stimulating, and rewarding. Interning here made me a far more competent – more... therapist than when I began. – less