Find companies:
Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
55 reviews

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Baltimore, MdSeptember 22, 2013
Worked with my school schedule and taught me a lot about the medical feild
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location and a good place to work.
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee), BayViewAugust 19, 2013
The location is ideal to take lunchtime walks and a great set of people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work with the exception of a few things...
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee), Baltimore,MarylandAugust 13, 2013
Pros: night shift was pretty laid back, i got to meet people from all over the world since people seek out hopkins
Cons: didnt like the politics of the establishment., too may gaps for people to put in their own opinions as opposed to just following the rules
Besides the fact that it is the lowest paying hopsital in Maryland, I appreciated what I learned here. It is a learning hospital so there was always something new and someone willing to teach you. Manaement could be prety childish sometimes but thats just people... not the institution
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work and peer support the best.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 9, 2013
Nurses here make for great team work. Residents and Attending treat the nurses with respect and on equal ground.. As a teaching hospital the Nurses have a wonderful oppurtunity to learn as well as teach. Nurses can teach new residents the iner workings of the hospital and medical staff includes nursing in their huddles and educational snipets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone
Health Information Assistant (Former Employee), Baltimore, MdJuly 29, 2013
Pros: great teams and you become like a family
Cons: long shifts and your feet kill you
Gives young people a great step into the real world. They can run you like crazy but after a while you love it, I did!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I've ever worked.
Food Svc Worker I (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 11, 2013
Pros: breaks
Cons: management are snakes, human resources.
I had an issue with a manager. The manager CURSED at me, so I went to HR for that matter. I had the next days of, the day I'm scheduled to come back I took ill, and had a doctor's note sent over to them. I get a call from the HR rep saying the meeting was going to be that day (unbeknownst to me). I tell her so and she rescheduled the meeting for the – more... next day (Again without my knowledge). So I come in 9:30 & start setting up for Lunch at 10. I'm told by a manager that the director wanted to see me in her office I went, and I'm told the meeting was gonna be at 2 (during break), she gives me the Union Reps # I tell her I'm not gonna use him, she scowls and said okay. I find another shop steward to bring with me and brief him on everything. (4 hrs till meeting)

In HR, 2 departmental managers attended, provided a character reference for the manager who cursed at me and my whole claim was thrown out the window. I was told I stole, and then given the option to either resign or be terminated.

I chose to be terminated so I'd still be eligible for benefits, not before making known that I'm filing a grievance.

I got swept up in the whole BAYVIEW is part of Johns Hopkins, blah blah blah. Don't, save yourself the misery, headache, and unneeded stress. There are plenty of RESPECTABLE companies to work for with less politics.

I learned Bayview is not a place you want to ever have to go to HR in because you will be the sole one defending yourself.

The icing on the cake is that the department managers give meal tickets to union reps. So don't expect fair representation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was great, not so much anymore
Diagonostic Imaging Technologist (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 4, 2013
No opportunities for advancement. They say they promote career advancement, but it ends up only being for the chosen few
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JHBMC worked there 10 years.
Senior Mental Health Therapist (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 7, 2013
JHBMC worked there 10 years. Worked with a doctors, LCPC, LCSW-C as well as LGPC and LCSW.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding and positive work environment
C.D.U. Staff Nurse (Current Employee), chemical dependency unitMay 2, 2013
Pros: have worked at jhbm since i became a nurse
Cons: the distance to travel
12 hour day shift
work with 3-4 other nursing staff
working with patients who are not always motivated for change to promote a healthier lifestyle
working with a strong core group of nurses
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain Experience.
Executive Secretary (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 28, 2013
Excellent employer to build experience. Busy work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational
Rehabilitation Tech (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 20, 2013
I learned a lot about the professions of Occupational and Physical therapies. The management staff was always open to questions and concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Johns Hopkins Bayview
Office Coordinator II (Former Employee), Baltimore, MarylandFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: pay, benefits, discounts
Cons: parking, change in management
It was a very fast paced enviornment at Bayview. The doctors there see lots of patients in clinic. The management changed a few times while I was there. I truely enjoyed my co-workes. They were team players. I really learned a lot at Bayview. The most importand thing I learned are customer service skills. I also learned tons of office skills including – more... posting surgeries, payment posting, and insurance verification.

The hardest part about working there was the volumes of patients they processed daily. It could be overwhelming at times. I loved the pay and benefits they offered. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Desktop Administrator (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 22, 2013
Co-workers are great, but management does not care about his/her employees. Hostile work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outpatient Coder
Outpatient Coder (Former Employee), Johns Hopkins bayview BaltimoreJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: knowledge of medical coding
Cons: pay is very low
An amazing place to begin your career. The high volume and workload will give you amazing experience. They run a tight ship with little consideration for family or sickness as the policies are quite stringent. This coding department employed several non certified coders, so when new coders are hired they must be certified but are paid only $12.75. Which – more... is considebly low for this field. As a stepping stone it's a great career move as for long term this position is revolving. What you do get is a vast knowledge because of the many specialties so in choosing this position
Absorb as much as you can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning experience
Volunteer (Former Employee), Baltimore,MDJanuary 26, 2013
There is always something to do
Learned how to answer phones professionally
File papers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Medical Coordinator (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: i love helping other
My job is very rewarding, I work with paitents on a daily basis helping them resolve there thoracic problems and taking care of them through their surgeries and appointment with my physician
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDNovember 13, 2012
Pros: reputation
Cons: employees not happy
Staff is uncooperative. No team work present. Employees are disgruntaled. Patient care lacking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible employer
Social Worker (Former Employee), Baltimore MDOctober 24, 2012
I worked for this employer for many years and consistently felt unappreciated, overworked and far underpaid. Human resources are horrible and at best unresponsive (if not overtly hostile).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent hospital to work for
Patient Registrar (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 7, 2012
Pros: employee day within the clinics and throughout the hospital
Cons: not enough time for lunch breaks
Registering patients for their clinic visit. I learned how to make sure patients received the best customer service once they walked into the facility for services rendered. The management for the Ambulatory Service Department was outstanding they always made sure the Clinics were kept up to date with the latest technology. The hardest part of the job – more... was paper referrals patients would forget them or did not know their insurance required them to have one. The enjoyable part of the job was remembering different patients by name because they came in frequently for clinic visits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neuro ICU/ Surgical ICU Nurse/Burn Unit
Clinical Nurse (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 2, 2012
Pros: loved it all....
Cons: on calls shift and night work
I was a new graduate...my first job. I loved it. Very fast pace unit which I loved the challeges. I enjoyed precepting new nursing. I loved the educational track that JHU offered to the nurses with upcoming skill/techniques (cutting edge technology).