Find companies:
Johns Hopkins Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
168 reviews

Johns Hopkins Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning experiences
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 10, 2014
Pros: learning/teaching hospital, extensive training
Johns Hopkins has provided me with a large base of knowledge and presented many excellent learning experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Receptionist (Former Employee), baltimoreApril 8, 2014
it was fun exciting getting to meet new people several job opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 4, 2014
Pros: patient care, exposure to clinical trails
Cons: few hours to learn the job, the salary is not attractive especially with me having to fend for my aged parents and family.
On arrival to work, I check my work email to see if there are additional work requirements for the day. I then make a list of what is to be done on that day along with the time frame, it should be accomplished. I then check with my supervisior to discuss the pervious work day and any other issues.
My job entails explaining and recruiting new study participants – more... for the ongoing study. I also follow up pervious participants either via email or phone call to either remind them of their future appointments or to clarify some information.
The informed consent along with the study's objectives are explained to the potential study participants and a copy of the signed informed consent is given to them if they agree to participant.
There is the patient questionaire which each study participants are required to fill out and I am available for any questions.
Every 3 months, blood samples are withdrawn by me and carefully processed in the laboratory as well as stored.
All the data that is gotten is scanned into the database and then analyzed.
I learnt that a team working together for the common goal is more likely to succeed with minimial stress.
I am priviledged to have wonderful coworkers who are willing to answer questions as well as assist if needed.
The hardest part of the job is a hard question to answer but it can be challenging to report to different principal investigators simultaneously but I have been able to overcome the challenge by working faster, smarter and with more precision.
I enjoy the patient contact, it is a rewarding experience for me when the participants is satisifed with the level of care given. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying and an amazing chance to learn!
Clinical Technician (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 4, 2014
Pros: diverse group of people, very educational, and support.
Cons: emotional distress when a patient has passed away.
A typical day for me would be to stock my rooms and IV carts and then help the nurses as accordingly. I've enjoyed my time at Johns Hopkins very much, every single day provides a new chance to learn. Coworkers including nurses and doctors are extremely supportive and helpful with all questions. The very hardest part of the job is when CPR is not affective. – more... The most enjoyable part of this job is every opportunity you get to help a child feel better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital life
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 22, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks, benefits, education programs, pay, advancement
Cons: politics
I'd come to work early to work for meetings and preparing the clinic before patients arrive. I and as well the other staff strategize a plan so that the clinic can run smoothly. I usually start electronically refilling prescriptions and completing prior authorization requests before clinic starts. When the clinic opens, I then take patients back to – more... triage room to obtain vitals, patients history and chief complaint. I also refill their prescription within the triage visit before seeing the doctor for their appointment. Instruct patient on giving a lab specimen and prepare the specimen before it sent to the laboratory. The hardest part of the job is went the computer system shut down which sometimes messes up the flow of the clinic. I've learn that there has to be a sense of urgency when it comes to emergencies with patients. I learned that there is room to move up and was able to become part of trainings to strengthen my skills and learning new things. I find enjoyment in seeing patients happy and feeling like they've been given great service in every visit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place tow work
Level 2 Medical Biller (Former Employee), Baltimore, MarylandMarch 20, 2014
Pros: the benefits
Cons: nothing bad to say
A great place to grown and become more. Very nice employees, teamwork and benefits were amaing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and meet other aspiring and accomplished social workers
Social Worker (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 16, 2014
Pros: job culture; networking
Cons: schedule is not flexible; disorganized
There is no such thing as a typical day at JH. I learned team work and how to work on committees. My co-workers were experienced social workers and willing to share their knowledge. The hardest part of the job was the lack of flexibility in my position while having a family. The most enjoyable part of my job was my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital Environment
Medical Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 16, 2014
Pros: self-management
A typical hospital environment with multiple personalities. I worked evening shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Clinical Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Baltimore MDMarch 12, 2014
Cons: management issues
It was a great learning experience working on the Psych unit. They have some management issues
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tracvel nurse assignment
Travel Nurse, Neonatal Intensive Unit (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 6, 2014
excellent Level III NICU experience felt welcomed worked the night shift though the area of town in which the hospital is situated seemed a bit unsafe I had no issues with it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Intern in the Department of Medical Psychology (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: tons of experience and great on your resume
Cons: very tough atmosphere
Lots of bureaucracy. Amazing company, if you put in your time and you're a fast learner, it's worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Med-Surg Nursing
GRADUATE NURSE (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: benefits; learning experience
Cons: high patient load; teaching hospital; heavy research
Fast pace; high intensity; supportive adjuct staff; learned a lot about medical-surgical nursing in a short time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very large teaching hospital
Medical Technologist (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: much research was going on and technologists were encouraged to participate
Cons: this hospital is in a vary dangerous part of inner city baltimore
emphasize a very large teaching hospital. The microbiology lab was a large teaching lab. Methods used were "old fashioned" but tried and true . It enabled technologists to not depend on automation and to "think out side the box". I was able to learn molecular methods for the first time.New methology was used but not depended upon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned from the best
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: highest quality care, best management, good benifits
Cons: lots of extra commitments and work aside from patient care
I was a new RN at Hopkins and all of my initial experience came from working there. I learned to be thorough and to learn everything I could from each new patient and new disease that I saw. I watched the other nurses and doctors take care of patients and was amazed at how much time and care they put into each person. I am so glad that I began my nursing – more... career at Hopkins but I was ready to move on when I did. It is not an easy place to work and find a balance with the rest of your life. There are committees and meetings and more committees that everyone is expected to be involved with on top of work. I knew I would always feel off balance if I kept working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to get your feet in the door
SURGICAL MATERIALS COORDINATOR (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 9, 2014
There was always work to be done which made my shift go by quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for.
Senior Patient Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 4, 2014
Fast pace environment. register 150-200 patients on a daily bases. Verify insurance information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very comfortable work enviorment
Floor Technician/ Trash Technician (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: available overtime
Cons: sometimes people dont appreciate your work.
During my tenure at Johns Hopkins I've come to enjoy working with most of the staff ie: co-workers & management. As with any job there are good days & bad days but the good out weighs the bad. Most of the floor projects I do I'm by myself because I'm good at what I do. I've taught many how to strip, wax, use machines properly. I get along with my co-workers – more... well, not a trouble maker. the hardest part of my job is when I put in hours of work, whether its a doctor, nurse or whomever don't want to listen or pay attention & walk all over or threw your floor without any regard to your work. I enjoy putting in the time to make sure my floor or what ever im doing is top notch. I pay attention to detail extremely well. If its not perfect its not done in my book. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hopkins Review
Patient Coordinator (Current Employee), work with patients and docotorsJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: working with many different doctors
Cons: to walk away from my desk to take a little lunch break.
A typical day at Johns Hopkins entails answering the phone and speaking with patients.

I do take a lot of calls from patients with daily issues and or emergencies they are dealing with at the the moment.

I also speak with a lot of new patients that are interested in coming to Hopkins to meet with our doctors.

My co-workers are very pleasant to deal – more... with and area always there to assist with anything that might be needed.

We work as a team and it reflects with comments we receive from patients.

The hardest part of my job is when a patient calls and I can't help them to the best of my ability and he/she has to wait for a doctor and his/her advice of how to proceed with any problems.

The most enjoable part of my job is walking out of here every day knowing that I helped patients with their days and or needs.

I am close to a lot of patients and we will chat for a while during their visit to Hopkins. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEST PLACE TO WORK AT!!!
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: nice management team
Everyday is a new day with full of new exciting things to learn and challenges to face. My favorite part of my job is extubating someone and hearing them say, "I love you". My hearts melts to know I just made someones day so much better. I seen things that I probably wouldn't of anywhere else and I'm very thankful for that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Clerical Associate/Medical Secretary (Former Employee), Baltimore, MdJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: having to meet such wonderful people
Cons: parking
A typical day at work would start out rough and end smoothly because I worked for more then one service. I've learned about different programs such as EPIC. Management was fair and easy to work with. Coworkers were phenomenal. The hardest part of my job is seeing one of the patients die. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing I was apart of the – more... patient's healing process. – less

About Johns Hopkins Hospital

The Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing is a global leader in nursing research, education and scholarship and is ranked – Read more

Johns Hopkins Hospital Photos