Johnson Controls Employee Reviews in United States

Found 1,413 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Etl Consultant (Former Employee) –  Holland,MichiganJune 25, 2016
I feel very satisfied working with a really great team involving the co-workers and management. It was also a fun work place
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Director VA/ VE (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MIJune 22, 2016
Great place to work, highly professional and motivated workforce. JCI's management team is relentless on market share holders return.
Pros
Termendous training grounds
Cons
The drive was the worst part of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Quality Inspector (Former Employee) –  Salem, NCJune 18, 2016
ok boring inspected car batteries. 12 hour days. very political, extreme lack of communication, lack of care except for what they were obligated to show.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Day as a Quality Engineer
Quality Engineer (Current Employee) –  Clanton, ALJune 15, 2016
I am currently employed by Johnson Controls as a Quality Engineer. My job is to provide quick response to the customer and their needs, as well as an internal auditor to the day to day quality needs of the plant. I do daily audits and perform I and P charts for projects that include Corvette, Nissan, Toyota, Ford, and BMW. I am currently the contact person for the Toyota product in Georgetown Kentucky. These needs include analysis of product, problem solving, root cause, and 8D's.
I am also responsible to manage three shifts of Quality Techs. This includes follow up and implementation of new and existing processes.
Travel has become a big part of my job. If a customer has a concern, it is not uncommon for me to get a call and be on the road the next morning to assist their needs. This year I have been to Georgetown Ky, Greenville SC, Key West Ga, Detroit Mi, and Athen TN.
Pros
I get to meet and work with many different people. Each day is different
Cons
Somedays the days can be long.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Units are excellent to work with and leadership within the Building Efficiency group is excellent
Talent Acquisition Manager (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 15, 2016
Working with and supporting the business units is great. Stronger Corporate leadership is required,
Work volumes are extremely high in Talent Acquisition and we continually are asked to do more with less tool and financial support.
The team is excellent very strong technically and professionally they are the most enjoyable part of the job.
There is a true lack of work/life balance as well as an inequity in the compensation packages.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJune 15, 2016
Service Manager was more concerned with is numbers then employees. If you weren't his favorite would make your life heckl. Would bother you when you were off even on vacation.
Pros
christmas party
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great starter job
Recaro Technician (Former Employee) –  Temecula, CAJune 14, 2016
assembly line packing wine or beer. people there are very hard working. standing in one spot for 10 hours is defiantly the hardest part.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple skills self taught,
O&M Specialist III (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 14, 2016
Jeco is an ARBON sister company. Yearly raises 2-4% a year.
Good expensive benefits. 9 paid holidays,1 week vacation for first 5 years then 2, 5yrs before 401K is vested.
Lots of job titles, pats on the back, more headaches, the pocket change raises do not cover the cost of living yearly national avg. increase, or the inflation of aspirin,Tylenol, aleve, or any other headache medication.
Pros
Skills learned, and required, are endless
Cons
Stubborn GM at my branch, you're either with him or your "laid off"
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Might be better if the union was actually for their people
Warehouse/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJune 14, 2016
At the time of employment with the company, they were contracted under a food union instead of a automotive union that should have been covering their employees. Unfortunately, when it was time to fight for job security none existed.
Pros
Educational hands on training
Cons
union laws
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
BIG DATA CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 12, 2016
Nice place to work as lot of technology platform upgrades is going on and provides exposure to a lot newer technologies.
Management is supportive and dedicated to your sucess.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Engineering Manager (Current Employee) –  Riverside, MOJune 10, 2016
Coordinate all Engineering activities within the department, execute capital projects, supervise all equipment installations, see my resume for more information.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful, unorganized, difficult teamwork, poor communication, excessive overtime, decent pay.
material handler (Former Employee) –  Clanton, ALJune 10, 2016
not extremely hard work, but stressful.
logistics was easy to understand, but very unorganized.
my supervisor had much regard for his team.
teamwork was difficult to achieve for the most part.
very poor communication with logistics from other departments, and always working overtime.
i enjoyed my pay rate and steady work, not much downtime.
Pros
steady work, good supervisor, comfortable environment
Cons
healthcare, little regard from "higher ups", bad balance between work and home life..
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work and good people to be around
Welder/Assembler (Current Employee) –  Waynesboro, PAJune 8, 2016
It is a good place to work with the ability to mover from department to department. There really is not room for advancement from laborer to management. You Have the ability to learn a new trade such as going from the machine shop to the Fabrication shop. They will train and teach you to weld if you have not had experience. Good place to work if you have the patients to work with others and problem solve issues that arise.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work experience
Facilities and Soft Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRJune 7, 2016
The work experience is related to the facility that you work at.
We learn about Operational excellence and scheduling.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work enviroment
general laborer, assembler (Former Employee) –  Eldon, MOJune 7, 2016
what i learned at johnson controls is that there are a lot of parts just to make up a seat frame. i also learned that if one part of the seat doesn't work, then the whole seat frame won't work
Cons
short breaks and lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here!
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 7, 2016
Terrible onboarding and orientation! Poor HR, IT and management! They will expect you to do everything yourself! Very unsafe! I worked in one of the labs. It was very ancient, old test equipment, dinosour techs and engineers. These are not your high end engineers and/or techs. They will hire anyone, whether qualified or not! VERY PC, liberal! CEO is a crook! You never know if your job is secure! They go to other States and countries to hire, as everyone knows how mad they are local in Milwaukee! They pretend that they care about the local community.
Pros
None
Cons
Many
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to advance with.
CORPORATE RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 6, 2016
Management varies from department to department which leaves room for much confusion and no consistency. Has the potential to be an amazing company if they would stop merging and venturing into other realms of service. It is a revolving door at this place.
Pros
Great pay and benefits, awesome coworkers
Cons
Horrible managment, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with a lot of growth options
IT Professional (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 1, 2016
JCI is a good employer overall. As they say though people don't leave companies they leave managers. If you have a good manager and a good team, this company is great. Managers vary quite a bit though. The benefits and pay are good. And typically there are plenty of options for growth within the company. A word of caution though, the impending Tyco merger could see some large turnover in the near-mid term.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Quality inspector (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIJune 1, 2016
great benefits easy to learn the skills needed to complete this job the training is good my coworkers made the day fly by the managers really go above and beyond
Pros
love the hours
Cons
gets hot in summer
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Stationary Operating Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 30, 2016
Operations of Boiler room. 600 HP boilers producing roughly 190 psi.
I became more proficient in high pressure steam operation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,037 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture