Johnson Controls Employee Reviews

Found 2,016 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot job
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Oak, IAJuly 24, 2017
Johnson Controls is a good job with top pay. The work hours where hard when you have children its hard to work a 12 hour over night and be able to take care of kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working place
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCJuly 24, 2017
The pay at Johnson Control was good. I enjoyed working their, but it was not the right fit for me. Working in a lead environment was not the job I wanted as a permanent thing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place
Control Room Operator (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCJuly 24, 2017
The hardest part of my job was it was poor communication between shifts. We all have to communicate and work together as a team to make the work place better.
Pros
Excellent Awards
Cons
3 showers a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a steal press operator for heating and air conditioning
Advanced Steel Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 24, 2017
Working at Johnson Controls shows a lot of advancements for the line operator to line brazer to steel press operator I enjoyed every bit of that place good benefits and good learning skills and great pay
Pros
Long breaks good pay
Cons
Easily injured, very hot place to work in side
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sr. Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 23, 2017
Johnson Controls is a great place to work, a global company that is competitive in many different product areas. Supervisors and management is very kind, caring, and encouraging. The pace is slow allowing for detailed project management and scheduling.
Pros
Many Perks, 100% 401K match, etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced company with high expectations
Senior Account Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 23, 2017
Great. place to work especially if you like challenges. People are very nice and helpful to co-workers. On site cafeteria. Great benefits and salary.
Pros
on site lunch, great benefits
Cons
Some people in management do not have experience in managing people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work, always changing things up
Building Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIJuly 22, 2017
Johnson Controls has a lot of different positions, but it seems that they are always changing things, up and it can be difficult to follow along. Pay is decent.
Pros
Big company with decent pay and benifits
Cons
constant change
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acquired by CBRE in 2015
Maintenance and Operations Specialist III (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 20, 2017
A fine place to work. I have been there 12 years. I have grown as a person and in a professional capacity while I have been there. It has been a great place, but now its time to move on.
Pros
Great work experience
Cons
Lack of challenges
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insecure
Writer (Current Employee) –  USAJuly 20, 2017
There are lots of great benefits, but the company is going through a lot of changes and it's been unstable. Overall I would recommend it as a place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant change
Customer Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  MichiganJuly 20, 2017
Management turnover and micromanagement is out of control.
Excellent pay and benefits but nonexistent work/life balance
Constantly buying out companies merges and changing firing severance pay for upper management
Would not recommend
Pros
Benefits and pay
Cons
Constant turnover and change
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall pretty good
System Designer (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 19, 2017
Typical corporate desk job.
All of the hardware engineering is done with Microsoft Visio (not industry standards). Coworkers and bosses are great but overall our office is understaffed creating a lot of extra work for people in the field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company tonwork for. Management needs to have more empathy
Sr. Project Development and BDM (Former Employee) –  South eastern USAJuly 19, 2017
Great company overall. Need to get out of their own way. Need to keep people and cross train to cross funtional roles NOT LAY OFF.

Would have been great to transition into new roles there and not hit with massive layoff. Bad model.
Pros
Benefits. Pay. Discounts.
Cons
Double standards. Lack of visionary leadership at mid level management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in. Great peers that are easy to work with.
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 19, 2017
Great place to work. Typically relaxing environment with well rounded peers and very educational opportunities. I would recommend this company to others.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Welder (Former Employee) –  Lexington, TNJuly 19, 2017
I loved working at Johnson controls a typical day was great I knew what to do if didn't have parts or had a problem all I had to do was let my supervisor know and it was fixed.learned how to be efficient and that productivity comes first and then production.management was good let us know if something was changing.the hardest part was the heat but they made sure to later breaks and had water.that most enjoyable part of the job was my job I love what I did.
Pros
Free ice cream in the hot months
Cons
Raises
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR picks and chooses who they want to work
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 19, 2017
Can be fired for doing the same thing as many others do without warning. I was there 3 years never late and never got written up and was fired for nothing, even after challenging them. Terrible work place and they really do not care about you as you can be replaced.
Pros
good pay
Cons
if hr has a problem with you, then you will be gone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract employee
Application Engineer - CMM Programmer (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MIJuly 18, 2017
ok place to work....did not feel part of the team....outsider because contracted without any reviews of performance... the supervisor was on a power trip
Pros
clean, nice environment
Cons
contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company to work for
Community Manager (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 18, 2017
Productive company to work for. Taught communication skills in a fast paced environment. The commodity that I had was not much for purchasing. Boss was flexible with work hours. Hardest part is keeping up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, management needs to get figured out
Major Projects Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  New JerseyJuly 17, 2017
Great co-workers, dog eat dog atmosphere most likely due to poor management.

Job titles and positions seem to change every year.

Would go back if and when the work environment gets better.
Pros
Nice folks to work with
Cons
Very poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the company
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Northwood, OHJuly 16, 2017
i really enjoyed working for them and Fiat would not have moved the product to a different state i would still be there. the coworkers were great to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place anyone should work
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Tarboro, NCJuly 16, 2017
Johnson control in tarboro nc is nothing but a modern day slave plantation cheap pay and the supervisors and management have no idea how to run a business I see Johnson controls in tarboro nc going out of business in the near future
Pros
Non
Cons
8.00 an hour for metal work lol
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Johnson Controls. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,265 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7