Johnson Controls

1.9K reviews

Johnson Controls Employee Reviews

Found 1,311 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits without the job security
Organizational Change Manager (Current Employee) –  WisconsinFebruary 4, 2016
Very top heavy, Director or above are constantly getting promoted while the lower level employees are getting cut. No job security but the pay and benefits are great. Work here but always have a plan B because you can get cut at anytime.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Geneva, ILFebruary 3, 2016
I was a laminator operator and there was not alot of preshure from the managers you were able to take your time to get things done the right way. It was a clean and air conditioned enviornment.
Pros
Everyone was friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment of people who take pride and helping co workers & customers
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Norman, OKFebruary 3, 2016
I have learned alot from my experience at Johnson Controls. I was hired on as a temporary employee to help out other customer service reps with their accounts. I excelled in learning as much as i could from them & was given my own account in just a couple months after being hired.

I am currently working in the tech service side of my department and i am learning more about shipping, parts, friegh claims, and warranty everyday.

I am moving to Washington D.C. - Alexandria, VA area as soon as i find a job that will help me grow even more in the customer service area. I have the skills from reading the requirement so fthis job.

I look forward to an oppurtunity to better understand what your company is looking for and seeing if its a fit for me.
Pros
Team oriented, high level customer service feedback, & easy to learn
Cons
More phone calls than face to face interactions
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Holland, MIFebruary 2, 2016
It was an ok place to work. Over the years it changed for the bad. The team leads did not try as hard to work with their team as they used to. Superviser became more worried about quantity then quality.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Management
Sr. Oracle Apps DBA (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 29, 2016
Learnt project and team management skills.
Learnt hard work in collaborative team efforts.
learned new technology skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a nice place to work
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MSJanuary 28, 2016
Am a hard working very fast learner always getting my production quality out the best way how safety first a clean housekeeping always on time easy to get alone with and good team work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy company to work for.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  West Carrollton City, OHJanuary 25, 2016
Forklift operations, stock lines, drop parts for the line stockers, fifo parts in warehouse. load trucks and unload trucks, put parts where they need to go.
Pros
Flexaible with people and good to their people.
Cons
never had a problem here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor Review
Network Administrator (Former Employee) –  Riverside, MOJanuary 19, 2016
Hired on as a contractor. Worked as a over night Network Admin. Setup remote printers
Reimage and configure workstations
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 18, 2016
while working for Johnson controls my basic duties were checking tickets for the workers, answering tenant calls and complaints and making sure they were handled in a timely manner by our staff. Held weekly meetings to keep up with building requirements, osha requirements and HVAC requirements.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for a masters project
Academic Project (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJanuary 18, 2016
Great platform to work in an academic as well as in professional. My 5 other team members and I were working with top-notch JCI folks to understand and resolve the building energy efficiencies for campuses.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about Johnson Controls?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a good place to work
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 18, 2016
My review on working at Johnson controls would be that it is a pretty good place to work for me mainly because of the diversity of races that work there. You can learn a lot about the world just by getting to know your fellow employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my job experiance
Team leader Foreman (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 16, 2016
My job now with Johnson Controls involves talking to customers new and existing ones handling there needs of there facilities .Ordering parts for the jobs as needed, Writing up Quotes for particular jobs, Dispatching my men to there jobs,Looking for extra work in my area thru nex gen,handling service call , I love what i do every day is a learning experience. no matter what is I will never stop asking questions and i will never stop learning .The key to working is love what you do no matter what
Pros
meeting new people and potential customers
Cons
none I love what i do
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Site Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Capitol Heights, MDJanuary 15, 2016
Good company to work for and an industry leader in building automation, HVAC controls, and equipment. Lots of career areas to explore for an engineering minded person.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Program/Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Holland, MIJanuary 11, 2016
Very professional work environment. Great work life balance, can work from home on bad weather days, resources are stretched but what company does not stretch resources.
Pros
Work Life Balance
Cons
Company Spinoff - Future Uncertain
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Forklift Driver/Tool Setter (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 8, 2016
I can't say anything negative about this company, because from the things that I can recall it was a fun place to work it was just unfortunate that the location I worked was bought out by another company.
Pros
Union
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Cottondale, ALJanuary 4, 2016
I came to realize that I have a passion for cooking. Even though the pay was almost twice what I'm getting now I would rather cook and make less than to be unhappy
Pros
money, paid vacation, and job security
Cons
it wasnt food related
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Sales Engineer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 4, 2016
Not the best place to work after the York International acquisition. Many good relationships built during my time at JCI that I continue to value the friendships I've made.
Pros
Co-wokers
Cons
Corporate Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Organization
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Holland, MIJanuary 4, 2016
Recent rightsizing and was in position for early retirement. Accepted opportunity and moved from Michigan to Florida.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable work hours.
Remote Operation Center Specialist (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 3, 2016
Great benefits, able to work in different departments within company.

Enjoyed working with co workers in each department.

Worked well with all management.
Pros
Working with different community projects
Cons
Being laid off, job elimated.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place work
Sales, Service Accounts Manager (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJanuary 1, 2016
Normal day, out seeing customer, working on new jobs, maintenance contracts, quoting and designing. Great bunch of people, management at time was slow leaning the business. I truly enjoyed selling and working for Johnson Controls.
Pros
Professional people to work with.
Cons
none I can think of.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,856 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture