Johnson Controls Employee Reviews

Found 2,025 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Source 1 is a small office feel, with Johnson Controls as the big company backing.
UPG Parts Expeditor, Source One Procurement (Current Employee) –  8909 E 35th St. NorthJuly 27, 2017
The environment was very nice and the coworkers were very friendly and helpful. Everyone does their best to succeed and make the company better. Management is hands off and provides staff with freedom to self-manage. I learned to prioritize and manage multiple projects at the same time.
Pros
Good, stable company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, Friendly and Fun Environment
Producation Worker (Former Employee) –  Cottondale, ALJuly 26, 2017
I enjoyed working with this company. The supervisors were knowledgeable and professional. The training for this job was adequate. The pay and benefits could increase and/or change to match the qualifications desired and labor required. I worked overnight shifts, which is beneficial for my overall work/school schedule and parenting schedule.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
benfits and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCJuly 26, 2017
The company needed to hire more office staff. Understaffed and no team work from limited office staff. No assistance from manager to address issues and very biased. Colleague was very difficult to work with and kiss up to upper management and often gossiped more than work or helping out with work that was behind. Other departments and managers saw the problem and nothing was done. I had to quit.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Bias, understaff, not enough breaks, highly stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paste work environment
O&M Admin (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCJuly 26, 2017
Consistant work load and changes. Trainings done quarterly, I enjoyed the fast paste environment and working with customers. Great benefits, vacation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Koch Filter
management (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 25, 2017
There is not a positive company culture with Koch Filter. Everyone is in CYA mode and rarely work as a team. Lack of communication from the top down leaves one feeling like tey are not part of the team and whatever one does it isnt good enough.
Internal office moral is negative.
Pros
benefits
Cons
negative work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production in high demand
Forklift Operator/Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  Clanton, ALJuly 25, 2017
A typical day at work would consist of clocking in and running a set station to make a product. Occasionally I was able to observe the line and run a forklift to supply raw material and take finished goods to the warehouse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for interesting and innovative work through hands-on experience.
Manager (Former Employee) –  York, PAJuly 25, 2017
Interesting and challenging work and great people. Priorities and major projects change frequently due to lack of a consistent sponsor. A great place to work to gain valuable hands-on experience as a stepping stone in your career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for.
Senior Credit / Collection Analyst (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 25, 2017
A typical work day. Relax environment. What I learn was to work hard to get to the next level. Volunteer as much as you can and be open to your opinions.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Bessemer, ALJuly 25, 2017
The job starts early it was a awson place with awson people. i learned how to operate a press and assemble parts. the mangers did not speak much but good people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot job
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Oak, IAJuly 24, 2017
Johnson Controls is a good job with top pay. The work hours where hard when you have children its hard to work a 12 hour over night and be able to take care of kids.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working place
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCJuly 24, 2017
The pay at Johnson Control was good. I enjoyed working their, but it was not the right fit for me. Working in a lead environment was not the job I wanted as a permanent thing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place
Control Room Operator (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCJuly 24, 2017
The hardest part of my job was it was poor communication between shifts. We all have to communicate and work together as a team to make the work place better.
Pros
Excellent Awards
Cons
3 showers a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a steal press operator for heating and air conditioning
Advanced Steel Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 24, 2017
Working at Johnson Controls shows a lot of advancements for the line operator to line brazer to steel press operator I enjoyed every bit of that place good benefits and good learning skills and great pay
Pros
Long breaks good pay
Cons
Easily injured, very hot place to work in side
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sr. Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 23, 2017
Johnson Controls is a great place to work, a global company that is competitive in many different product areas. Supervisors and management is very kind, caring, and encouraging. The pace is slow allowing for detailed project management and scheduling.
Pros
Many Perks, 100% 401K match, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced company with high expectations
Senior Account Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 23, 2017
Great. place to work especially if you like challenges. People are very nice and helpful to co-workers. On site cafeteria. Great benefits and salary.
Pros
on site lunch, great benefits
Cons
Some people in management do not have experience in managing people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work, always changing things up
Building Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIJuly 22, 2017
Johnson Controls has a lot of different positions, but it seems that they are always changing things, up and it can be difficult to follow along. Pay is decent.
Pros
Big company with decent pay and benifits
Cons
constant change
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acquired by CBRE in 2015
Maintenance and Operations Specialist III (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 20, 2017
A fine place to work. I have been there 12 years. I have grown as a person and in a professional capacity while I have been there. It has been a great place, but now its time to move on.
Pros
Great work experience
Cons
Lack of challenges
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insecure
Writer (Current Employee) –  USAJuly 20, 2017
There are lots of great benefits, but the company is going through a lot of changes and it's been unstable. Overall I would recommend it as a place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant change
Customer Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  MichiganJuly 20, 2017
Management turnover and micromanagement is out of control.
Excellent pay and benefits but nonexistent work/life balance
Constantly buying out companies merges and changing firing severance pay for upper management
Would not recommend
Pros
Benefits and pay
Cons
Constant turnover and change
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall pretty good
System Designer (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 19, 2017
Typical corporate desk job.
All of the hardware engineering is done with Microsoft Visio (not industry standards). Coworkers and bosses are great but overall our office is understaffed creating a lot of extra work for people in the field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Johnson Controls. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,275 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

Alex Molinaroli
77%
938 ratings
Add your rating