Find companies:
JONES INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

JONES INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management makes decisions based on fear instead of forsight
ADMISSIONS COUNSELOR (Former Employee), Denver, COJune 17, 2014
Pros: good company benefits
Cons: you'll get questioned about every thing you do, and criticized for taking too many bathroom breaks
The management is simply ridiculous. When the telemarketing laws made it a requirement to get permission to call prospective students on their cell phones the management sat on this information for 3 months hoping it would go away. The day before this law was to take effect they had us try to contact all 700 of our leads to get permission. The next – more... day the leads we were not able to contact disappeared, reducing our lead bases from 700 to 50. A month later management paid a third party to contact the dumped leads and sell them back to us! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Records Coodinator (Current Employee), Denver, COMay 20, 2014
-Customer service- Constant exposure to a variety of customer service issues as well as catering to needs of potential students

-Compile data into spreadsheets for reports

-Researched and reviewed records for students vital to admissions and verified existing data within our compliance

-Educated customers on the process and their options, and responded – more... to customer inquiries – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chained to your desk
Student Support Counselor (Former Employee), Denver, COMay 11, 2014
Pros: paychecks were always on time
Cons: short breaks, stressful environment, very constrictive job, monotonous work
The people were awesome but the hours were long and I almost went crazy because you are chained to your phone and desk all day long. This job was like working in a call center. Ethical concerns are they enroll students who are on a middle school level saying (We give everyone a chance).....not true it's all about money and they let people enroll who – more... don't have the basic skills/knowledge to make it all the way through their programs. They also fired a guy (making up a flimsy reason everyone could see through) who was an amazing counselor after 14 years because he was making more money than the managers were. VERY AWFUL place to work UNLESS you work in the library!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Education
Admissions Counselor (Team Lead) (Former Employee), Littleton, COMarch 11, 2014
Pros: diverse culture
Cons: if you didn't make yoru quota you were let go
This was a good university to work for at one point in time..but with for profit schools taking a big hit in the last couple of years things have changed there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pits.
Inside Sales Rep- College Recruitment (Former Employee), Centennial, COFebruary 10, 2014
Hated this job.

Poor management.

Not much support.

I enjoyed my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun but lacking energy
Admissions Counselor (Team Lead) (Former Employee), coloradoJanuary 3, 2014
I was top producer here for a year straight and they kept changing things. no consist but the management ADOA and DOA are great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative humble learning enviroment
Student (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 8, 2013
Pros: helpful professors and counselors.
Cons: can not find any cons. it has all been benefical
I am taking Business Administration and Critical thinking and problem solving. I am learning a lot about time management, how to be productive and practice healthy profitable problem solving techniques.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For Profit University
Student Solution Advisor (Current Employee), Centennial, CODecember 1, 2013
As a Student Solution Advisor I have the amazing opportunity to work with multifaceted student populations, from at-risk, to non-trad, to ESL, and Military. Working with them to enter into the university and progress through their degree program is something I enjoy doing very, very much, however, due to the poor management and oppressive work atmosphere, – more... the culture of the university is of resentment and high stress.

It's a for-profit university, so the bottom line is for-profit. Unfortunately, the company is so focused on what they could be making that they forget it's the employees that, essentially, run the day-to-day operations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible and unexperienced management. Stay away
SSC (Former Employee), CentennialSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: the mailroom people are nice
Cons: pay and everything else
Worst place to work. Tuition is way too high for the poor education they deliver. The university claims to have never made a profit-this is questionable. Zero employee satisfaction. High turn over rate across the board. Human resources is worthless. When filing a sexual harassment complaint they will tell you that you took it wrong. Management comes – more... from under a rock. Not one supervisor or manager has experience in education or management. No raises. There is always a "pay freeze" in place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible, Controlling Work Environment
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Centennial, COSeptember 15, 2013
Great people to work with, but horrible work environment; the worst I have experienced by far. You are essentially chained to your desk...timed bathroom breaks, etc. There is absolutely no room for advancement or success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Small Environment Feel
Director of Admissions (Current Employee), Centennial, COMay 21, 2013
JIU is a great school with excellent programs! In a highly competitive industry JIU has a edge by providing a top 5 online education with a small school feel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a job, not a career
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Centennial, COFebruary 27, 2013
Excellent training porgram. Inconsistent management. No job stability. Constant employee turnover.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admissions Counselor
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Centennial, COFebruary 22, 2013
Required to search for, enroll and then process potential students through the system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place Ever to Work
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Denver, COFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: good money
Cons: very sterssful enviroment
The management team at this company was horrible. Across the board, HR, Financial Aid, Admissions and the Training Department. They allowed company gossip to take place because the management team wanted it to take place. Did a lot back stabbing to get rid of people. They were so unprofessional and if they did not like you they did not hide it and would – more... do whatever it took to bring you down. I find it very hard that the owner had no idea that his company was being run this way. Avoid working here – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Sales
Admissions Team Lead (Current Employee), Centennial, COOctober 22, 2012
Pros: free breakfast friday, health/dental/medical plans
Helped students get their Bachelors, MBA, MED.

I enjoyed helping change lives of students around the US and the world. My management was awesome, though there was and still is, very little room to advance as they do not have a clear path for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work from my own home was the greatest benefit of all.
Business Administration Student (Current Employee), Centennial, COAugust 16, 2012
Pros: i was free to choose my hours and places of work.
Cons: the hours could be long in an internship.
Excellent TELEWORK Experience in an otherwise Outstanding Internship. Good Employees and employment of human capitol. The daily work being a student was the hardest but the communication with the regular employees was always a bonus. The summation of the two years effort was the greatest good for me as I received a BBA Degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A double standard place to work
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Centennial, COJuly 16, 2012
Pros: 90% off education, a few good managers, pay is decent
Cons: no communication, high turnover rate
I worked for Jones for almost two years and was under two different upper management groups, a firing of all middle management, and over 100 people being laid off in my department. Upper management never operated like they were on the same page, and wanted us to act like a family when we barely got to know our co-workers. People weren't properly trained – more... to do their jobs and it fell on us when jobs weren't done right. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here, many challenges and opportunities
Director of Proj. Mngt and Operations (Current Employee), Centennial, COJuly 8, 2012
Pros: small company, providing education, interesting work each day.
Cons: company is not profitable and no pay increases have occurred across the board in 4 years.
Learned a lot managing multiple projects.
Learned new tools: Enterprise Project Server and Visio
Management is professional and driven to succeed
Co-workers are over worked and stressed out
The hardest part of the job- there are some employees that are weak links that cause re-work and project delays.
When team work is synchronous the rewards are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is not ideal for long term employment
Records Coordinator (Team Lead) (Current Employee), Centennial, COJune 11, 2012
This company does not provide valuable employees with any type of monetary growth or raises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inside Sales
ADMISSIONS COUNSELOR (Former Employee), Centennial, COJune 4, 2012
Pros: vacation and paid time off. benefits
Cons: inside all day everyday
Was great experience, needed to take my skills else where. Took away bonuses and commissions. Cold calling all day and enrolling students into programs. New and Old business retainment.

About JONES INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY

Jones International University® is the pioneer in online learning. Our founder and chancellor Glenn R. Jones has devoted much – Read more