Find companies:
JoS. A Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
112 reviews

JoS. A Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the public
Store Manager (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INJuly 7, 2014
Showing customers the correct type of wardrobe. Not enough management support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable to work for
Senior Managing Tailor (Former Employee), Millbury, MAJune 29, 2014
Pros: nice customers
Cons: non supportive manager
I enjoyed working for this company. I liked meeting all of the clients and picking out things for them to wear and then tailoring them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place
Department Manager (Current Employee), Hoover, ALJune 19, 2014
Great people to work with, fun atmosphere. Easy work.Great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff to work with - makes the job fun
Sales Executive (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NYJune 19, 2014
Pros: flexible on scheduling, commissions nice during busy times of year, benefits for full time employees
Cons: pay is low when not christmas time or father's day
I really enjoy teaching people about suits. When anyone enters the store I want them to have a comfortable and positive customer service experience.

When it comes to weddings I feel the groom's experience should be comparable to a bride's experience when selecting an outfit for their special day. I try to make the experience fun and enjoyable for the – more... men that enter the store.

Overall I like the atmosphere in which I get to help people make decisions on their attire. It pleases me to help those who need to learn how to tie a tie and when it's appropriate to wear specific clothing options. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Sales Executive (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJune 18, 2014
I didn't much enjoy working a Jos. A Bank. It was dull to work in retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work environment, encourages teamwork in everyday store operations.
Department Manager (Current Employee), Hoboken, NJJune 17, 2014
Pros: health benefits
Cons: short breaks
A typical work day will consist of receiving stock from warehouse, making sure it is scanned into store inventory and then putting it out on the floor, selling our product to clients and maintaining a clean friendly environment. While working at the hoboken store i learned what it took to be an effective manager, from dealing with unruly customers, – more... to disciplining inappropriate behavior from salesman. My coworkers were amazing and easy to get along with, even though the job is commission based, it never felt like it was an unhealthy competition for sales, everything was fair and hard earned. The hardest part of the job is keeping up with wedding parties especially if you are handling multiple parties. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing how satisfied customers are when they are happy with the results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance in retail
Department Manager/Sales Executive (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNJune 10, 2014
None Too many holidays and weekends. Not employee or customer oriented
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review of Jos. A. Bank
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Newnan, GAJune 9, 2014
There really is no such thing as a typical day at Jos. A. Bank. Everyday is a new challenge and a new adventure. I have learned to wow people with customer service. I enjoy my co-workers but the hardest part of the job is the time away from my wife and two children. I miss a lot of events. The most enjoyable part of the job is to see a customer light – more... up when they know they look good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and enjoyable place to work.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Texarkana, TXJune 9, 2014
I enjoyed working at this company as an asst. manager/key holder. The only negative thing is the rate of pay for the job required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very busy
Tailor Shop Assistant (Former Employee), Fort worth,TXJune 4, 2014
What i learned at Jos a Bank was to not let no one take advantage of me , and the hardest part of the job was dealing with angry customers and at times not knowing what to do or where to turn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Department Manager/Key holder - Part-time (Current Employee), Auburn, ALJune 4, 2014
Pros: meeting people
Cons: you work a lot around the holiday
I love my job. It gets kind of busy at times. You keep up with the new suit fashion and the meet cool people in the area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), McLean, VAMay 16, 2014
Retail store- majority of the day was spent interacting with customers, selling clothes, advertising, working in a team environment with co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job as a teenager
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 14, 2014
This was my first go at having a job at 17 years old. I honestly should have never been hired, I feel as though I was completely unprepared for everything that was thrown at me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Executive
Sales Executive (Former Employee), Kettering, OHApril 26, 2014
Great place to work, and learn how to dress professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very rewarding job that exposed me to sales.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Flemington, NJApril 23, 2014
This was my first job as an actual sales associate. I was able to work in a very hands on enviorment, and learned a lot about the menswear industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 16, 2014
A terrible company. Jos A bank only cares about shareholders, Sales associates are treated very unfair. So high turnover in this company since the base pay is so low and there are so many sales associates in every location. Jos A bank C level people might be good bussinessmen with no leadership knowledge. Jos A bank is exaclty an example of a businessman – more... started his retail bussiness wit some freinds, the business grew up, so that business man took care of all the people that stood by him from the start. Anyone new will join, will not have a chance to get in any advanced position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer interaction
Department manager (Current Employee), bellingham maApril 15, 2014
Loved the hands on customer service-made the day fly by. Enjoyed being active all shift long, Whether with customers, or work tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broad Experience
Enterprise Systems Administrator (Current Employee), Hampstead, MDApril 10, 2014
Always a full schedule. Lots of experience with different technologies such as Active Directory, VM Ware, SAN technology, and BigFix.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don't do it
Department Manager (Former Employee), West Hartford, CTApril 8, 2014
Senior management is never around. Store level management is either a hit or miss. Security is based on who you're friends with. Retail schedules always suck, base pay and comission percentage are both horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for part time workers
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Mclean, VaMarch 12, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: long hours, losing sales and $
The job is great for part time workers, but as a full time worker it is based on a commission and draw. You never know what your paycheck will be each week.

1 2 3 4 5

About JoS. A Bank

Perfectly Suited Careers. As one of America's premier clothiers, Jos. A. Bank is the perfect fit for people with the passion – Read more