Joslin Diabetes Center Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The perfect hive!
Medical Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 8, 2016
It was always a pleasure coming to work at Joslin Institute! I start my day with coffee and emails, like I sure every other office worker bee does. I follow-up on any pending assignments; run our daily reports, return phone calls, and make sure I keep this office running smoothly.
Pros
Awesome coworkers
Cons
On call everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Program Coordinator(Diabetes Technology Program) (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 9, 2015
Joslin Diabetes is a great place to work, co-workers and providers are excellent to work with. I enjoying helping out patients in making sure needs are met. The pay is not so great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
understaffed
Certified Diabetes Educator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TxAugust 12, 2015
Too many patients too little time. Lunch breaks were catch as catch can. It was a woefully under served population. There were documents in the clinic that were very out of date, but we were forced to keep them.
Pros
The Joslin name
Cons
harried environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great service level, people oriented environment
IT Service Management Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 8, 2015
Potential for great learning experiences with a supportive staff who are welcoming and accommodating. The department is fully supporting the overall needs of the organization by providing A+ quality services.
Pros
Great benifits
Cons
Parking shortage
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where hard work was rewarded by promotion.
Joslin Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 17, 2015
I started as a receptionist, It was a steady pace, but very professional. I was able to do my job efficiently and also ask questions during my break time, or down time, I learned very quickly and assisted other claims adjusters, After 1.5 years I was given additional responsibilities, and then shortly after a nice raise with a promotion. I enjoyed moving into the corporate office, it was a lot of work, but I enjoyed every moment of it. I worked with 4 others we were a good team, with a good supervisor. I enjoyed establishing relationship with the different medical carriers, and well as the multiple number of claimants.
Pros
If you had 0-3 errors on claims per 100 you would receive a DD gift card.
Cons
Company leaving Boston and moving to Carolina.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Meeting/Registration Coordinator (Former Employee) –  BostonJanuary 26, 2015
I liked the interaction with everyone Doctor's and everyone in the medical field.

I have learned a lot with everyone in general ,I gain a solid fondation of management,negotiation etc.

The hardest part of the job was when I couldn't work more due to school assigments.
Pros
no free lunch but good place to work at
Cons
good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workers are devoted day-to-day jobs.
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 1, 2014
people's pace is faster than other clinic

I

workers have smiling faces

IT staff are fewer then expected

Our IT team makes much more projects than previous IT team
with less spending.
Pros
it staffwork and help each are devoted to day-day other
Cons
it budge seems fewer than needed
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission Driven and Inspiring
Vice President HR (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 24, 2014
The Joslin Diabetes Center in Boston is fantastic place to work. I've had great jobs, but I was even more proud to work a Joslin.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many providers who care deeply for their patients
Pediatric Clinical & Research Technician (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 20, 2014
Longwood Ave is a difficult place to commute too. Poor access by train and ridiculously expensive parking for drivers.

Office hours are good. M-F for most all employees and all federal holidays.

It seems like there is a poor allocation of funds. There were no bonuses this year but there was money to remodel all the administrative offices.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head Medical Assistant
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Novi, MINovember 19, 2013
Enjoyed working and learning about Diabetes and Thyroid dx. Helping patients and co-workers . Management was very nice. I enjoyed all of it except when starting sending me to afar away office.
Pros
nice co-workers, and patients
Cons
long drive
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place met a lot of great people
Registration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 3, 2013
registered medical professional for conferences. answered phones, email and assisted in the medical mtgs at various locations
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joslin is a good place to work
Medical Assistant/Office Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 30, 2013
I am happy at Joslin just looking for a change of job because of location
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 19, 2013
It was a very busy and fast paced workplace. I learned a lot while working here. We were not just assigned to one section. We dealt with checking in patients, booking appointments, obtaining vital signs, doing EKGs, drawing blood, and rooming patients. It was very multitasking based.
Pros
learned a lot.
Cons
over worked, low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great institute
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 24, 2013
Joslin is a fantastic place to be immersed in the study of one disease. Researchers are very collaborative, employees are happy and enjoy their jobs. I can't say many bad things.
Pros
many free lunch seminars, great culture
Cons
could pay more
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission driven culture of highly motivated professionals
Assistant Director (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 1, 2013
Opportunity to work with best-if-field researchers and healthcare professionals all working together under one mission: to rid the world of diabetes and its complications.
Pros
world class experts in the field of diabetes
Cons
once classified into specific role, difficult to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work. coworkers great. But administration not good
Medical Office Coordinator/MA (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 7, 2013
i would like to stay working here but the administration does not work with you. Coworkers are wonderful but, Hiring people outside the company not giving the people inside the company a chance to grow not fair at all. The most enjoyable time is when i work with the patients and can help in any way.
Pros
coworkers are wonderful
Cons
administration not good
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faced paced clinical environment
Per-Diem Joslin Care Coordinator/Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 15, 2013
-Phlebotomy, and patient care
-I have learned the the importance of communication
-Very informative management
-Co-workers are extremely patient, helpful, and professional
-No guarantee of hours
-Working with a good team
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 13, 2013
Registering patients, learn lost of important fact about Diabetes, management and co-workers were both very helpful. the hardest part of the job was seeing patients not cooping well with the Dx. Diabetes. and the most enjoyable part was greeting and meeting new patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lpn
LPN assisting (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 29, 2012
LPN in clinical setting focused on diabetes and other endocrine disorders , excellent teamwork
Pros
teamwork, benefits
Cons
travel time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Robert Half Staffing, Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 3, 2012
I enjoyed working there3, met wonderful people. Was able to fit right in even though it was temp. I miss the place already.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
3.9
Culture
4.4

Joslin Diabetes Center Reviews by Location