Joslin Diabetes Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfair
Patient Access Representative (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 9, 2017
this place is really unorganized the manager doesn't really work with you at all. They have the new people do all the new work and for the people that's been there longer they have a choice to weather they want to try a new project
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall this has been a great experience
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Lanham, MDMay 3, 2017
Joslin diabetes center is a very busy atmosphere. I learned a lot pertaining to endocrinology, so this was a great experience. The best part of the job was was the interaction with the patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs work on a lot of things, managment especially.
CMA (Former Employee) –  New Albany, INFebruary 21, 2017
It was an ok pace to work for a first job to get experience, the first manager was very good, then we got a new manager and no one liked her. She was not very nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place to work with incredible people
Executive Assistant/Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 19, 2017
By far this was one of my favorite jobs.

The 2 VPs I worked directly for were amazing. They were very self sufficient but I felt comfortable with asking questions and doing follow ups.

the work load was usually pretty steady. I knew my place and what was expected because it was clear and training was good.

the workplace culture was good and everyone seemed to get along great helping each other at all times as a team.
Pros
benefits, management, pay
Cons
cant think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good while it lasted
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 13, 2016
Very unorganized , don't train you properly
My time being there was good while is lasted. But it only helped as an experience - horrible
Pros
Nice co workers
Cons
Horrible staff leaders -
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational, patient cenetered
Research Assistant / Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 20, 2016
I really enjoyed being part of the patient care team. The nurses, physicians thought as well as providing care, I learned so much about the care being provided. I really love to learn and have those resources right there at your finger tips made working there very exciting.
Pros
Educational, patient cenetered
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The perfect hive!
Medical Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 8, 2016
It was always a pleasure coming to work at Joslin Institute! I start my day with coffee and emails, like I sure every other office worker bee does. I follow-up on any pending assignments; run our daily reports, return phone calls, and make sure I keep this office running smoothly.
Pros
Awesome coworkers
Cons
On call everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Program Coordinator(Diabetes Technology Program) (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 9, 2015
Joslin Diabetes is a great place to work, co-workers and providers are excellent to work with. I enjoying helping out patients in making sure needs are met. The pay is not so great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
understaffed
Certified Diabetes Educator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TxAugust 12, 2015
Too many patients too little time. Lunch breaks were catch as catch can. It was a woefully under served population. There were documents in the clinic that were very out of date, but we were forced to keep them.
Pros
The Joslin name
Cons
harried environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great service level, people oriented environment
IT Service Management Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 8, 2015
Potential for great learning experiences with a supportive staff who are welcoming and accommodating. The department is fully supporting the overall needs of the organization by providing A+ quality services.
Pros
Great benifits
Cons
Parking shortage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where hard work was rewarded by promotion.
Joslin Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 17, 2015
I started as a receptionist, It was a steady pace, but very professional. I was able to do my job efficiently and also ask questions during my break time, or down time, I learned very quickly and assisted other claims adjusters, After 1.5 years I was given additional responsibilities, and then shortly after a nice raise with a promotion. I enjoyed moving into the corporate office, it was a lot of work, but I enjoyed every moment of it. I worked with 4 others we were a good team, with a good supervisor. I enjoyed establishing relationship with the different medical carriers, and well as the multiple number of claimants.
Pros
If you had 0-3 errors on claims per 100 you would receive a DD gift card.
Cons
Company leaving Boston and moving to Carolina.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Meeting/Registration Coordinator (Former Employee) –  BostonJanuary 26, 2015
I liked the interaction with everyone Doctor's and everyone in the medical field.


I have learned a lot with everyone in general ,I gain a solid fondation of management,negotiation etc.

The hardest part of the job was when I couldn't work more due to school assigments.
Pros
no free lunch but good place to work at
Cons
good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workers are devoted day-to-day jobs.
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 1, 2014
people's pace is faster than other clinic

I


workers have smiling faces


IT staff are fewer then expected

Our IT team makes much more projects than previous IT team
with less spending.
Pros
IT staffwork and help each are devoted to day-day other
Cons
IT budge seems fewer than needed
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission Driven and Inspiring
Vice President HR (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 24, 2014
The Joslin Diabetes Center in Boston is fantastic place to work. I've had great jobs, but I was even more proud to work a Joslin.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many providers who care deeply for their patients
Pediatric Clinical & Research Technician (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 20, 2014
Longwood Ave is a difficult place to commute too. Poor access by train and ridiculously expensive parking for drivers.

Office hours are good. M-F for most all employees and all federal holidays.

It seems like there is a poor allocation of funds. There were no bonuses this year but there was money to remodel all the administrative offices.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head Medical Assistant
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Novi, MINovember 19, 2013
Enjoyed working and learning about Diabetes and Thyroid dx. Helping patients and co-workers . Management was very nice. I enjoyed all of it except when starting sending me to afar away office.
Pros
Nice co-workers, and patients
Cons
long drive
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place met a lot of great people
Registration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 3, 2013
registered medical professional for conferences. answered phones, email and assisted in the medical mtgs at various locations
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joslin is a good place to work
Medical Assistant/Office Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 30, 2013
I am happy at Joslin just looking for a change of job because of location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 19, 2013
It was a very busy and fast paced workplace. I learned a lot while working here. We were not just assigned to one section. We dealt with checking in patients, booking appointments, obtaining vital signs, doing EKGs, drawing blood, and rooming patients. It was very multitasking based.
Pros
Learned a lot.
Cons
Over worked, low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission driven culture of highly motivated professionals
Assistant Director (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 1, 2013
Opportunity to work with best-if-field researchers and healthcare professionals all working together under one mission: to rid the world of diabetes and its complications.
Pros
world class experts in the field of diabetes
Cons
once classified into specific role, difficult to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Joslin Diabetes Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
4.2

Joslin Diabetes Center Reviews by Location