Jostens, Inc Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Until you get to the next Career Move
Employee (Current Employee) –  Denton, TXDecember 9, 2016
The upper management at the Denton location has created a "Good Ole Boys" network of which if you are not accepted in their click, it will be very hard for you to achieve or progress within the company, even if you do exceed expectations. Jostens is not a company that invests in their employees. While a few of their favorites get to enjoy perks within the company, it is not widely open that all employees will get the appropriate training or learning opportunities as the elite few. If you need a job to get to your next career move then Jostens is the place, however it is not a company to sign up for long successful career growth and opportunities.
Pros
paycheck
Cons
Lack of training, no career opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical, courrpt, inferior product
Floor Hand (Current Employee) –  Denton, TXFebruary 10, 2017
The plant where I work is corrupt. Nepotism. Cutting corners. Poor quality being sent out the door to reach numbers. No stability. Either have excessive hours or no hours. The place is filthy. The restrooms are unhygienic. Bugs everywhere. Everyday is torture and you force yourself to come to work.
Pros
none
Cons
Management and backstabbing peers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT was a great place to work
Machine Operator/Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSOctober 7, 2016
I loved working for Jostens Inc i was with them for 13yrs.They allowed me to grow and learn from my mistakes,which has made me into the great skilled machine operator that i am today Jostens Group leaders taught me everything i know about running a machine.Our maintenance team also taught me how to trouble shot on the machine as well as fix them. Love you Jostens you are sadly missed. Plant shut down in 2012
Pros
Also we was always being treated to a lunch or diner on the company
Cons
excellent health care benfits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working for jostens
High school call center rep. (Current Employee) –  Owatonna, MNJune 29, 2016
I really love working for jostens. Awesome people, the environment is great, always doing fun days for football or holidays.... My trainer was top notch. Help phone people always helped out. I worked as a call center rep in high school... I loved my job.
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and steady place to work
Packer (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, SCNovember 11, 2015
a wonderful place to work. i learned the ability to work at very fast pace than i usually worked. the management is very supportive and the co-workers all work as a team. there isnt a hard part about the job when you love what you are doing.
Pros
breaks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
benefits were good pay was average
Account manager/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, TNApril 18, 2012
jostens customer service = craziness
phone calls, email, process work, plant deadlines.
the people i worked with were the best! we made a stressful hectic job fun.
the most enjoyable was the repore' with my salesmen that i was responsible for their schools orders.
the hardest part was gettting the work done in the 8 hours so overtime was always on. not mandatory but personally. the phone kept you from processing work and emails.
Pros
the people i worked with.
Cons
no respect from management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for people who can just work without any kind of expectations
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNApril 18, 2013
work, work, work beyond your role and no appreciation.

Never question anything which you don't like otherwise you are gone. No freedom of expression. Good for blind followers not for taking ownership/independent/makes sense thinking people. Lot of politics. I have seen letting so many good hardworking and very loyal employees go on a regular basis. Few people who are there for a long time want to control everything. No fun, lot of stress and job insecurity. Managers come to know what you talk/do casually.
Pros
good salaries and benefits
Cons
no fun, lot of stress, lot of politics, no freedom of expression
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company that I have ever worked for in my life!!!
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNFebruary 15, 2013
My only saving grace was I had a terrific boss the last year that I worked there. The pay is terrible, executives suck---job security? forget it! As far as I am concerned this company does nothing more than take money from families that can't afford it. My advice if you are considering working for this company? DON'T!!
Pros
can't think of any
Cons
terrible benefit, they give vacation pay but don't want anyone to actually take it.
Was this review helpful?Yes28No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive packing place
Quality Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Laurens, SCAugust 18, 2013
1.daily inspections of inbound and outbound products
2.different computer skills
3.easy to work with and team players
4.is listening to serveral different manager in different department and trying to figure which department is top priority
5.is making sure all customers received what they ordered correctly for the big day.
Pros
working with the personnel
Cons
pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jostens review
Distribution Team Leader/ Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Laurens, SCJune 30, 2014
Set up work station, have a start up meeting, place employees in work stations expedite open pick coach and train employees make sure orders get shipped to customer on time.
Pros
Good cooperative supportive employees
Cons
Didn't have stock for orders or were short on gowns
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding Experience
Desktop Publisher (Former Employee) –  State College, PADecember 9, 2014
*Company supplied all materials and learning tools needed to perform my job duties
*Learned not only valuable work skills, but interpersonal skills
*Made many friends and aquaintences
Pros
Advancements over the years
Cons
Facility relocated to another state
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Territory management encompassing creative, analytical, sales, negotation, etc ---all in a day's work!
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 1, 2013
Best yearbook company with progressive and sound products; no other place to work! Always enjoyable to partner with schools, advisers, and students to create their unique memories.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and safe work enviornment
Machine Operator (Embroidery) (Current Employee) –  Laurens, SCJuly 1, 2013
A typical day at work was excellent. I've learned alot from working at Jostens over the past 5 years. The management team were a group of great people, made sure we had all the neccessities we needed to do our job successfully and safely.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work. Great environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, TNApril 14, 2015
Jostens is a great place to work. You are part of the process in a long tradition in the education world.

The management team is strong and dedicated.

Co-workers make it a fun environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in the Publishing/Pre-Press
Desktop Publisher (Former Employee) –  winston-salem NCMarch 20, 2013
It is what it is.... Loved the summers off but the later years management tried hard to keep our plant open but it feels like they really took it out on the employees. Example: Raising your hand to use the restroom.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible work schedule, great people
Senior eBusiness Manager (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNApril 8, 2014
Smart, dedicated and hard working group of people.
High pace environment. A lot of custom applications or modifications interacting with Oracle.
Best perk is the flexibility on schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A employer that cares about its employees.
HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  Visalia, CAApril 3, 2012
Jostens is a great place to work. Management trully cares about its employees and the lines of communication are always open.
Pros
jostens trully cares about its employees.
Cons
wages could be a bit higher.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and great at creating some awsome class rings
Floater in the Cast Department (Former Employee) –  Denton, TXSeptember 29, 2013
I loved working here had great benefits , I was a hard worker to keep the production going , I was a valued team worker
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent, people/products/processes
Senior Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Marion, SCAugust 28, 2013
Top-notch people. Well branded product. Excellent training and personal development
Pros
Self-employed, great customers
Cons
Tough economy
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but class rings may not be as popular anymore
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMarch 19, 2012
Nice company to work for, good people, well respected executives.
Pros
i had a great boss!
Cons
not a lot of flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes1No10Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jostens, Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6