Journeys Employee Reviews in United States

Found 952 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work experience
Co- Manager / Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXJuly 4, 2016
Working at Journeys Kids was an amazing experience. Everyday you get to meet so many new people from all over the world and associate with kids from all ages.
I learned how to manage a store, how to satisfy the customers needs, making sales goals, and delineate what is expected from sales associates. The hardest part of the job was keeping track of all the shoes! There would be times where a customer needed a shoe in a certain size and it was in our inventory, but no where to be found in our stock room. The most enjoyable part of the job was encountering so many children with different personalities and making my job so much easier.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Poor management from "higher ups"
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Glendale, WIJune 30, 2016
The typical day at Journeys is okay. I learned tolerance and how to adjust to change. The two managers I had were really good. The co-workers are pretty chill. The hardest part is getting hours to work and making sales goals with there being a lot of sales associates during one shift.
Pros
the discount
Cons
very inconsistant hours, constant changing of managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a comfortable environment
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJune 29, 2016
I have learned a lot while working at Journeys. During my months there, I developed great people skills, great management skills, as well as some nice retail skills. The team I worked with all treated each other like family, and that is what makes the job enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 28, 2016
Journeys humble, texas Recommended and helped customers select merchandise based on their needs.Fielded
an average of 6 or more customer service calls per day.Extended customer subscriptions, offering discounts and
promotions to ensure high customer retention rates.Informed customers about sales and promotions in a
friendly and engaging manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clam work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Monroeville, PAJune 27, 2016
i really liked the work environment, i wish there was a bigger wage and i got more hrs. most days were pretty calm but so sudden because i worked 3 hr shifts which i did not like
Pros
the location and the discounts
Cons
the pay and hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJune 27, 2016
This is really a salesman's job; at the beginning of each work day you are given quotas that you must meet by the end of your shift. The managers review your daily performances at the end of your shift and reflect on skills and sales tips that you can work on. This job teaches organization, due to the stock room full of shoes, and the constant arrangements of merchandise on display.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNJune 27, 2016
Good company, great relationships with customers. Pay is not good, hours are few. Hours may be long depending on time of year. Discounts are good.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for inspiring teenagers entering the workplace.
Co-Manager/Store Manager (Former Employee) –  626 BroadwayJune 23, 2016
Typical day at work would be busy and sometimes long. The day usually consists of helping people in need of finding the right shoe that fits their personality and sense of style.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  34 W 34th St, New York, NY 10001June 23, 2016
At Journeys the management team are all involved in theyre employees work. The work enviornment was very competetive but still family oriented. The recognition when sales rise is always a plus.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 23, 2016
Journeys is a great starting point for individuals interested in developing sales skills. Starting in a part-time position, you will learn selling steps to reach sales goals and how to effectively communicate with customers. The management will depend on location. Because managers are often hired at a young age, some will not be quite suitable for the job. Manager and co-managers of each store usually change frequently until a good fit is found, which is at times frustrating. The hardest part of this position is making expected goals. Employees that do not perform to the company's standards will be cut. On a positive side, this company is fun to work for a holds a great amount of learning potential. On a side note, the 40% discount is a great perk.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall decent job for first time job seekers looking to advance quickly
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJune 23, 2016
Required showing the best customer service, hardest part of the job was not having all the sizes and styles people were looking for, management was fair at most locations, co-workers were fun and easy to get along with, most enjoyable part of the job was getting to meet and associate with new people daily.
Pros
Fast advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love
Sergeant Rd Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Sioux City, IAJune 22, 2016
I absolutely loved Journeys. Wish I would have never left but I did have to relocate. Very high paced but so fun. You get to connect with customers.
Pros
Everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self expression was nice
Team Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNJune 21, 2016
Typical day included stocking shoes according to correct ID, helping customers face to face, organizing, and cleaning the show room. This job increased my knowledge about retail and the process of making the customer satisfied. Co-workers were really friendly; we were allowed to express ourselves. The hardest part about this job was making the goals regarding merchandise other than shoes. Barely paid, some pay checks didn't seem right, was making less than $100 every TWO weeks. Too many employees scheduled.
Pros
discount, free expression
Cons
Didnt give a certain amount of time for breaks, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for young people
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARJune 20, 2016
It was a good place to work as a student. The manager was very flexible with my hours and needs. My co workers were all very nice and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong potenial for growth
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 17, 2016
Fun and great place to learn a positive attitude toward helping and being ready to assist customer to have them leave happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Manager
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJune 15, 2016
Open and closing the store. Manage stock levels and check in all merchandise that comes in. Organize the stock room to ensure fast service to all customers. Count money and deposit at the bank in the evening.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat productive workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJune 13, 2016
Working at Journey's was a very unique place to be in. It was very cultured and friendly at first. Working their was a little too personal though. Co-workers would talk behind others back, or constantly act rude toward other people. But other than that i made some really good friends that I still talk to today
Pros
Calm, Laid Back Environment
Cons
To Personal, No enough work hours, no motivation to some of the employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment but corporate is terrible
Store Manager/ Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Orem, UTJune 12, 2016
Over worked working 80 hour work weeks, no help in finding an assistant, views on employees is that they are expendable, being micromanaged all the time, but I loved helping out customers and the fast-paced environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with a great company
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  Hyannis, MAJune 12, 2016
Journeys is an amazing place to work with great people. It is a fair work environment based on performance, with many incentives to do better, one of them being commission.
Pros
Fair opportunities, great management, incentive to do better
Cons
A lot of competition for a full time position
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low wage
Salesman Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 9, 2016
It was okay when first started but overtime the low wage takes a toll a employers time and health trying to maintain my living.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 986 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8