Joy Global Employee Reviews

Found 118 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Downhill Business
Manager (Current Employee) –  PennsylvaniaMarch 23, 2017
Retrograde thinking and very poor people skills. They don't have progressive culture required for growth. Poor understanding of business and maintaining relations with customers and employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Established company with a long history in the mining industry.
Field Service technician (Current Employee) –  PennsylvaniaMarch 15, 2017
Very established company with a long history in the mining industry. It was a great job until we merged with the production side of the operation. Wish management would have left things the same.
Pros
different job sites daily
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company worked to be progressive in a dying sector-coal mining
Contract CNC Programming Engineer (Former Employee) –  Brook Park, OHFebruary 15, 2017
After working there for nearly 3 years as a contractor performing various technical assignments bringing the culture to more relevant machining and programming technology, the company was sold to Komatsu.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hold
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIFebruary 6, 2017
Excited for the contributions of the Merger; until that happens, it would seem many have checked out waiting for payday

Good Life work balance

The boots on the ground are the best folks they have
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel the world, meet interesting people.
Product Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 6, 2017
Travel the world, meet interesting people.
Lots of former military working out in the field with a can-do spirit and a commitment to excellence. You will go thru a few pairs of steel toe boots and you can be afraid to get dirty.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent leadership in my branch
Welder / Fabricator / Mechanic/Electrician (Former Employee) –  Culloden, WVFebruary 4, 2017
Understanding and nice place to work. No micromanaging. Company was flexible when the market conditions changed and allowed us to work in the shop, as apposed to the field, when times were slow.
Pros
per diem when out of town, company vehicle
Cons
traveling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Duffield, VAJanuary 20, 2017
It's not a bad place to work overall, the employees are very nice. Good benefits and yearly raises with a Christmas bonus and monthly steak dinners for reaching goals.
Pros
Nice people to work with
Cons
Have to watch your p's and q's
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Noble company, good people, challenging industry.
TEAM LEAD, PROJECT ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 12, 2017
A company that encourages employees to support Habitat for Humanity, is a company to watch. Joy Global is a company to watch and pursue, just have realistic expectations amid the challenges facing the U.S. mining industry.
Pros
Good people. Dedicated people.
Cons
Challenging industry and sensitive to domestic environmental policy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good placed to be
Mechanical/electrical and hydraulic Assembler (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXJanuary 8, 2017
management sucks, all the supervisors are buddy's go hunting, fishing, drinking and that's all they talk about during the day, instead of helping with the workload. no chance of advancement and the raises suck, no future in this place.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joy Global Assembly Intern
Assembly Intern (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 31, 2016
Overall a great work experience for me as an intern. Wish I was involved in more activities within Joy Global such as meetings with management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a project team for implementing SAP R3 globally
Business Representative P&H Mining Equipment (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 22, 2016
Excelente team, hard work and had great fun ... improve my language skills, really learnt how to work on a multicultural work team as it was 40 member from all over the world.
Pros
Excellent work relationship that has last forever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked alot of overtime, because no one else wanted to, unless it was double time.
Setup/Punch Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 20, 2016
I learned how to run notching machines. I liked working by myself. The hardest part of the job, when the bell rung I couldn't run my machines until all workers were awake from there naps. I met a lot of nice people.
Pros
have give aways for just about anything
Cons
I liked doing my job, sometimes I couldn't becase people were sleeping and I would of got written up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Maintenance/assembler (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 9, 2016
good place to work,lots of friends,and provided a good life for my family and I.it taught me many skills which i used in everyday life. it was a hard woking job with many close deadlines, which was great fealing when you were done and on time.
Pros
great pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I take my work very serious and likes to learn more
Quality Control Technician (Former Employee) –  Wadeville, GautengOctober 6, 2016
-I am very hard working and safety conscious.
-If doesn't understand something always ask
-Always communicate before and during execution of any task to prevent accidents
Pros
very quiet at times
Cons
open for critics and learns from them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I ever worked. Enjoyed going everyday.
Saw & Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Franklin, PASeptember 11, 2016
Job security was poor, but the job in my opinion was great. Best pay and benefits I ever had. Management switched around a lot, but most of them were good to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steel working
Fork Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Franklin, PASeptember 2, 2016
i was a journeyman apprentise for four years, I learned mig ,tig, gas and stick welding. management was knowegeable about the work being done. Rotated shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to develop our skill
Sr. Devops Engineer (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 22, 2016
Best place to work, Friendly environment.
Can learn new things.
good management
very flexible.
Hardest path is too much stress
Pros
free lunches
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing organization, fighting for its marketplace
Engineering Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 16, 2016
The hardest part of the job was the constantly changing priorities. The management is trying to right size the company after it expanded a few years ago.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work for
Value Stream Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 22, 2016
Overall good place to work. Very strong Union hard to make changes within the company.

It depends who likes you in management. Be careful not to step on certain toes
Pros
Benifits are good
Cons
Lots of politics
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy Hectic Work Days
Sales Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  Wellington, UTJuly 18, 2016
My days start at 7:30 a.m., I have to run all of the quote register and sales force reports and get with Engineers to make sure all money, dates, and deliveries are on tact. I take an hour out of each day and write the Western Region warranty letters. I quote machines and change sales order based off contract management requests.
Pros
Family Oreinted
Cons
Distractions, Woman in a Male enviroment, micro managing
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Joy Global. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 215 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6