Find companies:
JRK PROPERTY HOLDINGS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

JRK PROPERTY HOLDINGS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't even deserve one star
Leasing Agent (Former Employee), GeorgiaJune 19, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: everything!!!!!
This company does not care about their employees! They are cut throat and look at the bottom dollar instead of taking care of the property and residents. The Fountains at Chatham Parkway is falling apart and they can't keep a good staff and the property is falling apart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company has no idea how to treat its employees
Corporate Office Employee (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 16, 2014
Pros: at corporate they did have a lot of free lunch days where they ordered in different types of food.
Cons: they care nothing about training their employees, corporate is not staffed enough to support the field to do appropriate training, if we asked to go to a training it would be denied, their is no real evaluation to help you learn from your mistakes, end of the year reviews are not reviews, you don't get many "good job" comments from your direct bosses, thank you is like a foreign statement, having to be at work at 7:30, the owner of the company can even check sometimes to see if we are at our desks, honesty
The problem with this company is its culture. The Accounting Department fights with the Operations Department. Managers and/or top level executives do not know how to fairly handle issues between the departments and some of the employees suffer because of it. Long term faithful employees can be written up for trying to be a team player if it is for – more... the other department. Employees are leaving in droves and Human Resources is just turning a blind eye to it. When issues even between employees in the same department are brought to HR, it even isn't handled correctly. They have had so many lawsuits that they decided to hire an arbitration firm to handle employee issues. If you did not sign the agreement it was a big issue. I was told that if I did not sign it, I would not be eligible for bonuses or career advancement. This is NOT legal and the signing would not stand up in court.
It was sad to see great people leave the company when treated badly as even at bad companies you bond with people and learn from them.
They don't staff their properties correctly to industry standard, yet they expect the property to be run to their high standards. They had a corporate employee of the quarter and we all felt it was a joke how they picked the person that "won". They also change their healthcare plans almost every year. Only once since my employment did they keep the same company for two years. A typical day is just a day of STRESS. Not much happiness. It comes from the top down.
This company also has no honest bone in them. Beware of some of the "good" reviews on this website. The company knew they had a bad reputation and asked people to help them out to make them look better. So trust the lower ones as a more honest look at what this company is really like. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Properties
Area Manager (Current Employee), Whitehall, OHJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: busy office
Cons: condition of properties are old
All Properties I have worked at have been extremely busy. Lots of traffic and even some renovations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast, Fun and Employee Friendly Atmosphere
Property Manager Assistant (Current Employee), Los AngelesDecember 23, 2013
Pros: culture, opportunities, growth, training
Cons: politics, constant change.
I have been working for JRK Property for 2 years, 10 months. It is a fast, fun and employee friendly atmosphere and the company is a great place to start your career, it offers opportunities and exposure to learn and grow in all areas of the organization.

The company has very talented people who are committed to future growth and improving departmental – more... processes and procedures to help the employees achieve their personal business and professional goals and overall growth.

My belief is if you can make it here you will make it anywhere because the vast experience that you will acquire will be a very valuable one that will remain with you always, and you will be thankfull for that.

To summarize, I have had an overall pleasant, fun and great learning experience working at JRK. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have been working for JRK for over 5 years now and I love
Accounting Manager/Office Manager (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 18, 2013
Pros: culture, team, sponsorship, free lunch, promotions
Cons: long hours, turnover
I have been working for JRK for over 5 years now and I love it. The people are friendly and professional. My peers consist of fantastic individuals who work as a team. They are always there to support me in whatever it is I need. My supervisor is also very helpful and professional. He is very supportive and is always available to assist in what we need. – more... Upper management is very much the same, whether it is on the accounting side or in operations. They are helpful, friendly and polite. Management does not focus on the negative but rather on solutions as to how we can avoid conflict in the future. They make sure to give us great training along with all the tools and resources we need to succeed. They are also open to providing people with new opportunities should they be interested. The best word I can use to describe everyone here is professional. The company has afforded me many opportunities in my time here, one of which has been the opportunity to get in shape. They sponsor us in races and provide us the opportunity to get in shape by giving us access to personal trainers during work hours. It is something they do not have to do but they genuinely care about the employees and our wellbeing. The company recognizes the hard work by the employees by spoiling us with events such free lunches as a token of their appreciation for our hard work and employee of the month ceremony to recognize employees. The owner himself works harder than anyone and still takes the time to personally come around and thank everyone for their hard work. I could not be happier with the people that surround me every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at JRK.
Accounting Manager (Current Employee), San FranciscoNovember 25, 2013
Pros: growth, culture, co-workers, free lunch
Cons: relocation, work travel
I have been working for JRK Hotels over 3 years now and have formed great relationships with all my co-workers and JRK Hotel management team. JRK Hotel management team is mentor to me, I learned lot from them, they have always guided me to right direction and they are the reason of my growth. I started off working at the Roger in NYC as Overnight Manager – more... and I am now at Villa Florence in San Francisco as an Accounting Manager. I have seen myself grow within the company and I feel like I am with a company who definitely recognizes my hard work that I have put in all the years I have been working for the company. JRK is a large company with many employees but my opinion and voice are always heard and valued. I have never had a dull moment, some days are challenging but that’s the exciting part I look forward to each day and facing the challenge. Many more exciting years to come with JRK! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JRK Hotel Group
Group Housing and Reservations Manager (Current Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 18, 2013
Pros: location, experience, brand, office amenities
Cons: long hours
When we think of hotel companies, we picture a listing of key items; service, amenities, brand, “the experience”, location, and aspiration. JRK Hotel Group owns various hotels throughout the United States, and although we may or may not have heard the name, it truly is a great place to work. With the rapport from the owner of the company, the president – more... and vice president of the company, and various other individuals along our side in the corporate world, I have never been more respected. The ability and opportunity to not only grow as an individual but the strive which we all take everyday is something that I have never experienced before. It is a true honor to work alongside everyone affiliated with the company each and every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My engineering team is one of the best I've ever worked with.
Manager (Current Employee), San FranciscoNovember 14, 2013
Pros: fair compensation, challenging and fast paced, excellent i.t. support, management approachable
Cons: can be long hours (if you're bothered by that sort of thing)
I have, literally, just received my 1 year pin and "thank you" letter. I was attracted to this job because of the compensation package and the lure of the city.I have stayed with this job for a number of reasons.

This hotel is, by far, much quicker paced than any I've been employed at previously. The building is a classic (and beautiful!), the city – more... government is demanding, and the company is upwardly mobile and aggressive... my kind of place! This job has taught me more in one year than any other position I've held. Sure hours can be demanding but what hospitality position isn't?!

Every level of human interaction has been a positive for me. Upper management is personable and receptive. I am an engineering manager and find no difficulties getting what is needed to keep my facility running. Corporate level is friendly, reachable and quick to assist in every request I have required. My operations/management team on site is the best! Good communication and team players. Professional and motivated, but not afraid to keep the environment fun. My engineering team is one of the best I've ever worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 years and 7 months as a Division Controller
Divisional Controller (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 12, 2013
Pros: leadership, christmas vacation
Cons: long hours
I have been working at JRK Property Holdings for 5 years and 7 months as a Division Controller and my experience with the company and the people is very pleasant and positive. I witnessed several occasions how the company valued their employees by recognizing their skills and leadership and promoted several individuals to management positions. These – more... individuals were trained and properly guided by the upper management to make them successful leaders and managers. I am also grateful with the improvement and additional benefits they offer to their employees. Of course the one big plus for me is the one week off they allowed their employees to take during the Christmas season. In all these years that I’ve been with JRK they continually strive to make improvements in ensuring that their employees are happy and well taken cared of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at JRK Property Holdings has been rewarding
Property Manager (Former Employee), ColoradoNovember 6, 2013
Pros: great team, we are like a family, people always want to help, and we generally have a good time. ive advanced in my position and do feel i am progressing
Cons: work like balance can be tough at times
I have worked for JRK since October 2008. I have been a property manager for all 3 years. JRK is a great fast paced company to work for. Happiness at work is all about who you work with and we have a great team in Colorado! I would recommend JRK to family and friends!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience with JRK Property Holdings
Preserve Manager (Current Employee), Marietta, GAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: family environment, the people are there to help you succeed.
Cons: not a con, but no two days are the same, constantly changing roles.
I have been proud to be part of the JRK family. In my time with JRK I have pursued several opportunities both local and nationally that have developed my skill sets and advanced my industry training . JRK gives me an aggressive and rewarding work environment filled with strong, professional employees and a leadership team that is focused in providing – more... the best customer experience there is to offer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people make the company!
Property Manager (Current Employee), Los AngelesOctober 10, 2013
Pros: culture, salary, team
Cons: none.
When I first came for my interview for my position as Property Manager, I instantly knew I wanted to work for JRK Residential. I was previously a Property Manager for 6 years with a different Management company feeling unchallenged, unmotivated and unappreciated. I decided to venture and find a company that would challenge me and make me love what I – more... do once again. Thankfully, JRK gave me the wonderful opportunity and asked me to join the team with the biggest property they had in the nation.

Since joining JRK Residential, I have been challenged and motivated and have always been given the tools and support I needed to be successful. As well as the help of a group of awesome Asset Managers, Regional Manager and team members who have helped me become a stronger and very successful Property Manager. On May 2012 I was awarded Property Manager of the Year. Villages of Copperfield was awarded Most Improved Property of the Year in March 2012 and won Property of the Year in December 2012.

Working for JRK Residential has truly made me love coming to work every day. I enjoy working for a company that values my work and allows me to grow. I am looking forward to my future and growing and becoming even more successful with JRK Residential. I would encourage anyone interested in joining our team to do so immediately! You will not regret your decision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would recommend JRK Residential to anyone who wants to work for a team that supports you, challenges you and allows you to grow!
Assisstant Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 8, 2013
Pros: room for growth, great team environment, collaboration, learn skills to succeed
Cons: it can get stressful at times
My career with JRK Residential began in April of 2009. My current Property Manager makes her knowledge accessible as well as goes above and beyond to ensure that I have all the necessary tools to be successful. She advises me on how to manage delinquencies, diffuse resident issues along with many other aspects that will help further my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Black Sheep of the Property Management Industry
Leasing Agent (Current Employee), VariousSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: good base pay, no micro-management if you keep leases coming in, residents when they aren't mad at you
Cons: both residents and employees are viewed as expendable, no training, no 401k program or other benefits, low commissions, huge rent increases with no room for negotiation and take it or leave it attitude
This is an Investment Company and NOT a Property Management Company.

Will set you up to fail from the Start, Zero training-- they don't even do gov't required Fair Housing Training.

They run a very, very lean bottom line--Inadequately staffed properties, horrible maintenance and on-site staff is left to deal with resident complaints/problems with – more... very few resources for resolution.

JRK is run by mostly Ivy League Educated Finance Majors who are almost all younger than 30yrs old. No vertical job advancement and most of corporate has never spent a week on-site nor do they know how much BS they cause with their policies and practices.

Also, please view any apartment ratings for JRK... I thought it was just my property but it's everyone they acquire and manage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 years at JRK
National Maintenance Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 20, 2013
Pros: growth potential, team collaboration
Cons: long hours, very face paced, competitive atmosphere
I've been part of the JRK team since 2009, and every since I have joined the team it has been a fast 4 years. I am finally working for a company who recognizes talent and hard work and rewards people with the opportunity to turn what most people would consider just a job into a career. Working for a company who is a major player in the Commercial Residential – more... world has finally allowed me the opportunity to grow into a more well rounded maintenance technician. I am able to work on more than just the same items you get accustomed to when you are on just one property. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10+ years at JRK
Regional Maint Supervisor (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 15, 2013
Pros: benefits, coworkers, advancement & growth.
I've worked for JRK for more than 10 years now and I've watched us grow every year. I've learned more and get better every year I work here. I still feel like part of the family even with the growth of JRK over the years. If you are willing to work hard and enjoy being on the winning team any of our properties are the place to be! JRk can offer room – more... for advancement nationwide to every hard working team member. We have very competitive pay rates as well as a great benefits package. I enjoy helping any team member nationwide and I am just one of many on the team here to help get the job done. We have some of the best teams from corporate to regional to the on site staffs. I think its a great company for me to grow with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 years at JRK
Area Manager (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 13, 2013
Pros: able to voice opinion, team collaboration, dedicated work force
Cons: long hours.
JRK is a young, exciting, and energetic company to work for. Within JRK I feel like I truly make an impact and a difference, and even though JRK is a large company, my voice and opinion are heard and valued. I have learned so much working with my multiple asset managers, and I feel I am much better employee today because of it. I appreciate the loyalty – more... that JRK has shown me over the years, and I look forward to working as a part of their team for years to come. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fast Paced Company
Regional Manager (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 7, 2013
My current position of regional manager for 2500+ apartment homes is unpredictable and full of challenges which involve meeting quotas for budgets and company expectations. A typical day is full of analyzing reports, managing budgets, team building, hiring, project management, capital improvements, tenant relations, training onsite staff, managing vendors – more... and keeping my asset manager updated and reporting back in a timely manner. As a person who enjoys challenges and multi tasking this is the perfect job for me never a dull moment! JRK promotes upward mobility within the company; I have personally benefited from this during my six year career with the company as well as use this currently within my portfolio to promote from within as we grow and have changes. Some of the growing pains within the six plus years I have seen are not having policies and procedures in place but overall upper management has addressed these issues quickly and have implemented training tools, policies and procedures to deal with things as they are brought up to them. I personally think that JRK is a very challenging company that expects a lot from their employees however if you are up for the challenge the company acknowledges the hard work and rewards employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is never a dull moment at JRK.
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: team enivornment
There is never a dull moment at JRK. My days are fast-paced and I never have the same day twice. I have worked here for several years and have formed great relationships with co-workers. All my colleagues are really smart and dedicated and I truly enjoy working with them. Some days are challenging, but I couldn’t imagine myself anywhere else. If you – more... are a hard worker and looking to work for a successful and growing company this is the place for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stressed environment that you cant leave in the office
assistant property mgr (Former Employee), floridaMay 15, 2013
Pros: ???
Cons: everything
Management group that needs to reflect on residents that make your numbers along with employees giving their lives to operate there properties. When residents who pay there rent once a month and see the turnover in employees does not send any good "word of mouth" around the community. When you do a great job and work hard...you never get a thank you...its – more... hey...so why you were doing that, why wasn't this done. Everyday your job is on the line... do not go here... go where there is structure ...management that cares about keeping their employees than working for someone who just needs robots. – less