Junior Achievement Employee Reviews in United States

Found 26 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun teaching children about money
1ST GRADE INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 18, 2016
It only lasted for one day but I liked teaching the little first graders about money the people around their community and how they were really intrigued by what my coworker and I had to say.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
o Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 27, 2015
Its an amazing program. The staff and manager were so nice and kind. They love what they do and enjoy working with high school students. They teach you and train you to be a teacher. They also teach about how to be mature about your work and not let anything come across your way to make you change your attitude an a negative way. I get to become a leader as a teacher. I read books to the kids and help each of them individually on their assignments. I help walked them to their destination-to the cafeteria and the auditorium. it was a wonderful experience, would love to do it again.
Pros
having fun
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with. Nice people
Resetter (Former Employee) –  Coconut Creek, FLMay 29, 2013
I perform several tasks, like setting up supplies for each day, provide fresh uniforms every day. I enjoy what I do and the people I work with. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with the children.
The hardest part of the job is keeping up with the supplies.
Pros
i am thankful to have that job
Cons
there are no benefits because its a part time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Director, Programs and Operations (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INNovember 8, 2012
Very busy work, great volunteers, and the fundraisers are a blast!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed enter data and speaking with co-worker and Supervior
Internship (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MIFebruary 13, 2015
Data entering in Razer Edage, packing kits for children learning.
Data entering is very enjoyable and rewarding.
Co-works are very friendly and enjoyable to be around.
In my opinoin with my exprinces I do not feel there was a hard part about the job, that does not mean others may not find something hard about the job.
It is very enjoyable job,
Pros
data entering, very friendly co-workers and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  orlando flJuly 16, 2015
A lot to learn. Learned about schools, classrooms and what goes into maintaining a class. Got to work one-on-one with the children. Fun experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and challenging-in-a-good-way opportunity
VOLUNTEER JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT (Current Employee) –  King CountyMay 26, 2015
Wonderful opportunity to connect and teach children in schools about how finances and businesses work. I would recommend anyone and everyone to give JA a try. One of the best things that was inveted for children!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with friendly faces
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 1, 2015
I learned here that I can become inceredibly organized and have a great eye for detail. The best part was getting to work occassionally with people of my own age.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, informative, productive,enthusiastic and welcoming.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Abington Elementary SchoolAugust 21, 2014
Getting welcomed by children who are eager to learn and are friendly to new people they meet. I learned how to communicate to the children and adapt to their preferences. Management was professional and helpful. The hardest part was the lack of obedience in the classroom at times. The most enjoyable part is working with the children and teaching them valuable lessons.
Pros
free lunch, great atmosphere
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A novel experience teaching young minds
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Orangeburg, SCMay 3, 2015
A typical day of work includes instructing 8th grade students in various areas of financial literacy. This is achieved through a proven curriculum provided by Junior Achievement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace, Extremely Flexible to schedule
Clerical (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLDecember 4, 2012
Junior Achievement, was a great starting out job for me, they got me working and gave me some experience for future employment, but everyday of the week i felt like i was going to get laid off, i never had very stable hours and eventually i wasn't aloud to work mondays and fridays, but my super visor and boss were very professional, always had a great attitude tords everything they were very nice and were always flexible with my schedule no matter what the occasion was.
Therefor i think Junior Achievement has earned 4 stars.
Pros
flexible schedule, nice people, very professional
Cons
work hours were cute, days were cut, didn't really like doing what i did.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work at it's best
Volunteer, Junior Achievement (Current Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJanuary 2, 2015
The reward of having fun with the kids while they learn about economics is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a wonderful place to work!
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 28, 2014
I enjoy working with Junior Achievement. It was a great moment. The people are really nice and I got to work with kids. I always enjoy working with children. It was fun and I really enjoyed my time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Service Learner (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 29, 2014
- Provided tools for me to exceed
- Learned that one time experience opportunities can benefit me greatly
- Most enjoyable part was seeing my hard work pay off
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization with great content for students
Volunteer Classroom Presenter (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IAOctober 3, 2014
Enjoyable way to interact with students and teach them practical lessons about business and economics
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great place to work
Financial Literacy Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Walla Walla, WANovember 3, 2014
I am volunteering with a 4th grade class and love it. The director of the region is very helpful and kind.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
CEO/President (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COMay 6, 2013
I don't think anyone has taught me more about working in the real world and about how tough it can be. I learned how to fight for what I believe is right and how to turn a challenge into a profit as well as how to deal with tricky employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Program Manager/Job Shadow Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek, MISeptember 2, 2012
I loved working for J.A. where else can you impact the lives of so many people in a positive way. Teaching economic education to our future leaders.
Pros
meeting new people, teachers and children
Cons
not health care
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a youth educator for a project
Youth educator (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJanuary 5, 2013
Working indirectly with junior achievement was new experience for me. I work mostly with the client after the initial training and guidelines were discussed.
Pros
working with children
Cons
lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Pueblo, COMay 8, 2012
I fully enjoyed working with childern. It is a volunteer program, going in to the local schools and doing activities with the childern.
Pros
giving back, and helping others
Cons
not always able to help everyone, like i would like to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2

Overall rating

4.7
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.5
Culture
4.6