Find companies:
Just Brakes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Just Brakes Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, lots of skills, challenging, and fun
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee), Bradenton, FLMarch 18, 2014
Pros: good pay.
Cons: there was not much room for advancement.
Lots of very technical procedures and heavy lifting. I learned some of the different types of transmissions. management was very easy going. i worked with my best friend side by side. The hardest part for me was replacing the transmission after it was rebuilt. I enjoyed the challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with good intentions
Assistant Shop Foreman (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVFebruary 5, 2014
Eleven hour days minimum, if you work in Las Vegas you'll have to deal with the heat during the summer, most managers are a pleasure to work with but some aren't just not but they will mess with your pay and employment if the opportunity rises in which was what happened to me. Over all though it's a good company with good people, that will teach you – more... everything about cars. The best thing about Just Brakes is they'll take the guys that know nothing about working on vehicles and give them a trade they can use for the rest of their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With the right crew, it is a wonderful place to work.
Center manager (Former Employee), Stockbridge, GAFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: their university ensured staff kept all proper certifications. informative.
Cons: very long working hours with minimal off time.
Performed vehicle inspections, managed up to 8 employees, resolved customer complaints, ensured quality repairs at an affordable price, trained managers and assistant managers for the GA market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but not Great
Wheel and Bleeder (Former Employee), Denver, CODecember 25, 2013
Pros: different vehicles to work on, and uniforms
Cons: bad hour, bad pay
On a day to day basis it was the same, Clean the shop then work on and move out any vehicle that came in. what I learned wasn't all different from what I learned in the army except the only difference was the vehicle were domestic and not made for combat. My co-workers and I weren't involved, we had a work relationship and that was it. the hardest part – more... of the job for me was trying to remember every procedure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wow this job could have been my life.
Mechanic (Former Employee), Lakewood, COOctober 17, 2013
Cons: still really wanted to go to school.
This job really did show me how to work on cars and how to make a little money that i never could have made with out this job. This job has saved me alot of money as i worked on cars that i had and freinds cars that i could make a little money when i did need help. So ya you could say that this job was one of the best jobs that i have had and i was – more... in high school when i did get this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over rated
Assistant Manager / Customer Service (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 24, 2013
get people in the door for 100 dollar brake job then try to sell them marked up parts they may or may not need
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Lead Tech (Former Employee), las vegasMay 19, 2013
Pros: alot of down time. lot of time to look for a new job
Cons: everything
blind leading the blind. this place is a coorporation however the dm run it as their own personal family business sucks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable place to work
Technician (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COMay 5, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Co- workers were great management listens to employees. Not much advancement but secure job if you do what your supposed to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Store Manager (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 22, 2013
Pros: if you can sell you move up fast
Cons: the company cheats you and allow the customers to cheat you as well
Just Brakes is all about the money. They don't care how much the customers lie on you, you will still take the fall. Most of their slower stores have no chance because they don't market the area productively. The managers at the best stores are either the corporate employee kids or good friends. A new up and coming prospect has not chance in getting – more... the best paying stores. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goood people bad stability
technician (Former Employee), Arlington, TXApril 4, 2013
Pros: learning
Cons: stability
like it says good dudes to work with and learn bad place because you could be the best at what you do and laid off an hour later
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive cool work place.
Technician (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: co-workers and lunch
Cons: healthcare, managment
a typical day at work is N/a
I learned how to perform brakes
management is poor
my co-workers was a great team
the hardest part was when I couldn't get a caliper off a car
the most enjoyable part of the job was lunch
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a company to grow with
Center Manager/Service Advisor (Former Employee), Reno, NV / Houston, TXJanuary 20, 2013
Cons: no lunch breaks
open at 7, close after 6 or when last car is finished. Equipment is not getting fixed, employees are working without adequate compensation or tools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has no morals and no mercy
"safety expert" (Former Employee), scottsdale arizonaSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: getting to quit
Cons: everything else
I started out thinking ths was a great place to work. I saw in 2 weeks it wasnt for me. They use preditory sales tactics and intimidation to meet sales goals. The only way to get anywhere in the company is to be a slimy underhanded salesman. All i wanted to do was fix cars. The hardest part of the job was watching single mothers blow there savings on – more... a $1500 brake job when they just needed pads and rotors cut. Theres a reason they lost there bbb cert and have thousands of negitive complaints on the internet. Save time and be a lube tech at a dealer. They never work 5 days its 12 hours 6 days. Pay is a joke if it wasnt for overtime i would not have made it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced job.
Technician (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COAugust 30, 2012
This company was a very reliable company. They gave quarterly bonuses and pay raises accordingly. They also have title advancement opportunities constantly. I very much enjoyed working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very in your face selling tactics. Not very Customer oriented and all about the mighty dollar
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 12, 2012
Pros: great pay
Cons: scandalous sales tactics
Overall a good place to work if al you want is money from a career at the risk of losing your vlues as a human being
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just brakes is a great place to begin a great future in automotive
tech shop forman service manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 1, 2012
Pros: great place to work very well informed
Cons: loss of this job
over all just brakes has its flaws so do i. but would really like to thank just brakes for allowing me to grow with the company in tell the markets crashed changing the way we all live our life's and do business with out my experience with just brakes i would not be ready for any thing that is put in front of me and my goals also thank them for the – more... time they had invested in the customers needs and complaints and training involved with the job. it was very intensive and was not easy. never have i seen a company that invested so much and give as much as this company has given us all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours, fun people
Service Advisor (Former Employee), TXJuly 12, 2012
Pros: fun people, rewarding job
Cons: moving target pay scale, hours long and varied
a great company to work for if you are single and highly motivated. hard if you have children, because of the varying and long hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was kinda suffocating
mechanic (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 20, 2012
Pros: free lunch if we made enough money during the week
Cons: no respect for each other
i would basically do all the work no one else would do. i would go get food. if someone got griped at, it was me. im a good mechanic. im just not one to take that from co workers. especially when i deserve better. nothing about the job was hard. the most enjoyable part of the job was being able talk to the customers and makeing good connections.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Tech (Former Employee), 8th st, Platte and CircleJanuary 14, 2012
Pros: bonuses
Cons: too many people call off work
Great place to start if you are considering in being a brake specialist.

About Just Brakes

Just Brakes began back in 1980 with a single brake store located in Bryan, Texas. Today, we operate hundreds of stores in numerous – Read more