Find companies:
Juvenile Detention Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Juvenile Detention Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intresting workplace
INTERNSHIP HORIZON (Former Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 19, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: short breaks
I enjoyed working with teens and learning about there differences. My supervisor was great in explaining and teaching me what I needed to know. The hardest part was when you had to tell the juveniles that their call time was up. I enjoy game time with them and speaking to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Intern (Former Employee), Lake Charles, LAOctober 7, 2014
Good environment, everyone gets along well with each other
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement opportunities-go to century CI or santa rosa CI.
Juvenile Detention Officer (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLOctober 6, 2014
Don't even start working here I wasted two years of my life trying to pursue a career with the state of florida.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRN work not very much of it so very little to go on
RN (Former Employee), Prescott AZSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: very much left on my own
Cons: i was not neede very often
Going in to pass meds and get meds ready if someone had to go to court or and appointment the next day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overwhelming place
Practical Nurse (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLSeptember 23, 2014
a typical day there can be very stressful . Co-workers are nice and professional. The hardest part is working short. the most enjoyable part of the job is seeing my patients receive the care that they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 17, 2014
helping with incident reports and helping with any other task people needed help with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
Intern (Former Employee), Dayton, TNAugust 9, 2014
I was just an intern there for a few months. It was a good work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having fun teaching the Juveniles.
Security Counselor I (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: free dinners
Cons: horrible supervision
The most enjoyable part of the job was being a role model for the youth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
juveniles
Volunteer (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJune 30, 2014
I enjoyed talking with the juveniles and getting to know their different backgrounds that they have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work space
Certifed Juvenile Officer (Current Employee), Del Rio, TXJune 13, 2014
Pros: fun enviroment, getting a degree in criminal juctice
Cons: healthcare, pay
I like having co-workers I can communicate easily with. I've learned to handle with care,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Detention Officer / PT Supervisor (Former Employee), Portsmouth, OHMay 30, 2014
Pros: small, family like place to work
Cons: pay
get head count at beginning of shift, shower them. breakfast, school. if inmate has court hearing get them ready for deputy. held up to 26 inmates. we had boys and girls. several different counties we helped. we did intake, psych eval on new inmate, if failed called shawnee mental health. was a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Health Case Manager/Medical Secretary (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIMay 7, 2014
Though is may sound like a harsh place to work, it was actually a very exciting place. My co-workers and the management team were an amazing bunch. It is a relaxed environment and the JCOs do a great job in keeping both the staff and the children safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding experiance working with the youth. Able to monitor the recidivisom rate of the juvenile's.
Receiving and Release Officer (Former Employee), Columbus, OHApril 27, 2014
Pros: being able to turn a child's life around from a life of crime
Cons: seeing the youth return to the system
Very fast pace,I learned to multi-task. I did a good job when it came to my management of my personnel when I was left in charge.The most challenging part of the job was not knowing what to expect in terms of behavior issues from the residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Juvenile Counselor (Current Employee), tulsaApril 23, 2014
good part time job. I wouldn't recommend for long term. its a fun work enviorment if you like working with juveniles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job because I felt I was a positive influence for the youth.
Youth Leader (Former Employee), Marion, OHMarch 12, 2014
Did all paperwork needed for the day. I learned to multi-task. I feel I did a great job when it came to my management of my personnel when I was left in charge. My management didn't have to stay on me because they knew I would get my job done. Dealing with some of the issues some of the youth had feeling that taking there life was the only way out was the hardest part. Doing what I needed to so I could try to be a positive influence on the youth. Helping them look at life from a different point of view.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting place to work
RN (Former Employee), Newport, KYMarch 4, 2014
Placed through temp agency, interesting and learned a lot about nursing with juveniles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy
Youth Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 3, 2014
Pros: worked every other weekend
Cons: having to baby sit the residents
Wild environment. Anything can happen at any time. You're basically a babisitter
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rep Clerk
Temp Force (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Assisted Branches with inquiries about automated account transfers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different everyday
Juvenile Correctional Officer IV, Captain (Former Employee), Columbia, S.C.January 14, 2014
Numerous responsibilities being the Chief of Security. Usually started the day with Orientatin for new arrivals. This position too, I worked with juveniles between the ages of 12 and 16 years old. I then had to Supervise staff and monitor the daya to day security operations of the facility, ensure the facility was inspection ready and impose or sign off on corrective actions. The most difficult part of the job was not knowing what to expect from my supervisor and being micro managed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security
security (Former Employee), columbia,tnNovember 5, 2013
Pros: non
Cons: nun short breaks no lunch
typical day come in check on the kids every 5 to 10 min get them a shower .i give break /rec to the kids that can and i clean up after them breakfast before i leave