Juvenile Detention Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced detention center
CORRECTIONS OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Zanesville, OHJanuary 15, 2018
can be very rewarding work to see the kids learn from their mistakes, however the pay could be better, not much room to move up. be ready to work swing shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Detention Officer (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILJanuary 9, 2018
Working with youth needs to be a previous work expieirinece if you want to work here. You need a lot of patience and a positive attitude. there's definitley rewarding times here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of work and no career advance
Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Ponce, PRDecember 17, 2017
I like Woking with minors but I want a change of job. We accompany minors to court. We have their custody legally. We are responsable of them and we supervise them until their term of time legally is due. We supervise their family phonecalls and visits
Pros
None
Cons
No career progress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work place
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLOctober 23, 2017
Wonderful work place wonderful people to work around great atmosphere to work in fast pace environment great team to work with awesome work that cut out for employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!!!
Detention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXOctober 15, 2017
It was easy job. Just had to monitors girls following schedule. I has to make sure they were not fighting with one another. They had to take showers everyday and attend school there and do their assignments, I also had to be strict about them not flirting with the boy intakes. Overall, I enjoyed working with them!
Pros
FLEXhours
Cons
Training was not being paid for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fast paced job with never a boring day. Different issues each day.
Youth Manger (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 5, 2017
This was a okay place to work, the hours was hard at times. The pay could have been more for the things you had to do thru out the day. This time went by quickly due to you staying busy.
Pros
fun and exciting environment at times.
Cons
Seeing the issues of the children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Gretna, LASeptember 6, 2017
Worked with probation officer filing papers and shadowing in court, school, home, and office visits. very friendly environment. Hardest part of my job is finding the right rooms i am sent to and the easiest is doing whatever is needed of me
Pros
job experiece
Cons
internship ended
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place can be stressful at times
Detention Officer (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 30, 2017
A work day was taking the kids to breakfast, gym and school we had speakers come in to talk to the kids also had out side time if they behave right and the did hygiene.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Fights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy work place culture
Caseworker (Former Employee) –  South Mountain, PAAugust 22, 2017
The work environment was very stressful, very little training for employee development. Management of employees was cut throat and at times a very unsafe working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most of the time it was a great job being able to help kids. The hardest was stress to keep them from hurting each other at the end.
Girls Counselor at Juvenile Detention (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAAugust 3, 2017
Shift change, set with the kids in class, serve dinner and participate with the young adults in activities, return to unit and get showers and then set around and talk individually with them to get to know some back ground and try to help them set goals for when they would get released or placed. I enjoyed talking with them and helping to guide them the most, know I was making a difference. At the end the kids became so hard to deal with it was very stressful.
Pros
Getting to know the young people
Cons
The people became more and more violent and disrespectful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Church
Volunteer/Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Ponce, PRJuly 30, 2017
It was volunteer work so I didn't focus much on compensation but the best part was learning how to collaborate and speak with people who come from different walks in life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Clinician (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 8, 2017
Exciting, challenging, and complex cases, not overworked. You have the ability to implement some additional creative programming and I have always felt supported by my team.
Pros
Free lunches, great healthcare, well trained staff, excellent supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace envirnoment with alot of paper work.
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  FloridaJune 27, 2017
This job was a great learning experience. Although it does get tough at times with all the paper work you have to do for each kid, it felt good knowing that you are healping a youth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detention Center environment
Juvenile Correction Officer (Current Employee) –  Painesville, OHJune 21, 2017
After many years of service I have learned that this is a thankless job. What keeps me coming back to this field is that I enjoy working with youth and the community.
Pros
Helping youth work through problems while incarcerated and making life changes.
Cons
Benefits package and overtime policy is a negative impact. No incentatives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work, and nice clean environment
Food Service 2 Assistant (Current Employee) –  Augusta, GAJune 9, 2017
I was employed in December of 2014. I received a new job code in August of 2015 easy to learn the material. Co workers are very helpful in assisting with chores.
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working withKids
Child Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 1, 2017
When you work with kids in a school environment you never know what to expect, but I must say these kides were great and tried hard to develop good behavior skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed this job.
Juvenile Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, OHMay 30, 2017
A typical day of work was dealing with juvenile offenders. I learned teamwork skills and how to think independently. The most enjoyable part of the job was the satisfaction of a good days work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard ethics
Beaumont (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 27, 2017
Good job but also can be hectic.dealing with younger adults is very hard you may try to give them a life lesson to life to change there life around but as a obstacle they listen to only what they want
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun.
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 10, 2017
Most stressful job ever. Management sucked. No breaks and short staffed. Juveniles runned the place not staff. Pay was horrible and no raises. Benefits was only thing good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not really sure
Juvenile Corrections Officer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 1, 2017
Somethings are better left unsaid. It was a great experience working there and I met some really awesome folks.
There were times I questioned my time being there but I learned that experience is different locations is great
Pros
Surrounded by different resturants
Cons
Breaks were to short
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Juvenile Detention Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 68 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6