Juvenile Detention Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 48 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Juvenile Detention Officer (Former Employee) –  Wichita Falls, TXSeptember 20, 2016
Staffing doesn't work well together, very divided. Rules aren't the same for everyone. Great benefits, and Time off and salary pay. I learned how to be humble and very self motivated. Hardest part of the job was dealing with other co workers.
Pros
Benefits, pay, salary
Cons
conflicts among staffing and personel
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I think
Case Worker (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJune 16, 2016
I did not have a very good experience at the Juvenile Detention Center. I just felt like I was a babysitter to these junveniles.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Porter County Juvenile Services (Current Employee) –  Valparaiso, INOctober 31, 2015
Really enjoy going to work. Co-workers are like family. Good feeling when you make a difference. Fun workplace with supportive administration.
Pros
caring workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company and Staff
Internship (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 24, 2015
Juvenile Detention Center is a excellent work environment that enhanced my skills in leadership, supervision, and professionalism. Working at this company improved my communication, listening, and team work proficiencies. At this company I also learned to balance multiple personalities from staff and children.
Pros
hours, staff ad support
Cons
slow paced at times
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Juvenile Detention Center was very challenging.
English Teacher (Former Employee) –  San Antonio TexasSeptember 16, 2015
I enjoyed teaching there most of the time, even though I saw some very sad cases. The students I worked with were at-risk. Some refused to work, and others did cooperate. It was a mixture of grade levels, ages and background.
Pros
The classes were small.
Cons
Some students refused to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive co workers
Registrar Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richmond, TXSeptember 13, 2015
Very enjoyable company to work for. All of us worked together as a TEAM. I have great customer service skills as well computer and communication skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting place
Detention Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lafayette LAJuly 15, 2015
i enjoyed working for the center
my only mistake while working there was having my cellphone on me while in the building
the workers there are friendly but strict with the kids
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
o Juvenile Group Worker On Call (Current Employee) –  klamath FallsJuly 6, 2015
Fun, easy work directions and regulations are clear enough work to keep you busy and not get bored. great place for when you are in school or a second job. not many full time positions
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Assistant Probation Officer (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJune 22, 2015
Work with juvenile's in a secure, locked facility. Engage and ensure safety. Management, and co-workers are great, everyone is always willing to help one another.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pulaski County Juvenile Detention Center
Volunteer Mentor to juvenile delinquents (Current Employee) –  3001 W. Roosevelt Road Little Rock Arkansas 72204May 10, 2015
At work, I learned how to deal with customers professionally, how to accept my co-worker's ideas and comments without letting it influence me either way. The hardest part of my job was standing up for 6-7 hours straight before I got used to doing so. The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting people.
Pros
I like working with the children
Cons
The issues concerning the children's incarceration
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work if you think you can save the world
Youth Aid Counsellor (Former Employee) –  New Brunswick, NJApril 25, 2015
must be alert and street smart to work there.

management was pleasant
I learned to always be alert

Hardest part of job is knowing some of the kids did not belong there and there was nothing that can be done about it.
Pros
pension and promotion
Cons
to many double shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm
JDC Staff (Former Employee) –  ArkansasApril 6, 2015
Overnight shift was always the calmest. There will always be the unexpected scenarios and that was great too; but I truly enjoyed the space and opportunity for independent work.
Pros
structure and job security
Cons
Snow days meant 15hrs to 20hrs shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Brandon, FLDecember 28, 2014
I was a intern at the at DJJ and it was a great experience. I was able to learn different tactics and use that towards my schooling.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intresting workplace
INTERNSHIP HORIZON (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 19, 2014
I enjoyed working with teens and learning about there differences. My supervisor was great in explaining and teaching me what I needed to know. The hardest part was when you had to tell the juveniles that their call time was up. I enjoy game time with them and speaking to them.
Pros
n/a
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LAOctober 7, 2014
Good environment, everyone gets along well with each other
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement opportunities-go to century CI or santa rosa CI.
Juvenile Detention Officer (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLOctober 6, 2014
Don't even start working here I wasted two years of my life trying to pursue a career with the state of florida.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRN work not very much of it so very little to go on
RN (Former Employee) –  Prescott AZSeptember 25, 2014
Going in to pass meds and get meds ready if someone had to go to court or and appointment the next day
Pros
very much left on my own
Cons
I was not neede very often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overwhelming place
Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLSeptember 23, 2014
a typical day there can be very stressful . Co-workers are nice and professional. The hardest part is working short. the most enjoyable part of the job is seeing my patients receive the care that they need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 17, 2014
helping with incident reports and helping with any other task people needed help with
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
Intern (Former Employee) –  Dayton, TNAugust 9, 2014
I was just an intern there for a few months. It was a good work experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Juvenile Detention Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

Juvenile Detention Center Reviews by Location