Find companies:
K&B Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

K&B Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a great manager
Long Haul Driver (Former Employee), Sioux City, IAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: good equipment
Cons: new hos rules (not thier fault)
It was great, one of the best companies I've worked for, until I couldn't renew my license.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I could not have worked for a better company
driver (Former Employee), South Sioux City, NEJune 20, 2014
Pros: respectful, curteous
Cons: nothing major, maybe a dirty bathroom once
The list is far to long to type out. Just know that if you work for these guys, you will not be disappointed. I wish I could have continued on with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is not an employee friendly company
Company Driver (Former Employee), South Sioux City, NEJune 2, 2014
Pros: traveling america
Cons: stressful
Driving many hours and many miles per day. Only concerned about on time pick up and deliveries and not how the driver is
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Dispatcher (Former Employee), South Sioux City, NEApril 10, 2014
Pros: great working enviroment
I have loved working for K&B Transportation, Inc for the past 13 years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company going down
Driver (Former Employee), Sioux City,IaFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: none at all
Cons: bad company period
I read the reviews on this company before i went this was out of desperation l needed to make money.But to tell the next driver money is not everything.this company runs you at nite all the time.manipulate the e log system run you till all your hours out before delivery and you have to look for a place to park while you out if hours. DOT need to look – more... into this company they playing with the system.they take your money and pick your pockets.This is a terrible company in the history of my CDL dont,t go will keep telling drivers about the renegade company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company
Driver (Former Employee), South Sioux City, NEFebruary 10, 2014
First off. Very poor equipment. Dispatchers forced fixed log books. A lot of night driving. Very pushy about taking breaks. Have troubles paying their drivers properly. They were taking 300$ to 400$ out of pay each week. NOT ACCEPTABLE! Cleaned out truck and brought it back to yard. and they told me I was on my own getting home!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite the opposite
Driver (Current Employee), Sioux CityJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: good trucks
Cons: dispatch is condescending. pay is wrong. no empathy or understanding.
Well let's start with the ad placed on the internet. It's very vague. Orientation; well let's see they tell you a whole lot that fills in the blanks from the ad. Problem: you're there and you took the job offer. Now what? Well you run for them. First paycheck? Wrong. No you don't get the guarantee the first week. They don't tell you that. Okay cool. – more... Bonus that is promised? Oh sorry not on the first check. No they won't fix it. Great. So all the budgeting and balancing you did to ensure your checking isn't negative is now negative. Fabulous. What will they do to rectify it? Nothing. So it's only a few night runs. Great. Wrong. All night runs. I am not a night runner. I can run all day long but not nights. So now my sleep schedule is weird and I'm exhausted. Qualcomm dings by dispatch on my DOT mandated 10 hour break. Hello! I can't sleep at the weird schedule let alone stay awake to drive at night. Let me sleep for crying out loud! Great home time? Yeah okay I've been doing this for 9 years. I've been home on schedule every 170 hours of work completed. Not this company! Miles? 900 miles for the week? 1500 miles for the week? Come on now. I'm used to doing 3000 miles at minimum a week. They expect me to sustain life for my family? Yeah no. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldnt recommend this place to my worst enemy
Class A CDL Driver (Former Employee), South Sioux City, NENovember 28, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Trust me when I say this is the worst trucking company I've ever worked for. I'm surprised their still in business. Everything I've read from other former drivers is true. I'm not going to go into all the horrible details I went through.

Do your research and find a much better long term employer. Any comments posted with derogatory remarks towards – more... former drivers is not another driver its a current employee, dispatcher, manager, or a recruiter. And yes K&B the truth hurts.

. I have a word of advice for K&B. Its your reputation. You've screwed over to many drivers. Without drivers you have nothing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was not happy there
Refrigeration Driver (Former Employee), Siouxcity IA.November 7, 2013
Pros: i got home for my time off
Cons: wouldnt listen to me when my truck was running good
The company not a bad company .But help the driver to make are job better and safer If theres a problem then help us fix it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The other drivers are good people,
Class A OTR Driver (Former Employee), South Sioux City, NEAugust 13, 2013
Drivers are good despite being pushed to the limite . dispatch can be demanding and sometimes rude and disrespectful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont work here
Company Driver (Former Employee), S Sioux City, NEJune 5, 2013
aweful place to work they dont care about their drivers. came home for xmas has to get some test done faxed in a note from dotor and they came and took my truck with all personal items and fired me without telling me so i could clean out my truck. they threw all my stuff away STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!

June 17, 2013

Is that the full story?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
0
Truck Driver (Former Employee), South Sioux City, NEMay 17, 2013
Good equipment and pay but the dispatchers were very disrespectful to the drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office work
Billing Clerk (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAMarch 21, 2013
Pros: nice people
Cons: language issues
Billing and lading for trucking company Temporary position , worked with owner, nice people Hardest part was understanding each other Language difficulties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position
Billing Clerk (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAMarch 21, 2013
Pros: nice people
Cons: poor training and language bearer
Billing and lading , worked in the office with owner, very nice, co-workers and hard part was the language bearer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced high energy environment to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Sioux City, IAJanuary 31, 2013
It is a good place to work if you like a fast pace and dealing with people on the phones and via email all day. The people who work there are very friendly and always willing to help. A typical day goes by in a flash because there is always plenty to do. The thing I enjoy most about this job is the flexibility with my schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Trailer Mechanic (Former Employee), South Sioux City, NEJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: all around awesome
I had no experience in the industry and they brought me on entry level. I was trained and moved up as quick as I wanted to. The gave me education training and oppertunity. Great folks from co-workers all the way up to the owners!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They only care about money
OTR Driver (Former Employee), S Sioux City, NEJune 27, 2012
Very friendly employees, long hours, look i do not like writing these things

February 26, 2013

K&B is a good company but there asleep at the wheel, If you read there advertizment on the internet web page, it says 7700 Dakota Ave. In fact its 4700 not 7700, There web page says they will hire if you have not more than 4 tickets in the last 3 years, but if you get a ticket while driving for them, your put on 1 year probation and the 2nd ticket your out the door. So, you can have 4 before you get there and then after that you have problems, but really the problem was before you got there in the first place. They say that if you have a DUI or a DWI it has to be over a year old inorder to be hired...thats a pretty low standard for a 80,000 pound rig on U,S, Highways, and the risk to the publics. Your Felony has to be 1 year old as well, yet theres thousands of dallors on the load, and most that have a felony for what ever reason, take longer than that to prove they have made a change in there life. A low standard for drivers will most likely result in low performace of there drivers, Then the good drivers get thrown in with the bad and are looked at as if they are in the same catagory, creating problems that make the good drivers unsatisfied, so they leave K@B. Another made comment there all about the money and today it has to be about the money if a company is going to make it. However, if most all the staff walked out, they could still move freight... if most of the drivers walked, there in trouble and the staff fails to realize that. they seem to have plenty of people that have authority to be in charge , but they dont have enough workers, thats looked at as the no good drivers, its all there fault. The office staff seems to be like the U.S. congress, they been there way to long and its time to clean house and get somthing done. The Drivers need to perform there job, take pride in there work, and they need to refuse to break the DOT regulations...If the DOT rules are broken, its on you,cause your the driver. The office staff needs to realize, we dont see a brinks truck at a funeral , but the drivers are sending the brinks truck to the bank, and they deserve respect for the job they do. K@B provides top of the line equipment and they take care of there equipment, they go more than the extra mile to provide service to there customers, yet they fail to realize there killing the horse that pulls the cart, and let some of the office staff who have no CDL experience disrespect the horse ,which is drivers. Some drivers dont need to be there, and they cause difficulty for the staff as well. However if the staff and the Drivers would both do there job in a professional manner, and respect one another, take off the blinders and look at resolving these issues...K@B would be unstopable...I liked K@B, and there are great staff members, drivers, ect ....the owners of K@B are great guys as well..... THERE JUST ASLEEP AT THE WHEEL

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved driving a truck
Truck driver (Former Employee), Sioux City, IAJune 16, 2012
Hook trailer and drive to madison NE, back into wash dock
drop trailer, Hook a loaded trailer drive to So Sioux city, chenk in at security, drop and hook another loaded trailer, drive to council bluffs
IA, check in with security drop, and shag trailers from council bluffs
to Omaha NE and so forth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over the road driver
driver (Former Employee), South Sioux City, NEMay 26, 2012
Pros: got to see the us.
Cons: did not get to gome home much
drivering down the road that it was nice to see the us.management was ok did not have co workers the hardest part of this job was getting sleep.the enjoyable part of this job is that i was all by myslef