Find companies:
Kaiser Permanente
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,934 reviews

Kaiser Permanente Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a great deal about providing short term treatment
Cdlinical Social Worker (Former Employee), Denver, CODecember 10, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Too much pressure to see too many people in too short of a time period. Saw from 8-10 client groups a day. Good coworkers.

I helped many people and enjoyed the work environment

The management was always available and could be very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work, great benefits, great employees, some of the doctors very good
Receptionist (Former Employee), Camp Springs, MDDecember 8, 2014
Pros: fantastic people to work with, great breaks, excellent benefits
Cons: horrible manager, stayed in everyones business and then used it against you
I loved working there even with having a very selfish and noisy manager. The Urgent Care Department was fantastic the people barring the manager was absolutely wonderful. I f ever there was a place to work I would have to say this is one of the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a contract job
Lead Desktop Tec. For windows 7 deployment (Former Employee), fresno caDecember 8, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: short contract
I enjoyed my time working for kaiser. I spent time all over the hospital,mall an admin building. Everyone was always friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to give back to communities and impact young lives.
PERFORMER EDUCATOR (Former Employee), Oakland, CADecember 8, 2014
Pros: traveling opportunities
Cons: difficult scheduling
Daily touring activities would include traveling to a school or facility, unloading a performance set, assembling and performing to potentially hundreds of students and adults. Since working with the community, I've learned to adjust to the various needs to schools and organizations in order to provide the best product possible.

Working with different – more... supervisors has taught me to be flexible and hyper aware of the needs of each manager. And working with various co-workers has made me aware of the different communication styles and needs of each person.

The hardest aspect of the job was the erratic schedule throughout the weeks. However, what made it worth it, was the visible and positive impact left on the lives we touched. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as a medical student it is a great work enivironment to gain experience in medical terminologies and the work type to advance in my career.
Volunteer Receptionist (Former Employee), Vallejo, CADecember 6, 2014
typical day- dealing with patients that are at high risk of not paying off their medical bills.
learnt- stressful at times, fun to work in a hospital, great learning experience in a medical field.
co-workers- friendly, loyal, honest, cooperative, challenging,
hardest part- ensuring all patients demands are met.
enjoyable part- drama free, less tension – more... but educational! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Anesthesia Technician (Former Employee), Oakland, CADecember 5, 2014
Working at Kaiser was an big learning experience , I was able to learn so much about the hospital. I was able to watch an live surgery with my own eyes. Also I was glad to make first IV and putting it in someone arm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Pharmacy Technician CPhT (Current Employee), Downey, CADecember 5, 2014
I first assess the workflow of the prescriptions to see where I am needed. I also see if I have everything I need to perform my tasks, paper, calculator, vials, caps etc. I than ask my co-workers how the day as has been and if there was anything I need to take care of or can help with. As a technician, I transcribing prescription to our data system, – more... verify the medication calculations to make sure everything is appropriate for the patient. I than verify the billing is correct, if not, I make sure the claim is authorized before I fill the medication and label the bottle for the pharmacist to check. I also help check in patient, sell prescriptions, answer phone calls from patients and medical staff. The hardest part of my job is to explain to patients that I cannot break the federal law for them. There are so many patients that expect me to bend over backwards and not abide by the law just so they can get their prescriptions. Of course I don't give in to them and their threats, but sometimes I do want to cry when they use profanity and accuse you of being racist, anything to get loud and draw attention because they feel if they draw enough attention, they will get what they want. The most enjoyable part of my job, is knowing that what I do, does help save patients' lives. It is not direct contact like how nursing is (that is why I decided to be a nurse) but it is still important. Management has turned to me on numerous occasions to train our new staff. Knowing that they know I give it my all when I come to work and that I expect nothing but the best of myself everyday and they trust me to teach new employees the same work habits is the best compliment one could every receive. We all work individually, but also as a team and having co-workers that have the same desire to perform well makes my job that much more enjoyable. For the past 12 years, I have not only learned many of the latest computer programs, but I too have grown. Not only have I matured in age but also in learning how to work efficiently. I feel that there is always room for improvement in any job field. I always look for ways to manage my time, to find a better work flow, to brainstorm ideas on how to be more efficient when it comes to helping patients. Maybe my expectations are a but much for some people, but I feel everyone should always have the desire to do more and be more, so that they will always be on their "A-game". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Nuclear Medicine Program Director (Current Employee), Richmond, CADecember 4, 2014
Progressive Health Maintenance Organization with well established outcomes in healthcare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital setting
Senior Quality Specialist (Current Employee), South San Francisco, CADecember 4, 2014
Pros: healthcare benefits
Cons: lack of advancement
Great health benefits. Overall good culture, however there is a divide among people adapting to technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operating Engineer
Lab Assistant II; Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Antioch, CADecember 4, 2014
•Provided lab work for In and Out patients for all ages.
•Assembles equipment according to requirements for specified tests or procedures.
•Verifies or records identity of patient or donor.
•Perform Neo Screen for newborns.
•Assist with training new hire and students.
•Input specimen into system and release orders.
•Specimen processing, micro and send – more... out.

I love working here with Kaiser but I had to take a leave to cared for my ill father and grandmother and they both passed away of their old age. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Lead Pathology Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Downey, CADecember 4, 2014
I loved to work for Kaiser. My coworkers were great. Kaiser has great benefits and treats their employees very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place
Inpatient Pharmacist Technician (Current Employee), martinez,caDecember 3, 2014
Working here was my first tech job after finishing school. I only worked every other Saturday. My manager was nice. It was a small pharmacy but it was a great place to finesse my skills as a technician
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Orginazation; Excellent Benefits.
Reporting QA Analyst - PFSCC (Former Employee), Pasadena, CADecember 3, 2014
Pros: excellent medical benefits, retirement program as well as merits and bonuses.
Cons: interuptions and distractions during the course of the day. but like anything else you adjust.
A typical day consisted mostly of calculating outcomes and recording statistics for the previous day. Posting results on KP-WIKI.

While I was at Kaiser I learned various KP custom programs; KP-WIKI, MAINFRAME, SYMPOSIUM, TORT, ARIBA, ATD,and NICE. As well as SAMETIME, LOTUS NOTES, SNAG IT.

I worked in the Patient Billing Resolution Call Center" as – more... a "Reporting Analyst. Located at Parsons East Annex, in Pasadena, CA.

The call center is a union represented environment. I had to keep my relationship with Union Staff strictly on a professional level which was not hard for me to do.

The most enjoyable part of the job was Telecommuting 3 days a week. The quiet home environment without interruptions resulted higher productivity – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kaiser
o Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Aurora ColoradoDecember 3, 2014
I enjoyed the position at Kaiser during the short stay. Everyone was very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and we work as a team
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Orange CountyDecember 3, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: prolong standing
Very busy and productive. Work daily as a team. Management works well with employees and suggestions are taken serious. Customer service is enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Data Scientist Intern (Former Employee), Pleasanton, CADecember 2, 2014
• Incorporated statistical methods to quantify characteristics of various datasets
• Collaborated analytics within multiple business units to build domain-specific algorithms
• Designed custom visualizations using Tableau, R, Java, and Zoomdata.
• Performed Natural Language Processing for phase recognition algorithms
• Assembled a cluster on AWS and – more... performed Map/Reduce jobs
• Improved internal ticketing system by merging their 8 unique regional databases into one – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Senior Desktop Support Technician (Contractor) (Former Employee), Panorama City, CADecember 1, 2014
Pros: a good place to work where your talent and skills will be utilized
The company uses standard and balanced procedures. Work environment is pleasant and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, innovative space to be involved in
EXECUTIVE CONSULTANT III/Chief of Staff (Current Employee), Oakland, CADecember 1, 2014
Pros: creative, smart co-workers and managers
Cons: communications with hr, leadership could be better
There is never a typical day. I say this in the most positive way. My team works collaboratively and we move the enterprise in a consistent direction forward. It is an exciting time in Healthcare and new, innovative ideas and solutions are created and implemented on a daily basis. We are working on ensuring the process and the workflow are smooth and – more... fire drills are a thing of the past. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant work place with possibilities of advancement
Receptionist II (Former Employee), Orange, CADecember 1, 2014
Pros: union protected pay rates
Cons: not very flexable to work schedules
Great company to work for if you are a people person. Computer and math skills a plus, but company will provide excellent training for most positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American General Finance/Springleaf
NTS Transplant Associate (Current Employee), Los AngelesDecember 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Overall a good company, until new management took over. The perks were great.

About Kaiser Permanente

OVERVIEW America’s leading not-for-profit health plan, Kaiser Permanente serves more than 9 million people from 37 hospitals – Read more

Kaiser Permanente Photos