Find companies:
Kaiser Permanente
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,383 reviews

Kaiser Permanente Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough to get in, but I think they care
Volunteer (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: yeah, they pick up part of the tab for the lunch.
Cons: i spend a lot of time on my feet there. can't avoid that.
I currently volunteer there. It is a lengthy process to qualify, and that's just for volunteering.
However, I do believe volunteering for Kaiser has been personally rewarding. I like the people in volunteer services and the people I have worked with. I also have found that most of the members there simply need a sympathetic ear and an energetic focus.
I – more... look forward to going. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with patients & providers.
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Fresno, CAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: making new friends & seeing old friends at the different sites.
Cons: gas prices keep rising & i have to drive to different sites.
I prefer staying at one site but for now I am on-call & attending different sites during the weekday when I am out of school during vacation & working in urgent care in the evenings & on weekends, when possible. The old Kaiser phrase is still true, "good people, good medicine." Now its, "Thrive" which indicates patients are to be more involved in their – more... health, pro-active. I educate the patients or re-inforce what the provider has discussed with the patient. I may have 20 years with Kaiser but I continue to learn new skills & discover how to improve on my old skills by communicating with co-workers, offering my assistance to them or covering for them while they attend with a patient that may require more time. Keeping the rooms stocked is what I like to accomplish wherever I go. Maintaining supplies is key to providing a good flow with minimal distractions from leaving the room to find a specific supply. I can also update inventory to see if I need to order more supplies & check for expiration dates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amzing learning opurtunity
Physical Therapy Intern (Former Employee), Riverside, CAMarch 13, 2014
This was a summer internship through La Sierra High School. The staff was incredibility knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Our team got the chance to see what it was like to work in a health care environment while learning more about health care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced LVN with med-surg/family medicine background
Licensed Vocational Nurse (Former Employee), West Covina, CAMarch 12, 2014
Experienced LVN with med-surg/family medicine background
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment for quality patient care
Admitting Rep/ Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Vallejo, CAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: building patient and family relationships
When working in an environment of giving care is where I thrive, I learned my purpose in healthcare. This is not just a job for me, the passion I have for what I do is unexplainable. Kaiser has helped me in realizing this is the field I am supposed to be in. I will always continue to give my patient, coworker, and families nothing short of extraordinary – more... care and compassion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique and exciting project
Database Developer, Consultant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: 12 minutes drive to work is very nice.
Cons: the it department is to slow to respond, install software, etc.
I was given freedom handling my projects. I was not micro managed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment with strong team players.
New Member Outreach Representative (Former Employee), Portland, ORMarch 11, 2014
Pros: i was part of an excellent team of representatives for kaiser permanente
Cons: the job was only a contract position
My experience with Kaiser Permanente was a positive one. The management team was excellent and I was given the opportunity to learn more about the inner workings of the health insurance industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Receptionist (Current Employee), Largo, MDMarch 11, 2014
Pros: benefits, no micro managing in my department
Cons: no room for advancement
A typical day at Kaiser Permanente, is very busy, you are checking in and making appointments for patients all day.

The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the patients happy with their care and services they recieved that day. My co-workers are easy to get along with for the most part. No complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
education
Clinic Assistant (Former Employee), kensington, marylandMarch 11, 2014
the most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that the physicians will teach u all u want to learn. They are very encouraging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy place to work at
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 9, 2014
• Helped fill about 100 prescriptions per hour with high level of accuracy and precision.
• Multi-tasked throughout the day: typing, filing, filling prescriptions, selling over-the-counter medicines, answering client questions, conducting pharmacy inventory, ordering supplies with adherence to budget, and serving as translator for non-English-speaking – more... clients.
• Utilized Microsoft Office, including Word, Excel, and Outlook; also used Customer Relations Management System (CRM), and other medically-related software programs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportinuty for carrer advancement. Becoming a member of an optimal health care team.
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Riverside, CAMarch 9, 2014
Pros: tuition reimbursement
Cons: lack of new grad program
It is great to be a member of a health care team in which communication is key. I have learned that there are opportunities to advance if you are willing to sacrifice and take advantage of the types provided. I most enjoy working with out post operative patients and feeling like I have had the opportunity to make a difference. I love working at Kaiser – more... however without a new grad program I am looking for a place to work as a newly licensed nurse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kaiser Permanente
Customer Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Duluth, GAMarch 9, 2014
Pros: multiple facilities for members.
Creates an environment that makes patients feel welcome, comfortable and cared for during their visit; providing a first and lasting member impression. Provides excellent communication skills, decision making skills, teamwork, resourcefulness and a sincere desire to serve the members/public. Provides registration (check-in, check-out, order entry and – more... scheduling) functions and maintains essential paperwork, records, and payment transactions that support the revenue stream, which also involved a high level of interaction with members including: – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Hospital to work for
AAMA Cerified Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Clackamas, OregonMarch 8, 2014
Had a truly amazing environment, based on striving to provide the best possible care to our patients as we possibly could! The benefits and compensation were also wonderful, and typically management was very supportive and involved in the departments that they managed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent patient care technology, not a good employer
HR Team Leader / Project Manager (Current Employee), Rockville, MDMarch 6, 2014
Management leadership weak
Culture not supportive
No accountability
No clear strategies or objectives
Lots of drama and gossip
Unprofessional behavior tolerated
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great HMO
Data Consultant (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAMarch 6, 2014
Pros: updated facility
It's a great HMO.

Always thrive to update state of art in technology and facility.

Professional, up average benefits. Flexible working hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to grow
Nephrology RN Lead (Current Employee), Clinton, MDMarch 6, 2014
My typical day at work starts Monday morning, and it involves checking my voicemail and email in the morning. I prioritize my activities for the week by checking the lab results, schedules, and staffing. I am the lead nurse at my department and I like to huddle every morning to discuss the schedule for the day, any urgent matters, and safety issues – more... that need to be addressed. It is sometimes difficult trying to get everyone together for 5-10 minutes to because we have to get members ready as they come in. The most enjoyable part of my job is working as a team to give the best service to our members. I have learned from experience to always be sensitive to patient’s need and listen to your peers for improvement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
and providers work well and communicate well togetherVery good work environment, staff
LVN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 5, 2014
Pros: good benefits, great pay, great staff
Cons: very high pressure most days
I would work 1:1 with a single provider each day, checking in their 10 patients each half day, performing vital signs, confirming allergies, and current medications Room patient, and get them prepared if necessary for any procedures. make sure supplies available in room as needed. Comfort patients concerns, answering any questions as able, or referring – more... it to MD. After patient seen, going in with an After Visit Summery, or writing out any directions if MD needs for them. Call in medications to correct pharmacy, order any tests needed per MD. Clean and restock room for next patient. In between patient care, calling on messages received from patient to gather any more information as needed, or calling back patient with MD's response.
I have learned time management, teamwork, and my Md's taught me a lot on caring for my patients – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Sr. Business Analyst - SME / Health Care Reform (Former Employee), Burbank, CAMarch 5, 2014
Pros: good working environment, non-micro management, family oriented place.
Cons: was on contract only, very hard to become direct hire, work in progress.
People strive for the extra mile and living the core values at Kaiser. Great departments that I had the pleasure working for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great environment to work in
LPN GI procedure suite (Current Employee), Kennesaw, GAMarch 5, 2014
Pros: incentives to assist to further your career
Cons: na
great place to work, lots of incentives to further career and to learn. Kaiser gives opportunity to change departments and work in different areas. they keep you updated on any changes and upcoming news with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kaiser Permanente
Support Specialist (Former Employee), Oakland, CAMarch 4, 2014
Working as a technical support specialist at Kaiser is both challenging and fulfilling. The environment is filled with very personable, productive people that support each other and help to find solutions for all of the troubleshooting needs. The hardest part of the job would be the amount of work. It can turn into over time, but from person to person – more... that can be a positive or a negative. – less

About Kaiser Permanente

OVERVIEW America’s leading not-for-profit health plan, Kaiser Permanente serves more than 9 million people from 37 hospitals – Read more

Kaiser Permanente Photos