Kankakee Community College Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 24 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work at One Point, Undergoing Some Changes However
support staff (Current Employee) –  Kankakee, ILNovember 19, 2015
The position started out very well in the beginning of my time here. We had the reputation of being one of the best staffs for our department not only in the state but in the nation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Comment – December 9, 2015

Unfortunately a new director came in and the department has been downhill ever since. We're no longer the best, just very average. My overall experience is 3 stars but I would break it down as 5 stars during the time I was here initially (first half) and only 2 stars for the second half.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like working here
Director of Child Development Center (Current Employee) –  Kankakee, ILNovember 13, 2015
enjoy working with all the people here
like working conditions
like the hours
enjoyable environment
enjoy working with my co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive clean working space
Student worker (Former Employee) –  Kankakee ILSeptember 19, 2015
Helped the Custodians clean the classrooms and hallways at the college. Boss was negotiable about schedules for certain reasons.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive facility with limited programs
GED Instructor (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILAugust 6, 2015
There are many friendly faces in the facility but not many want to see you excel if you are not Caucasian or male. Many times you want to deny the feeling of sexism and masculine pigs but here you will find them prevalent in all areas of the campus.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and develop
Tech Aide I (Current Employee) –  Kankakee, ILJuly 22, 2015
The main goal of this establishment is the education of the students. Everything that we do in our daily jobs is with this kept in mind.

The management is great here. They make this place feel as though it's a second home. They treat all employees as equals and as people.
Pros
Great culture
Cons
Very little room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with kids
KCC Child Care (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILJune 13, 2015
There were some up and downs of the work place. The kids are amazing and wonderful to spend time with. The staff are a little gossipy and bring a lot of personal life to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student worker
student worker (Former Employee) –  kankakee ILMay 4, 2015
I clean setup and take down sporting equipment and supervise other student workers the boss is a great guy I get along with everyone I have no complaints
Pros
work with sports
Cons
doesn't pay well
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
ESL Tutor (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILApril 20, 2015
Very enjoyable. The need is certainly there to reach out to those in need of learing English to better prepare students to reach their goals.
Pros
Location is easy to get to.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Library Setting
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  KankakeeOctober 20, 2014
This was a place where the staff are very quiet no noise other than the printer. Music had to be kept to a minimum.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant
Child Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILSeptember 30, 2014
Cleaning and looking after children making sure that they were properly fed and well taken care of .
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community College
Student (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILJuly 17, 2014
Professional teachers and classes. Provided typical class work that resulted in certificate
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mailroom Clerk
Mailroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILJune 11, 2014
Receive and sort mail and load it on delivery carts, distribute mail to appropriate recipients or departments, maintain record of incoming mail, ensure delivery of outgoing mails to courier or post office, assists with payroll checking and accounts payable printing and distribution, provide support in picking and packing promotional materials
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks Core Values
Faculty (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILMay 16, 2014
The college lacks core values. Of course they have several listed under their mission as all institutions do, however, KCC completely lacks respect, excellence, integrity, and collaboration.
Administration functions with a - small town, small mind - "buddy system". Many of the administrators openly discriminate against black employees and treat black students as "less-than".
If you're a redneck conservative, you'll do well with this bunch of bigots.
Pros
i learned what not to look for in an employer
Cons
racists
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Core Values
Director of Workforce Services (Current Employee) –  Kankakee, ILNovember 15, 2013
A typical day at work is service customers. Assisting with resumes, cover letter and on-line application.
Pros
assisting customers and clients.
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secretary Assistant
Secretary Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILSeptember 25, 2013
Data Entry, Files, Work With Team, Use Excel to enter information about students, and also use other microsoft software such as word, powerpoint, ect.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet place
Librarian (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILJuly 28, 2013
I was a student worker. I was only employed for a couple of months but over all it was a very quiet job.
Pros
seeing people
Cons
working in a quiet enviorment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to have in high school
Secretary Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILFebruary 7, 2013
I enjoyed the customer experience that i received while working at Walgreen's.
Pros
safe place to work
Cons
only worked part time
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILFebruary 7, 2013
Having a job whereas I can clean and and interact with the customers and students was exciting.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Continuing Education Department
Adult Education Instructor (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILAugust 22, 2012
Management cares for students and their development. It was very nice environment where you can focus on developing your craft and relating to your students.
Pros
great environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
federal student Work Study Program
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILMay 21, 2012
Being that I done this job and had to attend school, I preferred to be hired as an regular employee but was not given the chance.
Pros
20-hours only
Cons
no room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kankakee Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture