Kankakee Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was very pleasant working there. Management was great, co-workers were great. I was able to work in many various departments which gave me the skills
Clerk 1 (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILApril 10, 2017
There was a massive lay off there because of state budget cut.
Unfortunate. was a very nice place to work. cant say anything negative about it.
I learned many different positions from receptionist to helping students enroll in classes but mostly for the most part worked with the HR department. I did various jobs in HR. My biggest challenge was to scan all employee files past and present and link to their personal file. I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the job. The hours were great, Monday thru Friday and no weekends. I was even allowed to sometimes choose my own hours if there wasn't anything urgent that day.
Pros
The work and management
Cons
would have liked to have gone full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Assistant Volleyball Coach (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILFebruary 3, 2017
This was a great place to work at. Really great people who care and are nice. Very helpful and they got everything in on time such as getting checks out on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved It
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILJanuary 18, 2017
Just worked here as a student worker and loved it. Good experience for a student as an introduction to the office environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's all in who you know
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Kankakee, ILNovember 27, 2016
A lot of nepotism at this school. Administration is the main problem for terrible moral. Terrible pay. Two good thing about working there: health insurance, paid time off.

It's a boy's club, so ladies, be prepared to make less money and deal with inappropriate conversations.
Pros
Paid time off, health insurance
Cons
Boy's club, poor pay, terrible management, harassment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Janitor/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILNovember 20, 2016
go to my assigned area
clean 4-6 bathrooms
clean 5-10 class
vacuum 2 hall ways
sweep and mop two flights of stairs
empty all recycling bends and garbage disposal
Pros
keep you busy
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but I need full-time work
Acquisitions Technician (Current Employee) –  Kankakee, ILOctober 24, 2016
I really enjoy my job and the people I work with. I have been fortunate to attend many classes pertaining to my job and have learned so much in the 19 months I have been with KCC. I am at a point in my life where full-time would be preferred.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the children
Teacher/Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILNovember 26, 2015
I enjoy working with children. This center was a small center and it felt like we were all family. Enjoyed everyone until the college decided to close the center.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work at One Point, Undergoing Some Changes However
support staff (Current Employee) –  Kankakee, ILNovember 19, 2015
The position started out very well in the beginning of my time here. We had the reputation of being one of the best staffs for our department not only in the state but in the nation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Comment – December 9, 2015

Unfortunately a new director came in and the department has been downhill ever since. We're no longer the best, just very average.
My overall experience is 3 stars but I would break it down as 5 stars during the time I was here initially (first half) and only 2 stars for the second half.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like working here
Director of Child Development Center (Current Employee) –  Kankakee, ILNovember 13, 2015
enjoy working with all the people here
like working conditions
like the hours
enjoyable environment
enjoy working with my co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive clean working space
Student worker (Former Employee) –  Kankakee ILSeptember 19, 2015
Helped the Custodians clean the classrooms and hallways at the college. Boss was negotiable about schedules for certain reasons.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive facility with limited programs
GED Instructor (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILAugust 6, 2015
There are many friendly faces in the facility but not many want to see you excel if you are not Caucasian or male. Many times you want to deny the feeling of sexism and masculine pigs but here you will find them prevalent in all areas of the campus.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and develop
Tech Aide I (Current Employee) –  Kankakee, ILJuly 22, 2015
The main goal of this establishment is the education of the students. Everything that we do in our daily jobs is with this kept in mind.

The management is great here. They make this place feel as though it's a second home. They treat all employees as equals and as people.
Pros
Great culture
Cons
Very little room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with kids
KCC Child Care (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILJune 13, 2015
There were some up and downs of the work place. The kids are amazing and wonderful to spend time with. The staff are a little gossipy and bring a lot of personal life to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student worker
student worker (Former Employee) –  kankakee ILMay 4, 2015
I clean setup and take down sporting equipment and supervise other student workers the boss is a great guy I get along with everyone I have no complaints
Pros
work with sports
Cons
doesn't pay well
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
ESL Tutor (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILApril 20, 2015
Very enjoyable. The need is certainly there to reach out to those in need of learing English to better prepare students to reach their goals.
Pros
Location is easy to get to.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Library Setting
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  KankakeeOctober 20, 2014
This was a place where the staff are very quiet no noise other than the printer. Music had to be kept to a minimum.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant
Child Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILSeptember 30, 2014
Cleaning and looking after children making sure that they were properly fed and well taken care of .
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community College
Student (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILJuly 17, 2014
Professional teachers and classes. Provided typical class work that resulted in certificate
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mailroom Clerk
Mailroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILJune 11, 2014
Receive and sort mail and load it on delivery carts, distribute mail to appropriate recipients or departments, maintain record of incoming mail, ensure delivery of outgoing mails to courier or post office, assists with payroll checking and accounts payable printing and distribution, provide support in picking and packing promotional materials
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks Core Values
Faculty (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILMay 16, 2014
The college lacks core values. Of course they have several listed under their mission as all institutions do, however, KCC completely lacks respect, excellence, integrity, and collaboration.
Administration functions with a - small town, small mind - "buddy system". Many of the administrators openly discriminate against black employees and treat black students as "less-than".
If you're a redneck conservative, you'll do well with this bunch of bigots.
Pros
I learned what not to look for in an employer
Cons
Racists
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kankakee Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7

Kankakee Community College Reviews by Location