Kansas State University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KsMarch 6, 2017
although I'm not new to Kansas State University; I have been here for about more than five years as Ph.D. student. This position is new to me and an area is away from my major, however, I feel very comfortable, enjoying and excited to engage in such research topic. My advisor is very humble and helps me a lot.
Pros
Very safe place, good health insurance.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet awesome people
Tutor - Math, Physics, & Chemistry (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSMarch 6, 2017
Very rewarding job to help and watch students grow and learn through their class material. Would suggest to anyone who excels highly in certain areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Chef (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSMarch 2, 2017
Great place to work! You get the chance to meet a lot of new people and they cooks that have been there a while really teach you a lot of new things on the cooking aspect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Co-workers are very friendly.
Payroll Accountant (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSFebruary 18, 2017
I like the work I do at KSU. The work is fun and fast paced. Great co-workers. There really isn't enough staff, but the days go by quickly as you are so busy.
Pros
Fun work.
Cons
Not enough staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Oppurtunity
Production Lead (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSJanuary 26, 2017
Very cognizant of work-life needs for full time students. Good learning opportunity using real world job training and classroom learning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family rich, Culturally diverse
Research Student (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSJanuary 22, 2017
Great program, benefits, mentors, networking, cultural exchange.

Would definitely recommended to another student especially if they were contemplating further education (i.e. Master's, PhD).
Pros
Mentors, Networking
Cons
Personally it was a long distance from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to study and work
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSJanuary 14, 2017
Great place to study and work. Good environment to work with adequate research facilities. Excellent Grad school classes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Graduate Research Assistant/Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSJanuary 9, 2017
This university is the best place to get your graduate degree, they give you tons of opportunities to become a better person. At the same time, people are very nice and they actually care about you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Conflict Resolution Program, Internship (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSJanuary 8, 2017
I created and delivered teaching materials for graduate and undergraduate classes to assist the professor. I also taught a first year Conflict Resolution class for one semester.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Associate Director of Employee Relations (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSJanuary 6, 2017
I work M-F 8 - 5, however, I'm salary, so that can change
I have gleaned a great amount of knowledge concerning the University culture
I have great co-workers and we function well as a team
Some times there is a need for politics and I am not a political person.
There is not one thing I dislike about my job. The pay, benefits, teamwork, everything is great.
Pros
great office space and comradere
Cons
small budget
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSDecember 19, 2016
The knowledge I learned has served me well outside the work place. The management team encouraged a positive atmosphere in the work place. The hiring team was effective and promoted the direction of the company.
Pros
Flexible work schedule, develop skills in many areas, lots of food throughout the semester
Cons
No preparation for the steps after graduation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for doing my homework during
Community Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSDecember 15, 2016
I enjoyed not having to do much of the actual job and being able to work on personal things while getting paid. The hours were pretty rough on my sleep rhythm.
Pros
Got homework done
Cons
Developed insomnia
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab Tech
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSDecember 12, 2016
Working as a lab tech is rewarding both financially and professionally. There is a lot of flexibility to the work hours but there has to be a passion for the research project.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Application Developer (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSDecember 5, 2016
Great benefits and good work life balance. The environment is challenging and the city is great place to live in. The co workers are good. the ability to go back to school is a great incentive to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working place
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSNovember 29, 2016
Extrusion lab is a productive working place. Labmates are kindly nice and friendly and can share information and any updates with others.Manager is a good person who can help and share a lot.
Pros
Social networking, learning.
Cons
heavy labor work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergrad Researcher
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSOctober 18, 2016
It was a good job.

I did it while I was in college.

It did not pay very well and I did it for experience.

I left due to graduation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great On-Campus Job
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSOctober 13, 2016
Great experience working with perspective students, ensuring that they have a great visit to K-State Engineering. Supportive staff and flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Enriching Experience
UniversityLife Café Student Advisory Board (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSOctober 8, 2016
Working at K-State was an enriching opportunity I will never forget. I was able to further my education while still working, the atmosphere was like no other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a nice job
Senior Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSSeptember 30, 2016
It was a nice experience to be in contact with the students and help them with their needs.
I do have a nice relationship with my co-workers.
I love the multicultural interaction.
Pros
great enviroment
Cons
not a great salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, learning opportunities
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSSeptember 21, 2016
Great management team.

Make your own hours. (min 13 per week)

Assist evaluators on research projects.

Code Data.

Positive team environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kansas State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 186 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3

Kansas State University Reviews by Location