Find companies:
Kaplan
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
429 reviews

Kaplan Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is very rewarding.
Financial Aid Advisor/Loan Management Counselor (Current Employee), Davenport, IAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: the students
This job is very rewarding in that I am able to work with a student from start to finish. To see the student walk across the stage to receive their degree is one of the greatest parts of this job. Just to know I was a part of that makes me feel proud to do what I am currently doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Exposure
Campus Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 16, 2014
Kaplan allows me to be an environment where I can interact with other people. It also exposes me to the types of courses offered by Kaplan in case I would need to pursue the MCAT, LSAT, or GRE. Kaplan also gives me an opportunity to see what it takes to market an item to target and grab people's interest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Registrar (Current Employee), Lubbock, TxMarch 15, 2014
Pros: fun and friendly co-workers
Cons: part-time only, no benefits
good workplace. friendly and professional co-workers. Learned about organizational skills. Superb management. Flexible hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've been exposed to various types of trauma & severity of patients. I learned both hard and soft skills through quick-response, ER care
Asst Program Chair / Lead Medical & BLS Instructor (Former Employee), philadelphiaMarch 11, 2014
Pros: education through experience
Cons: uncomfortable atmosphere due to employee segregation, otherwise, i loved the patients.
The emergency room was always unpredictable. I really never knew what each night was going to bring, but I am thankful for the lessons that I learned in doing it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive work place with high daily standards and goals
Sr. Admission Advisor (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 3, 2014
Pros: great co-workers to work with.
Cons: job security was very low due to high employee turn around
An energetic working environment with strict daily goals to meet. I learned how to communicate more effectively with customers regardless of their mood or satisfaction level. Management were great people at heart but sometimes can be overly data driven and forget the staff's needs. The hardest part of this job was meeting every goal and/or standard – more... set by management. I truly enjoyed the staff and their openness to help co-workers when they had a problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ETS in 1995
Associate of Applied Science - Business (Current Employee), Hagerstown, MDMarch 2, 2014
Left the Service in 1995 and starting working for State of Maryland 1997
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NCLEX Review Instructor
NCLEX Review Instructor (Current Employee), OhioMarch 2, 2014
Pros: communication, professionalism, pay
Cons: not too personal in terms of wanting to know what is going on with you or in your life, would like to teach more classes.
Kaplan has been an A1 company to work for. Very professional staff and managers all the way around. Onboarding could not be more smooth. Great supportive staff and managers. They hold up to what they say. Love working for them. I have great respect for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Masters Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Plantation, FLMarch 2, 2014
Pros: health benefits are available day one of employment!
Cons: turn over can be high, you have to hit the ground running or else you are gone.
Time really flew by fast because I enjoyed what I was doing. I felt the need to help people improve their lives. In helping people to enroll back into school, I felt a sense of purpose. Great pay ( but you have to work for it). Check it out you will be happy you did. Hardest part of the job is cold calling students, who have filled out a form to get – more... more information. All calls are monitored so you have to stick to the script they give you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College where aspirations are met
Adjunct math teacher (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 1, 2014
Typically, I get students who have had prior problems with math after they have already spent a full day at work. Interaction with students is the best part of this job. Getting to know them as more than just a student. I am constantly amazed by some of the struggles they face and are earnestly trying to overcome.
The dean is knowledgeable and easy – more... to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive management staff
Adjunct Professor - Associate Degree Program (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: able to perform responsibilities in evenings and weekends
Cons: compensation is not adequate for amount of hours spent
As an adjunct professor, I feel I have the support of all staff. Distance has not been an obstacle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent teachers and other students
Student (Former Employee), davenport, IAFebruary 26, 2014
There are some students that are rude, but ignore them. The main concern is to get your degree and move on with life. They will not be in your life every day. For the most part the other students are extremely helpful and the professors are understanding and will help as much as they can help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Lead Admissions Advisor
Team Lead Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 25, 2014
Team Lead Admissions Advisor
Duties: Assist students through the enrollment process as well as helping new employees to become acclimated with the Kaplan enrollment process.
Provide shadowing and second voice for new employee until they are comfortable with the enrollment process. Also handling all customer complaint calls, being a second voice for – more... all new representatives – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting student with options in becoming current on student loan payments.
Student Loan Counselor (Current Employee), Plantation, FLFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: temporary position
Cons: enjoyed the people at work.
During a nine hour day we contact students who are currently delinquent with their student loans. On Fridays we only work four hours. Learned a lot of options the Federal Government have available for student loans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than no work
Security Officer (Current Employee), WoodburyFebruary 21, 2014
No benefits, no appreciation, no cares. The corporate heads come in and neglect everything but paint and cobwebs, meanwhile the whole building goes to hell. The directors care but are kept impotent to change anything for the better. the co-workers are fired based on drama, while the favored employees get away with anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot
Program Director Allied Health (Current Employee), Riverside, CAFebruary 21, 2014
Worked for Pomona Valley Hospital for several years as an EMT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great integrity with high ethics
Director of Career Services/Student Services (Current Employee), Phoenix, AzFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: positive, ethical and has integrity
Cons: closing our phoenix campus
Have been with Kaplan College since 1995. Started out as the Medical Assistant Program Director. Accomplished getting program accredited with AAMA, providing graduate eligibility to take Certification. Wanted to learn more about the school business, became the campus Registrar. Eventually I became curious about the PR on the back end of the graduate's – more... education. I became the Externship Coordinator/Administrator in the Career Services department. The Director of Career Services was promoted to Executive Director of a sister campus. I was then promoted to the Director of Career Services position. I enjoy watching the students start their career paths and coach them along the way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory entry - level position
Records Auditor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 11, 2014
Kaplan is a good place to learn about higher education the business environment. It is very hard to move up within the company and daily work is repetitive. The department is very friendly and young which can be pretty fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiting and Advising
Career Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: work culture
Cons: low pay not appreciated
This company is a great company to work for however the pay is not fully up to par. Kaplan has an extermely talented team in place but raise's are extremely low and perfomance is expected at an al time high with little given back in return from the company. However, the people are amazing and many employee's have stayed in place because of the work – more... enviornment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and teach a great class of students.
Extern Coordinator (Former Employee), las Vegas, NVFebruary 10, 2014
A great place to work and teach a great class of students. I enjoyed the time I spent at this college teaching.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical
Instructor (Former Employee), CAFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: sorry
Cons: read comments
Everything was fine for me until I complained about unethical behavior and classroom conditions. Then came the harassment and retaliation, it was down hill after that. Things are fine if you go with the flow. My main complaints are that students are encouraged to enroll even if they are not ready for college. This leads to drops early in their program – more... and leaving the student owing several thousand dollars. For example, a student with no job, no car and no stable residence 15 miles away from campus was encouraged to sign up and told a ride share could be arranged for them. The programs are 9-18 months. Needless to say the student dropped. Budget is top priority but it got to the point where educational resources were sacrificed. One of the higher managers wouldn't adjust the classroom air temperature to save money. I had a class with 24 students in a 20'x23' classroom, it was very uncomfortable. At on point I had to go through several managers to get a $12 pair of speakers for a projector. The student population ran between 400-600 students and the library was 20'x20' with outdated material (other Kaplan campuses could be different). The student's didn't get what they paid for. Instructors are asked to "donate" time to school activities for example graduation. Management wants instructors there but instructors are not paid for it and they are working. Kaplan also pays about half of what other colleges pay per hour. – less

About Kaplan

Kaplan will put you to the test. The Washington Post subsidiary is perhaps best known for its test-preparation publications, which – Read more